20 Jun 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mecuzine - Single Review: Don’t Fire That Gun

12 Jun 2018 // A review by Corinner

Mecuzine are a five-piece rock band from Auckland with a wealth of experience between them. Decades of performing have seen them become accomplished musicians. Each with impressive connections to bands such as Hello Sailor, National Anthem, The Cure, Shade, Child and First Base to name a few. And that is just a few. The list goes on, if I add Elvis Costello, Jan Hellriegel, Andrew Fagan and Ricky Morris, you will get a measure of the calibre of band we have here.

Described as an indie rock band, Mecuzine have just released their debut single Don’t Fire That Gun from their forthcoming album Cutting Strings.

This is a song with a profound intensity, both lyrically and instrumentally. The song writing is creative and clever; it tells a tale of revenge when pushed to breaking point. Tony Johns who is on lead vocals and also the songwriter, has a wonderfully clear strong voice. This track left me excited to hear what they have come up with on their album. Ardent and unfaltering guitar playing from Tony Johns, Tony Lumsden and Jospeh Johns compliment the vocals perfectly. Add in John Beech’s purposeful piano playing, and there is a wonderful cohesive and clear sound to this band. Experience shines through on this track. Layers of richness and depth.

There are influences possibly from The Goo Goo Dolls and Third Eye Blind I can hear filtering through Mecuzine’s sound.  This makes for a totally catchy and danceable rock track. “The Michelin Masters of music have whipped up a tantalising and unforgettable musical meal” (I don’t know who wrote that description, but it is bloody brilliant). So, consider this your Amuse-Bouche, a glimpse into the tastiness which is coming.


Sometimes the best revenge is to smile and move on, “Do I buy a gun?” You will have to listen to find out.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

About Mecuzine

The Mecuzine Experience

Decades of playing, touring and recording nationally and abroad makes these five musicians a formidable combination. Each with their own story to tell with artists such as Hello Sailor, National Anthem, The Cure, Shade, Child, First Base and heaps more. Combine that pedigree with brilliant song-writing, subtle arrangements and skilled, dynamic performance and you have a band which deserves the accolades.

Mecuzine doesn’t follow fashion or trends – they write and play by their own rules. The band is increasingly being recognised in the music industry for their exciting and dynamic mix of musical genres, from classic R&B to indie pop with a sprinkling of reggae. These Michelin Masters of music have whipped up a tantalising and unforgettable musical meal.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mecuzine

Releases

There are no releases to display for Mecuzine.

Other Reviews By Corinner

Captain Festus McBoyle and his Motley Crew - Single/Video Review: Moolah
15 Jun 2018 // by Corinner
I should have known better then to take on a review which falls under the category of family music genre. Music aimed at kids.
Read More...
Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Sneaky
01 Jun 2018 // by Corinner
When asked to describe the music of Curlys Jewels, there are many words out there on the interweb like “hard hitting” and “high energy” but the description I love the most was as follows… “We bring a tight aural mash of lady-lung grungy banshee-esque melodically thumpy hard rock to our beautifully diverse audiences’ earholes”. I can actually hear that coming out of Janelle’s mouth.
Read More...
Erik Graham - Single Review: I Don’t Know
30 May 2018 // by Corinner
Erik Graham is a songwriter, musician and record producer. He owns and operates a record label called Headcage out of the heart of West Auckland where he composed, performed, programmed, mixed and mastered his entire upcoming debut album.
Read More...
Boycrush - Album Review: Desperate Late Night Energy
28 May 2018 // by Corinner
Creatively assembling dance-oriented pop music is Alistair Deverick from West Auckland, otherwise known as Boycrush. Producer, drummer and songwriter, Alistair is a multi-talented musician and imaginative visionary, incorporating choreographed dance visuals with electronica.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Album Review: For The Ancients
23 May 2018 // by Corinner
Raw Collective, a twelve-piece Hip-Hop, multi-instrumental extravaganza from Wellington have teamed up with Flight Music Records and released their debut album For the Ancients. Spearheaded by Raw Deezy, Raw Collective is a band of epic proportions which have been attracting people’s attention at gigs and festivals around the country since 2014.
Read More...
Seven Zen - EP Review: Dark As Life
23 May 2018 // by Corinner
Seven Zen (AKA Riley Popham), is a 14-year-old college student at Mahurangi College in Warkworth. Barely in his teens, he already has a couple of years under his belt as a talented multi-instrumentalist and has been performing covers to impressed audience both live and on YouTube (he can play more than 200 to be exact).
Read More...
Solomon Crook - EP Review: Abandon Adolescence
16 May 2018 // by Corinner
Solomon Crook a young singer-songwriter from the Coromandel (now based in Wellington) has just released a six track EP called Abandon Adolescence. Preceding this by a few weeks was the first single off the EP titled Love Juice a lively and catchy song about love without a heart...
Read More...
Sal Valentine and the Babyshakes - Single/Video Review: Cherry Blossom
15 May 2018 // by Corinner
This is the first time I have heard of charismatic Auckland based musical artist Sal Valentine (Ivan Luketina Jonstone). I think I have fallen just a bit in love with his mix of funk and soul; it is super funky pop music that just makes you smile.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • ALL MINE
    Kanye West
  • LOVELY
    Billie Eilish feat. Khalid
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
  • BACK TO YOU
    Selena Gomez
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • THIS IS AMERICA
    Childish Gambino
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem