21 Jul 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Brendan Pyper - Single Review: No Strings Attached

07 Jul 2018 // A review by Petros

I think we have this decadeís Daniel Bedingfield on our hands.

Diversifying his portfolio, The Latest Falloutís Brendan Pyper has just released his debut single, in the process seemingly leaving his Pop Rock ways behind.

A striking departure from his bandís previous efforts, the 2012 Waikato Young Singers Award winnerís first track is the RnB styled No Strings Attached, which manages to take the old-world sensibilities of his 90's predecessors and mixes it with the fresh coat of this generationís production values and aesthetic. The result is something that would feel at home on several of this nationís often genre specific radio and television stations. Pop enough for The Edge, soulful enough for Mai FM.

Speaking of the age-old problems that come with relationships, the lyrics are relatable enough for those to which words matter. The music is one of those slow jams you put on when you get home in the taxi after successfully navigating the minefield that is dancefloor relationships. Post nightclub sex music as I came to call it, in the context of a previous flatmates after town playlist. Itís a niche market, but Pyper seems to have tapped into it.

While listenable in its current form, this feels like a track begging for a Radio Friendly dance remix. I think thatís whatís going to really make Brendan Pyper a household name, taking his obvious talent and applying it to the music of the masses. Speaking again of the Bedingfield, it was his catchy garage styled Gotta Get Thru This that paved the way for the success of his slower, more romantic If Youíre Not The One

While not my genre, biased though I am Ė it was an upstairs flatmate, and I am not the type for town Ė Iíll give this a solid 5/5. Itís a strong first effort, and a fine RnB track, especially coming from someone whoís previous work was in a Pop Rock band. It shows Pyper isnít a one-trick pony, and really shows of his vocal abilities.

You can find No Strings Attached on Spotify and iTunes.


Review written by Peter-James Dries

Other Reviews By Petros

Tess Goodwin - Single Review: Grace
07 Jul 2018 // by Petros
In this world of instant gratification, something can be said about a song that can make you feel, even if that feeling is longing. Longing, usually a feeling with negative connotations, is something you miss out on when you can binge watch an entire show or listen to a musicianís whole discography.
Read More...
Emily Fairlight - Album Review: Mother of Gloom
03 May 2018 // by Petros
Autumn at dusk. Sitting in a bay window, knees to chin, wrapped in sweatered arms.
Read More...
Tempist Fujit - Single Review: Daynes Song
26 Apr 2018 // by Petros
'Tis a two-headed beast, Daynes Song, the new single from Northlandís Tempist Fujit. On one side itís jazzy funky 90's Rock riffs, bass licks, and song structure (with complimentary Santana-like solo), the other side modern Rap riffing.
Read More...
Robby Thorne - Album Review: The White Thorn Track
13 Mar 2018 // by Petros
There is a time and place for genre pedantry. I get that categorising artists by genre is a way of qualifying if you will like music before trying it.
Read More...
David Edwards - Album Review: Gleefully Unknown 1997 - 2005
25 Feb 2018 // by Petros
There is the weird and wonderful. And then there is the weird.
Read More...
Will Saunders - Album Review: Covers Four
27 Jan 2018 // by Petros
Covers Four, formally and sub titled I Know That We Are Not New (a line taken from the contained cover of Cohenís Hey, Thatís No Way To Say Goodbye) is Will Saunders from The Lowest Fidelityís take on a collection of obscure tracks, which ironically were new to me. Itís the mode now to take on, often poorly, the latest hits of the Billboard charts, posting them to YouTube in the vain hope of riding off the coattails of the songís fame.
Read More...
Album Review: The Lincoln Greene Project
16 Jan 2018 // by Petros
Jimmy Hazelwood, actor and purveyor of acoustic folk, has recently released a new record, but not as himself. This time Jimmy is stepped into the role of Lincoln Greene, bringing you the debut album from this pseudonym, the aptly title The Lincoln Greene Project.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: Shake That Skinny Ass All The Way To Zygertron
22 Dec 2017 // by Petros
Where the hell did this come from? Or perhaps the more appropriate question is when?
Read More...
View All Articles By Petros

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • IN MY FEELINGS
    Drake
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • TASTE
    Tyga feat. Offset
  • LUCID DREAMS
    Juice WRLD
  • GOD IS A WOMAN
    Ariana Grande
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
  • DON'T MATTER TO ME
    Drake feat. Michael Jackson
  • JACKIE CHAN
    Tiesto And Dzeko feat. Preme And Post Malone
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem