27 May 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Yumi Zouma - Album Review: Willowbank

02 Nov 2017 // A review by Corinner

I have crossed the path of Yumi Zouma once before when I reviewed their first track on this album which was released as a single back in August. Willowbank is the sophomore album to Yoncalla, their debut originals LP.

Depths (Pt I.) eases you into Willowbank, it is upbeat and catchy, it sparkles and shines and invites us to join this inspirational musical journey which twists and turns through 12 tracks eventually ending up at Depths (Pt II), a reprise of the opening track. A culmination of this musical collaboration and a beautiful ending to this album, but I shouldn’t be talking about the ending without describing all the juicy stuff in the middle.

Lyrically I did find that Yumi Zouma have found a deeper, well rounded angle to this latest album. It is still dream pop but perhaps not the light and airy kind of past ventures, yes it is ethereal and breezy but I found some serious reflective undertones lurking around this album. Maybe it is because they recorded Willowbank in a studio amongst the semi-demolished CBD of Christchurch, or perhaps because at last they were collaborating together in their hometown.  The taste of pavlova and scent of Pohutukawa blossoms in their thoughts.

This is the band’s first significant work written and recorded entirely in New Zealand as opposed to the bands musical endeavours of the past; this was truly a Kiwi band producing music from NZ.

Yumi Zouma have a committed and large fan base and it is easy to hear why, the music is soft and peppy with a 70's disco feel. "Serene disco" is how UK newspaper The Guardian put it. I once called their music “Utopian in the mythical dreamy sense of the word”, to me it has this element but also has a natural graceful flow peppered with energetic bursts and touches of melancholy.

This all may sound like a hodge podge of genres, but it works together well to create a unique and lovely album.

The band which have been described as “gauzy New Zealand indie-popers” have created a lengthy rather lovely album from the summer they spent together at home.

They continue to be fragmented, scattered in exotic locations such as New York and Paris and touring like demons.  Pulling in large crowds of people with their immense popularity overseas, and once again opening for Lorde, Yumi Zouma can be proud that they produced this magical album.

Going from loud and hectic to soft and dreamy, this has been a winning transition I would say.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

About Yumi Zouma

Yumi Zouma are three friends from New Zealand now living internationally in New York and Paris. Their music is timeless, honest and direct. Their debut EP Yumi Zouma was Cascine's first release of 2014.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Yumi Zouma

Releases

Willowbank
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Yoncalla
Year: 2016
Type: Album
EP I & II
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Yumi Zouma
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinner

Raw Collective - Album Review: For The Ancients
23 May 2018 // by Corinner
Raw Collective, a twelve-piece Hip-Hop, multi-instrumental extravaganza from Wellington have teamed up with Flight Music Records and released their debut album For the Ancients. Spearheaded by Raw Deezy, Raw Collective is a band of epic proportions which have been attracting people’s attention at gigs and festivals around the country since 2014.
Read More...
Seven Zen - EP Review: Dark As Life
23 May 2018 // by Corinner
Seven Zen (AKA Riley Popham), is a 14-year-old college student at Mahurangi College in Warkworth. Barely in his teens, he already has a couple of years under his belt as a talented multi-instrumentalist and has been performing covers to impressed audience both live and on YouTube (he can play more than 200 to be exact).
Read More...
Solomon Crook - EP Review: Abandon Adolescence
16 May 2018 // by Corinner
Solomon Crook a young singer-songwriter from the Coromandel (now based in Wellington) has just released a six track EP called Abandon Adolescence. Preceding this by a few weeks was the first single off the EP titled Love Juice a lively and catchy song about love without a heart...
Read More...
Sal Valentine and the Babyshakes - Single/Video Review: Cherry Blossom
15 May 2018 // by Corinner
This is the first time I have heard of charismatic Auckland based musical artist Sal Valentine (Ivan Luketina Jonstone). I think I have fallen just a bit in love with his mix of funk and soul; it is super funky pop music that just makes you smile.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Deconstructed (Between The Pieces)
09 May 2018 // by Corinner
Jamie Denton, based in Auckland, is the man behind Empire To Ashes, producing mind-bending music which is described as alternative electronica. His latest offering is titled Deconstructed [Between The Pieces], which very cleverly follows on from [In Pieces] which was released in January 2018.
Read More...
NRG Rising - Single Review: Take Us High
25 Apr 2018 // by Corinner
The mother and daughters reggae trio NRG Rising from Hamilton, first entered into the music scene in 2011 with their debut album From Darkness To Light, and have gathered a strong and loyal following ever since. The band’s latest single Take Us High has been described as a “catchy, soulful tune echoing the popular 1990’s style of R&B”.
Read More...
Stan Walker - EP Review: Stan
09 Apr 2018 // by Corinner
To coincide with the live broadcast of Stan Walker’s powerful and moving documentary, which follows his journey to recovery after being given a cancer diagnosis in 2017, is the release of a 6 track EP titled Stan. The EP had barely been out a day, and already it had made it to number one in New Zealand.
Read More...
EP Review: Lunavela
03 Apr 2018 // by Corinner
Lunavela is the current musical project of Steve Mathieson, formerly of Auckland indie outfit Collapsing Cities. The 5 track self-titled EP is described by Lunavela as Shoegaze House, which is a genre I have never heard of before.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THIS IS AMERICA
    Childish Gambino
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • PSYCHO
    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
  • ONE KISS
    Calvin Harris And Dua Lipa
  • NO TEARS LEFT TO CRY
    Ariana Grande
  • FREAKY FRIDAY
    Lil Dicky feat. Chris Brown
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem