22 Jul 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Soda Boyz - Single Review: Home Again

04 Jun 2018 // A review by Channel1
This new single from Soda Boyz simmers and shimmers. Totally instrumental, it's a great example of how music doesn't always need words to get the message across. Omitting words can make a piece of music even more vital with every listener feeling a different experience and getting their own interpretation of what the band are trying to convey. The tempo is slow but the 3 minutes and 15 seconds fly by and left me feeling slightly sad and thoughtful. Not sure if that what was meant to be conveyed but like I said each person will feel a different vibe.

When added to other songs Home Again can come across as a bit of a musical interlude but when isolated as a single, it has its own power and is a great taster of what Soda Boyz are creating. They are a band who seem to want to experiment so let's hope there is more of this to come and that a collection of new songs isn't too far away. Get the EP on Vinyl including this new single and support some up and coming talent.


Review written by Paul Goddard

About Soda Boyz

Soda Boyz are three high school students hailing from Palmerston North.

Band members Jules Rosenbrook and Felix Carr are both students at Palmerston North Boys' High, while Josh Finegan is from Freyberg High School.

Described as a noise punk trio, Finegan said they had a DIY kind of sound.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Soda Boyz

Releases

By Soda Boyz
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Channel1

These Four Walls - Single Review: Over and Over
17 Jul 2018 // by Channel1
These Four Walls have been around a long time. It's because they have a strong foundation built on late 90's, early 2000's rock.
Read More...
Racing - Single Review: Devil's Work
25 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
My heart is racing. Not sure if thatís a good sign?
Read More...
Metaract - Video/Single Review: Never Forget
23 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
I was looking forward to hearing this new single from Aucklandís Meteract, after all, the pairing of a band comprising members of Tadpole and Just One Fix with the production skills of Dave Rhodes was never going to result in a sub-par release.I did have some concerns though, Chris was in one of my favourite bands from the early 2000ís, Redline, and Dave has worked with many acts with one most notable being Blindspott.
Read More...
Gig Review: Brian Jonestown Massacre @ Powerstation, Auckland - 16/06/2018
18 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
It's a wet and windy night. The All Blacks playing means the bars surrounding Auckland's Powerstation are packed with rugby fans and finding a carpark is murder.
Read More...
Gig Review: Ska Save The Queen @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 03/06/2018
12 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
I grew up in Coventry in the UK. As a kid my first introduction to music was Two Tone the local record label that had Ska bands like The Specials, Selector, The Beat etc.
Read More...
Vallkyrie - Single/Video Review: Runaway Child
09 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
South Auckland three-piece Vallkyrie are pure class. Their tendency to switch genres and the mixture of influences they embody has taken them another step forward with this their latest single release Runaway Child.
Read More...
EP Review: By Soda Boyz
05 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
So, a young band from Palmy do the norm and go through the "Rockquest" motions. Just another bunch of wannabe talented, wannabe kind of good at what we do but fuck being famous we would rather be cool wannabes, or so I thought until I hit play and turned this music up loud.
Read More...
Dead Kid Harvester - Album Review: The First Sign Of Madness
04 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
I knew this wasn't going to be an easy listen. With a moniker like Dead Kid Harvester and song titles like Scab Made Out Of Faeces, Paul Harvey isn't aiming for middle of the road chart-bothering, but I love music of all extremes and we all need to be challenged.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • IN MY FEELINGS
    Drake
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • TASTE
    Tyga feat. Offset
  • LUCID DREAMS
    Juice WRLD
  • GOD IS A WOMAN
    Ariana Grande
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
  • DON'T MATTER TO ME
    Drake feat. Michael Jackson
  • JACKIE CHAN
    Tiesto And Dzeko feat. Preme And Post Malone
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem