24 Feb 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Great North - Album Review: The Golden Age

27 Oct 2017 // A review by Corinner

You know you have stumbled onto a good thing, when you come across a band who reckons that their songs were delivered to them by drunken angels and the music video involves blowing loads of beautifully crafted cakes from the Australian Women’s Weekly Cake Book to smithereens. 

“Nearly every 90's child in New Zealand would have had a cake from that cookbook or been at a party where one was served. Every parent will remember making one. I’m so happy to take their precious memories and literally destroy them onscreen in the name of art.” Ladies and Gentlemen, I give you a band that on first impressions may sound like Alice Cooper back in his prime, but no it is in fact an alternative folk/country duo from Auckland called Great North and this is their fourth album The Golden Age.

This is a band with a sense of humour, granted maybe a bit of a twisted one, and certainly dry but I like that…very much, I had a few giggles scrolling through their Facebook page.

The album itself however is reflective and meaningful, mature and poignant; an album filled with songs about the often-disappointing life of a working musician and contemplation of life and of loss, in particular that of a friend and fellow musician Sam Prebble, who passed in 2014.

The influences of the likes of Jackson Browne, Tom Petty and Bruce Springsteen give this album what has been describes as 80’s working class rock, a step away from the bands folk and country vibe. “While the duo admits the change in sound was not without trepidation, they're excited to embrace a new genre”.
 

Better Days is the nostalgic track to “that” video, the band wanted a creative way to express the way “old people relive their glory days and then die”, they came up with a more subtle way ? of talking about how we romanticise the disappearing past. This is without doubt one of the best music videos I have seen in a very long time, blowing up the beautiful cakes of our past childhood memories, ingenious, I just hope the kids in the video were not too traumatised and had loads of cake to eat before it was all blasted into oblivion. It will either make you cry, make you hungry, or inspire you to do a bit of baking. 

Moving past the on screen explosions, which had me captivated and filled me with big plans…, is the music itself, the nostalgic theme threads its way through The Golden Age, bitter sweet story telling backed by the duos newly found Americana rock sound, which in itself has a nostalgic feel to days gone by.

So they have removed their folk hat and replaced it with a sound which may appeal to a larger audience, however don’t forget Great North have twice won the Tui for Best Folk Album. They are very good at folk. This may be a slightly different direction musically but it is certainly just as good. 

A lovely album with a retro filter treatment and exploding cake, what is not to love?


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

About Great North

An alternative folk/country band.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Great North

Releases

The Golden Age
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Up In Smoke
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Halves
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Newfoundland
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Soldiers
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinner

EP Review: Callum Gentleman
21 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I must confess, I have a soft spot for Callum Gentleman, having seen him perform several times at my local intimate gig venue, which is a beacon of light for artists, poets and storytellers, the perfect environment for blues / folk noir (with the odd dash of country). A place where the Nick Caves of NZ can come and be heard by a very appreciative audience.
Read More...
EDY Feat. Chris Bates - Single review: Here 4 U
16 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I was slightly perplexed about reviewing the single release Here 4 U by EDY featuring Chris Bates, simply because I could not figure out whom EDY was and I am sure the Chris Bates on Spotify could not be the same Chris Bates I was hearing. Slyly diverting away from the link I was given all in the name of research is not always wise.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Binary
08 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
All I have to go on David Sutton is that he “writes and records songs”, which is handy to know as I am reviewing his latest 10 track album titled Binary. I had a tip off that his music is somewhat quirky and I would enjoy it.
Read More...
Chores - Single Review: Surrender
25 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Chores are a multi-talented duo from Auckland specialising in electronic music production, song writing and DJ’ing. They have been described as “one of the most exciting new acts this side of the equator”.
Read More...
Jacquie Walters - Album Review: Light For A Broken World
17 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Christchurch born and bred, Jacquie Walters recorded her first song Bob Dylan’s Dream when she was six years old.  Singing Dylan and Joan Baez songs with her parents from an early age was her introduction to singer-songwriters.
Read More...
Psyrok - EP Review: Omega Point Blank
10 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Psyrok is a cross-genre electronica producer and songwriter based in Wellington. He also runs his own micro-label Psylince Records.
Read More...
Gig Review: Sol3 Mio @ Wharepai Domain, Tauranga - 6/01/2018
07 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
It was a wet and wild weekend in Tauranga, wild enough for even the most intrepid big name International artist to delay a concert for a few days, so it was not without trepidation that I kept an eye on the skies as the hours ticked ever closer to Sol3 Mio kicking off. I wouldn't have been overly worried had I only had to review the concert, but I also had to photograph, in the standard “three songs and your out of the pit” time frame.
Read More...
Emma G - Album Review: Taking Flight
30 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
On the back of her whirlwind All Roads Lead To Home tour of New Zealand, Emma Ghaemmaghamy, or Emma G as she is also known, has recently released her debut solo album Taking Flight. Kiwi born but now based in Washington DC, Emma works full time as a street performer and playing music around clubs, bars and community events.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • ALL THE STARS
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • THESE DAYS
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • IDGAF
    Dua Lipa
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • MINE
    Bazzi
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • NEVER BE THE SAME
    Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem