14 Aug 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Miller Yule - Single Review: Diamonds

23 Nov 2017 // A review by butch181
Diamonds has a beautifully clean guitar riff that resonated immediately at my core. A fresh sound, but so incredibly familiar too. I ended up spending two weeks trying to determine what potential songs could have influenced the making of this introductory composition, and three songs stood out; the Foo Fighter's 2009 track Wheels, Dave Dobbyn's 1988 Kiwi anthem Loyal, and Tom Petty's 1989 hit Free Fallin'. It's rare to have a track capture my attention so quickly, especially considering the lighthearted nature of the song, given my personal bias towards the heavier rock genres.

Miller Yule has a soft, breathy, vocal style, that gives a very John Mayer vibe. A very simple track with a well-paced tempo, that makes this a feel-good song, full of positive vibes. As mainstream as it gets, the song has no real standout instruments, and yet the choices in layering are superb, giving a feeling of progression and crescending throughout the track.

A delightful track, released in time for summer BBQs, beach time, and road trips.


Review written by Alex Moulton

About Miller Yule

In 2016, solo artist Miller Yule broke into the NZ music scene with his acclaimed debut EP Shoot Me in the Heart.

The EP hit #4 on the NZ Albums Chart and gained further momentum with the release of music videos for singles Shoot Me in the Heart and Little Things.

Bolstered by the success of his honest songwriting and heartfelt live performances, Miller capped off 2016 supporting Ben Harper on his NZ tour.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Miller Yule

Releases

Shoot Me In The Heart
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By butch181

Bingo Fighter - Single Review: Iíve Got Zero Attention
10 Aug 2018 // by butch181
Bingo Fighter has released Iíve Got Zero Attention as their debut single. Headed by singer/songwriter Hayden Linney, this short track has a rather British Punk Rock sound, like a less abrasive and sarcastic Sex Pistols.
Read More...
Bulletbelt - Single Review: Faster Than Death
07 Aug 2018 // by butch181
Their first release since their line-up change and the departure of vocalist Jolene Tempest, Faster Than Death, features the recording debut of new singer Scott Spatcher-Harrison and lead guitarist Josh O'Brien. With these changes, comes a slight change in sound, most noticeably in the vocals, switching from the higher range abrasive style that Tempest was known for, to Spatcher-Harrison naturally low, deep, rolling growls.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Phoenix Foundation w/ The NZSO, Auckland Town Hall, Auckland 03/08/2018
04 Aug 2018 // by butch181
Wandering into the Auckland Town Hall, there was a definite sense of anticipation in the air. Though the halls werenít overly crowded with patrons, everybody appeared to be buzzing and chatting away excitedly.
Read More...
Jed Parsons - Album Review: Midnight Feast
31 Jul 2018 // by butch181
Jed Parsons debut album, Midnight Feast, has a subdued beginning, with some simple guitar and vocals for Real World. Some minimal acoustic effects that give the effect of playing in a large hall.
Read More...
Albi and The Wolves - Gig Review: The Great New Zealand Folk Revival @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland 26/07/2018
27 Jul 2018 // by butch181
With local parking shut down due to the overwhelming number of people attending the Dynamo show at Spark Arena, one would expect a light turnout next door at the Tuning Fork. As the show began, with a short unscripted foreword from Chris Dent of Albi and The Wolves, the audience was looking sparse, but this did not dissuade the opening act Ben Dixon.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jed Parsons w/October @ Neck of the Woods, Auckland - 20/07/2018
22 Jul 2018 // by butch181
An early night at Neck of the Woods, with doors open well before 7pm and the night set to end by 10pm. A nice early evening that still leaves the night open for those that like their late nights in town.
Read More...
Hybrid Rose - Album Review: Warhol
22 Jul 2018 // by butch181
Rose Valentina Muollo-Gray AKA Hybrid Rose has put together a full album release, just over a year after the release of her cosmic album, COSMIC. The self-produced electronic artist falls mostly into the vaporwave genre, adopting influences from smooth jazz and lounge music, and the retro arcade style of chiptune.
Read More...
Single Review: Bartells - Our Love May Go Away
18 Jul 2018 // by butch181
Our Love May Go Away has that straightforward, uncomplicated appeal of a John Mayer or James Blunt track, with that vocal twang of a country folk song. A simple track, with the verse and chorus composed of four repeated chords, and a short clean guitar riff layered over the top.
Read More...
View All Articles By butch181

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • IN MY FEELINGS
    Drake
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • FEFE
    6ix9ine feat. Nicki Minaj And Murda Beatz
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • TASTE
    Tyga feat. Offset
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • STARGAZING
    Travis Scott
  • LUCID DREAMS
    Juice WRLD
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem