21 Jul 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

David Sutton - Album Review: Binary

08 Feb 2018 // A review by Corinner

All I have to go on David Sutton is that he “writes and records songs”, which is handy to know as I am reviewing his latest 10 track album titled Binary. I had a tip off that his music is somewhat quirky and I would enjoy it. This sounded like my cup of green tea, so I eagerly waited with the anticipation that comes from receiving an actual physical CD in the mail.

The enigma which is David Sutton has pumped out 6 albums ranging back to 2009; it is unusual that he has done all this rather elusively and without any media fanfare. He can be found however on YouTube which is just as well. I needed to know what I was dealing with.

Social media was kind enough to give me a lead that he is originally from Essex in the UK and now lives in Wellington. But I only got that from stalking.

So now to Binary, how does it compare to his other albums?  

Having a bit of a meander through previous albums brings me to the conclusion that David sounds like Bob Dylan crossed with Madness (the band, not the state of mind) his latest offering still has that vibe to it, however a couple of tracks point to madness (the state of mind, not the band).

One track in particular Live Song has rather unique lyrics… I don’t think he liked his audience; he wanted to chop them up and yank off their heads. It is a catchy tune, though maybe a touch repetitive which can be overlooked in favour of the genius macabre lyrics. I can mentally vision drunken Uni students in Palmy singing and swaying along.

Track number 0100 (all tracks are listed in Binary code), is my favourite on the album, it goes by the name ofL.S.D (The Pain Is On My Mind). I have never been on this particular hallucinogenic substance, but I will describe this song as slightly trippy with a nice base tone to it and another track with a captivating hook.

There appears to be more than one Sutton who has worked on this album and all bar two of the songs were written by David. Adrian MacKenzie co-wrote Here We Go and Live Song.

This album is a mix of weird and wonderful, strange yet alluring, raw and perhaps slightly annoying. And if you take a good look at the CD cover, you will notice that it is in fact very clever.

I loved it. If you are looking to find some unconventional alternative and individual music, then this may be just what you are looking for.   

4/5 star rating


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

 

About David Sutton

David writes and records songs.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for David Sutton

Releases

Binary
Year: 2017
Type: Album
V
Year: 2016
Type: Album
40
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Cheese
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Mr. Rainbow
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Remember
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinner

LA Thompson - Single Review: Lovelight
12 Jul 2018 // by Corinner
Prolific supporter and promoter of NZ indie artists and talented song writer / musician LA Thompson has just released a song by Brett Howes. This is collaboration with Brett who is also a member of the LMM Network which LA Thompson (Shirley Howe) founded.
Read More...
Geoff Ong - Single/Video Review: Fingerprints
09 Jul 2018 // by Corinner
Auckland-based pop-soul musician Geoff Ong has just released his brand-new track Fingerprints and self-shot video which accompanies it. The video is obviously filmed with a hand-held camera but manages to capture the vibrancy of Tokyo.
Read More...
Captain Festus McBoyle and his Motley Crew - Single/Video Review: Moolah
15 Jun 2018 // by Corinner
I should have known better then to take on a review which falls under the category of family music genre. Music aimed at kids.
Read More...
Mecuzine - Single Review: Don’t Fire That Gun
12 Jun 2018 // by Corinner
Mecuzine are a five-piece rock band from Auckland with a wealth of experience between them. Decades of performing have seen them become accomplished musicians.
Read More...
Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Sneaky
01 Jun 2018 // by Corinner
When asked to describe the music of Curlys Jewels, there are many words out there on the interweb like “hard hitting” and “high energy” but the description I love the most was as follows… “We bring a tight aural mash of lady-lung grungy banshee-esque melodically thumpy hard rock to our beautifully diverse audiences’ earholes”. I can actually hear that coming out of Janelle’s mouth.
Read More...
Erik Graham - Single Review: I Don’t Know
30 May 2018 // by Corinner
Erik Graham is a songwriter, musician and record producer. He owns and operates a record label called Headcage out of the heart of West Auckland where he composed, performed, programmed, mixed and mastered his entire upcoming debut album.
Read More...
Boycrush - Album Review: Desperate Late Night Energy
28 May 2018 // by Corinner
Creatively assembling dance-oriented pop music is Alistair Deverick from West Auckland, otherwise known as Boycrush. Producer, drummer and songwriter, Alistair is a multi-talented musician and imaginative visionary, incorporating choreographed dance visuals with electronica.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Album Review: For The Ancients
23 May 2018 // by Corinner
Raw Collective, a twelve-piece Hip-Hop, multi-instrumental extravaganza from Wellington have teamed up with Flight Music Records and released their debut album For the Ancients. Spearheaded by Raw Deezy, Raw Collective is a band of epic proportions which have been attracting people’s attention at gigs and festivals around the country since 2014.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • IN MY FEELINGS
    Drake
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • TASTE
    Tyga feat. Offset
  • LUCID DREAMS
    Juice WRLD
  • GOD IS A WOMAN
    Ariana Grande
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
  • DON'T MATTER TO ME
    Drake feat. Michael Jackson
  • JACKIE CHAN
    Tiesto And Dzeko feat. Preme And Post Malone
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem