24 Feb 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Miller Yule - Single Review: Diamonds

23 Nov 2017 // A review by butch181
Diamonds has a beautifully clean guitar riff that resonated immediately at my core. A fresh sound, but so incredibly familiar too. I ended up spending two weeks trying to determine what potential songs could have influenced the making of this introductory composition, and three songs stood out; the Foo Fighter's 2009 track Wheels, Dave Dobbyn's 1988 Kiwi anthem Loyal, and Tom Petty's 1989 hit Free Fallin'. It's rare to have a track capture my attention so quickly, especially considering the lighthearted nature of the song, given my personal bias towards the heavier rock genres.

Miller Yule has a soft, breathy, vocal style, that gives a very John Mayer vibe. A very simple track with a well-paced tempo, that makes this a feel-good song, full of positive vibes. As mainstream as it gets, the song has no real standout instruments, and yet the choices in layering are superb, giving a feeling of progression and crescending throughout the track.

A delightful track, released in time for summer BBQs, beach time, and road trips.


Review written by Alex Moulton

About Miller Yule

In 2016, solo artist Miller Yule broke into the NZ music scene with his acclaimed debut EP Shoot Me in the Heart.

The EP hit #4 on the NZ Albums Chart and gained further momentum with the release of music videos for singles Shoot Me in the Heart and Little Things.

Bolstered by the success of his honest songwriting and heartfelt live performances, Miller capped off 2016 supporting Ben Harper on his NZ tour.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Miller Yule

Releases

Shoot Me In The Heart
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By butch181

Gig Review: Rise Against w/ Dead Favours @ Logan Campbell Centre, Auckland - 19/02/2018
20 Feb 2018 // by butch181
In a rather unconventional choice, the other international act that was touring with Rise Against, Berri Txarrak, would be opening the night, ahead of the local act, Dead Favours. Berri Txarrak being a band originating from Basque Country (an autonomous community in northern Spain), whose songs are sung completely in the Basque language (which is linguistically unrelated to any other known living language), they undoubtedly had a difficult job ahead of them to warm up the crowd.
Read More...
Gig Review: Robbie Williams with Tami Neilson @ Spark Arena, Auckland 14/02/2018
15 Feb 2018 // by butch181
Spark Arena has been completely changed since last nightís Paramore concert, now utilising the full arena space, and with additional stage pieces running down the centre of the Standing Floor area, the air is full of anticipation in what looks to be an immersive experience. The only opening act for the night came in the form of Tami Neilson, a country & soul singer/songwriter, and Silver Scroll winner.
Read More...
Gig Review: Paramore @ Spark Arena, Auckland 13/02/2018
14 Feb 2018 // by butch181
The crowd was bustling as Aucklandís Spark Arena slowly filled up. Not a full arena show, but the stage had been brought forward enough to ensure everyone was crowded in together.
Read More...
Jed Parsons - Single Review: Get Lost
03 Feb 2018 // by butch181
Get Lost is the debut single from Jed Parsons, and makes a heck of an introduction. Composed of an almost mediocre arrangement that has had dissonance and discord purposefully inserted into it, to present a juxtaposition of the normal and the fantasy.
Read More...
Jas Josland - Album Review: See What You Did There
03 Feb 2018 // by butch181
See What You Did There is Jas Josland's debut album consisting of 11 tracks and a total run-time of almost 37 minutes. With only one song breaking the four-minute mark, these tracks on the debut album are on the shorter side, running less than three and a half minutes long, on average.
Read More...
Gig Review: End of an Era Night 2 @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 27/01/2018
30 Jan 2018 // by butch181
I wasn't present for the Night 1 performances of the End of an Era shows, but by all accounts from those that had been there, it had been a great night with a good turnout, especially considering it was competing with large international acts performing at other venues (such as Pink Floyd's Roger Waters at Spark Arena). So I was definitely looking forward to the nights' performances.
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Album Review: When I Am Gone
16 Jan 2018 // by butch181
The piano is an often under-recognised and under-utilised instrument. Even though the majority of musicians in this modern day will use a keyboard, it's often to play more "exotic" sounding instruments.
Read More...
VAZEY - Single Review: Dreamers
16 Jan 2018 // by butch181
Dreamers is a well-balanced, light, summery track. While the track feels simplistic in its overall sound, the lead guitar provides properly weighed riffs, that complement the melody and vocals of the track without overpowering the rest of the composition.
Read More...
View All Articles By butch181

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • ALL THE STARS
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • THESE DAYS
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • IDGAF
    Dua Lipa
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • MINE
    Bazzi
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • NEVER BE THE SAME
    Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem