18 Mar 2018

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jas Josland - Single Review: Lie To Yourself

19 Dec 2017 // A review by Corinner

Sounding very much like Gin Wigmore, Jas Josland is a multi-talented self-managed indie rock artist from Christchurch, with an interesting life story and a stunning voice. She has described her music to be “almost like a recipe book with strong influences ranging from 60’s to the new artist’s”  they are songs with stories to tell.

Jas Josland, a self-taught guitarist and world traveler is now pursuing her musical dream by performing indie rock in time zones all around the world, with a tour kicking off in January 2018 around New Zealand to promote her debut album See What You Did There.

Lie To Yourself was written as a therapeutic response after Jas lost her job in a random set of circumstances and has a strong classic rock feel to it, one of her influences K T Tunstall comes through clearly on this track.

There is an upbeat sound to this single which belies the difficult time expressed through the lyrics “stab me in the back – pour salt in my wounds”. There is plenty of kick arse attitude in this track, so whatever happen to inspire it has clearly motivated Jas as an artist.

Recorded in New Zealand with producer Ben Edwards, Jas Josland plays all of the instruments on the song minus the drums. Although she has had many fascinating and varied jobs, including being part of a super yacht crew, Jas is now dedicating her life to becoming a full time musician.

Lie To Yourself is a song with a chorus that gets stuck in your head, has a strong message and a great rock sound. I look forward to hearing what comes next from Jas Josland.

“The free spirit of indie rock infused with a sweet vibrato”.

Review written by Corinne Rutherford




About Jas Josland

A little bit of this and a little bit of that - is how Jas Josland describes her music - almost like a recipe book with strong Influences ranging from 60's to the new artists surfacing the music world today. '! After living in Asia and Europe - Jas insists that people watching is the key to her success of song writing. "When you can't quite speak the language - you learn a lot by watching and listening. Jas has just recorded her first album and is headed to Europe for some Summer time Touring.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jas Josland


See What You Did There
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinner

Eb & Sparrow - Album Review - Seeing Things
14 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
Eb & Sparrow could be described as Alternative Country, or as front person Emily Lamb has described it “New Folk”. “The resulting ‘new-folk’ encompasses a huge variety of sounds and genres, with roots in folk, country and Americana”.
EP Review: So Below
09 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
I came across a description of Madeline North (AKA So Below), which was very fitting, “A mysterious Goth Pop chanteuse”. I myself have previously reviewed her work and described her as an “enigmatic songbird”.
Tom Lee-Richards - Mini LP Review: Out of the Oddness
05 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
Tom Lee-Richards is a solo artist described as an emotive storyteller. A native of Whangarei, he began his musical journey at the young age of 4.
April Fish - Album Review: An Alien Invaded The Circus
28 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I rubbed my hands together in glee at the thought of reviewing this CD. Sometimes something so unique and strangely alluring beckons you to it which you are powerless to resist.
Julia Deans - Single Review: Clandestine
26 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
One of New Zealand’s most well known 'rock chicks', Julia Deans has released a stunning new single called Clandestine. After performing live performances on both Jesse Mulligan's National Radio Show and Russell Brown's Orcon Sessions at Golden Dawn, Julia was inundated with requests from fans to release the song.
Summer Underground Tour @ Totara St, Mt Maunganui - 23/02/2018
24 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
Venturing back into Totara St for the first rock gig of 2018, was like revisiting a familiar friend. A sense of dejavu engulfed me as I was greeted by Coridian at the door, but something was missing.
EP Review: Callum Gentleman
21 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I must confess, I have a soft spot for Callum Gentleman, having seen him perform several times at my local intimate gig venue, which is a beacon of light for artists, poets and storytellers, the perfect environment for blues / folk noir (with the odd dash of country). A place where the Nick Caves of NZ can come and be heard by a very appreciative audience.
EDY Feat. Chris Bates - Single review: Here 4 U
16 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I was slightly perplexed about reviewing the single release Here 4 U by EDY featuring Chris Bates, simply because I could not figure out whom EDY was and I am sure the Chris Bates on Spotify could not be the same Chris Bates I was hearing. Slyly diverting away from the link I was given all in the name of research is not always wise.
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
    Khalid And Normani
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • MINE
    Dua Lipa
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
    Marshmello And Anne Marie
    Zedd, Maren Morris And Grey
  • SAD!
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem