26 May 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Home »
  • News »
  • Marlon Williams Announces Sophomore album + Huge International Tour For 2018

Music News - Marlon Williams Announces Sophomore album + Huge International Tour For 2018

Marlon Williams Announces Sophomore album + Huge International Tour For 2018

09 November 2017 - 0 Comments

New Zealand’s Marlon Williams will release his sophomore album, Make Way For Love, on February 16th via Caroline. Known for his effortlessly distinctive voice, Make Way For Love marks Marlon’s exponential growth as a songwriter. Throughout 11 original songs, he explores new musical terrain and reveals himself in an unprecedented way in the wake of a fractured relationship. In conjunction with today’s album announcement, Marlon announces an international tour and shares the album’s penultimate track, Nobody Gets What They Want Anymore, a duet with Aldous Harding, recorded via a late-night long distance phone call, plus an accompanying video filmed in New York City.
 
While Make Way For Love draws on Marlon’s own story, it captures the vagaries of relationships we’ve all been through: the bliss, ache, uncertainty, and bitterness. Like the best breakup records, Make Way For Love doesn’t shy away from heartbreak, but rather stares it in the face, and mines beauty from it. Delicate and bold, tender and searing, it’s a mightily personal new step.
 
Make Way For Love was recorded with producer Noah Georgeson and his backing band, The Yarra Benders, in North California’s Panoramic Studios after several weeks of pre-production in his native Lyttelton with regular collaborator Ben Edwards. The finished result moves Marlon several paces from “country”—the genre that’s been affixed to him more than any in recent years, but one that’s always been a bit too reductive to be wholly accurate -- with forays into cinematic strings, reverb, rollicking guitar and at least one quiet piano ballad, on his most expansive work to date.
 
Currently in the midst of a sold out global preview tour, to support his stand alone single Vampire Again, next year will see Marlon take his captivating live show to 46 cities around the world for his largest ever headline tour.

VIDEO: Nobody Gets What They Want Anymore by Marlon Williams

MARLON WILLIAMS
2017 TOUR DATES

Thu. Nov. 9 – Auckland, NZ @ Point Chev RSA (SOLD OUT)
Fri. Nov. 10 – Auckland, NZ @ Point Chev RSA (SOLD OUT)
Sat. Nov. 11 – Wellington, NZ @ San Fran (SOLD OUT)
Sun. Nov. 12 – Christchurch, NZ @ Blue Smoke (SOLD OUT)
Mon. Nov. 13 – Christchurch, NZ @ Blue Smoke (SOLD OUT)
Wed. Nov. 15 – Sydney, Australia @ Oxford Art Factory (SOLD OUT)
Thu. Nov. 16 – Melbourne, Australia @ Howler (SOLD OUT)
Fri. Nov. 17 – Mullumbimby, Australia @ Mullumbimby Music Festival
Sun. Nov. 19 – Melbourne, Australia @ Howler (SOLD OUT)
Mon. Nov. 20 – Melbourne, Australia @ Howler (SOLD OUT)

MARLON WILLIAMS
2018 TOUR DATES

Thu. Feb. 22 — Bristol, UK @ Louisiana
Fri. Feb. 23 — Manchester, UK @ Night & Day
Sat. Feb. 24 — Dublin, IE @ Whelans
Mon. Feb. 26 — Glasgow, IE @ King Tuts
Tue. Feb. 27 — Leeds, UK @ Community Room
Wed. Feb. 28 — London, UK @ Scala
Mon. Mar. 5 — Montreal, QC @ Petit Campus
Tue. Mar. 6 — Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern
Thu. Mar. 8 — Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle
Fri. Mar. 9 — Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry
Sat. Mar. 10 — Kansas City, MO @ Record Bar
Tue. Mar. 13 - Sat. Mar. 17 — Austin TX @ SXSW
Sun. Mar. 18 — Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall
Mon. Mar. 19 — Dallas, TX @ Three Links Deep Ellum
Wed. Mar. 21 — Nashville, TN @ High Watt
Fri. Mar. 23 — Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel
Sat. Mar. 24 — Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s
Sun. Mar. 25 — Boston, MA @ Great Scott
Tue. Mar. 27 — Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
Thu. Mar. 29 — Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret
Sun. Apr. 1 — Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios
Tue. Apr. 3 — San Francisco, CA @ Swedish American Hall
Wed. Apr. 4 — Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram
Wed. Apr. 11 — Brussels, BE @ AB Club
Thu. Apr. 12 — Cologne, DE @ Yuca
Fri. Apr. 13 — Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso Noord
Sat. Apr. 14 — Hamburg, DE @ Nochtwache
Sun. Apr. 15 — Copenhagen, DK @ Ideal Bar
Tue. Apr. 17 — Oslo, NO @ Cafe Mono
Wed. Apr. 18 — Stockholm, SE @ Kagelbanan
Fri. Apr. 20 — Berlin, DE @ Privatclub
Sat. Apr. 21 — Munich, DE @ Orange House
Sun. Apr. 22 — Vienna, CH @ Chelsea
Tue. Apr. 24 — Bologna, IT @ Locomotiv
Wed. Apr. 25 — Zurich, CH @ Bogen F
Thu. Apr. 26 — Besancon, FR @ La Rodia
Fri. Apr. 27 — Paris, FR @ Point Ephemere
Sat. Apr. 28 — Utrecht, NL @ Ekko

MARLON WILLIAMS

NEW ZEALAND MAY 2018 
Presented by Eccles Entertainment, Undertheradar, Radio One, RDU and 95bFM

Sat. May 19 — Wellington, NZ @ Hunter Lounge
ticketmaster.co.nz | 0800 111 999
 
Tue. May 22 — Dunedin, NZ @ Glenroy
ticketmaster.co.nz | 0800 111 999
 
Wed. May 23 — Christchurch, NZ @ Foundry
ticketmaster.co.nz | 0800 111 999
 
Fri. May 25 — Auckland, NZ @ Auckland Town Hall
ticketmaster.co.nz | 0800 111 999

TICKETMASTER MEMBERS PRE-SALE (NZ Dates Only)
Begins: Monday 13 November Midday (NZDT)
Ends: Monday 13 November Midnight (NZDT)
(or until pre-sale allocation exhausted)

GENERAL PUBLIC ON SALE (NZ Dates Only)
Begins: Tuesday 14 November Midday (NZDT) 

Next: NZ On Screen celebrates the VNZMAs with Best Music Video Collection

Prev: Tami Neilson To Open For Robbie Williams In Dunedin

Comments

There are currently no comments for this article. Please log in to add new comments.

Return to News Archive

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THIS IS AMERICA
    Childish Gambino
  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • PSYCHO
    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • FREAKY FRIDAY
    Lil Dicky feat. Chris Brown
  • ONE KISS
    Calvin Harris And Dua Lipa
  • NO TEARS LEFT TO CRY
    Ariana Grande
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem