16 Aug 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Merrin @ Valhalla, Wellington - 23/09/2017

07 Oct 2017 // A review by Reef
Merrin recently released their new album 1 and on Saturday 23rd September I headed along to the album release party at Valhalla in Wellington to review and photograph the show. The two support acts for the night were Darkness Within and Strikemaster. Both are very capable and popular bands in their own right. 

When I arrived at the venue it was clear there was significant effort put into the organising of the show by Merrin's manager Heather Wood, with the most obvious being the size of the "crew" which was appropriately large with individuals covering all areas of expertise required for the show. Even I was provided with a crew pass. Nic and Kat from 'Many Hands Lighting', who were tasked with lighting, showed me what was in store for the night. These two know how to light a show and my other role to photograph the show immediately became easier and better for it. (Check out the photo gallery here)

Darkness Within were Burning Embers Inc Battle of the Bands winners in 2015 and ironically one of the first bands I photographed as a gig photographer. When I arrived at the venue they were just finishing their sound check. They hit the stage first, just after 9pm to a crowd that was 'developing'. I had not heard them live since back in 2015 and one thing I noticed then and again now was Josh's strong vocal capability and front man presence.

The band sounded great and by that I refer also to the overall audio mix, which was consistently good for all bands the whole night. Jared (drummer) started by wearing a mask with horns which he soon dispensed with in favour of the natural look. At one point Dan (guitar) had started the intro to a song and with complete darkness within the venue had to wait to be illuminated to see what he was doing. Their set ended with Josh in the mosh pit amongst the the fans. These guys have a great sound, punchy riffs and most importantly are musically entertaining. They did a great job of setting the scene for the night ahead. 

Strikemaster were up next and they are not a band I have seen live before which is incredibly odd since they have been in existence for decades, although active moreso in recent years since 2008. The fullness of the sound from this experienced three piece band is quite surprising. They play with a sense of "comfort" and "ease" or so it seems. Presumably due to the amount of time spent playing over the years. I became a huge fan on the spot that night. I spoke with Steve (bassist) the frontman briefly immediately before their set and he seemed incredibly relaxed. 

Steve is responsible for most of the vocals and provides a full and solid rhythm along with Brian, while Paul carves up the fretboard with solid riffs and solos. I wished they played for longer, but it was soon over and they brought the crowd to the next stage in the night. Strikemaster will be headlining the Hutt City Christmas Charity Rockfest later this year in December.

After another short break and changeover, members of Merrin appear on stage and Reverend Karl (guitar) begins with a ceremonial blessing (I think?) of the crowd to the pleasure of the front row. The set begins with Charlie (lead vocalist) off stage on a platform in the audience with mood lighting that draws the crowd's attention to the side of the venue only to be brought back to centre stage when the band kicks in. Merrin is a five piece band and do well to fit on the stage at Valhalla without looking constrained for space and are incredibly active the whole time.

The set is full of energy from the start and maintained right to the end and particularly noticeable from Karl who ends up at one point elevated on the front barrier and Angelo ripping out solos while owning the left side of the stage. Charlie (lead vocalist) fronts the band well and interacts with all members throughout the set while keeping engaged with the audience who by this time were at their peak and fully immersed in the live Merrin experience! So much that I found it hard getting back up front to photograph the band. The place by this time was chocka, shoulder to shoulder for most of the venue. Song after song and the band kept the audience engaged. Richie up the back in the beat room and Logan front right on bass were tasked with keeping rhythm and did so solidly.  

The set also featured a number of inflatable dolls doing the rounds over the crowd and stage which made for light hearted entertainment and a few "oops" moments on landing. :) The set ended with the band kicking around afterwards to thank their fans, take some selfies, sign merchandise and generally catch up with fans, family and friends. The night was well constructed and the bands complemented each other nicely in what was an epic night of music. 


Photos provided and review written by Reef Reid

About Merrin

Rock Under Construction...

Emerging with a new line up and an explosive new sound, Merrin incorporates the goodness of high energy rock with soul and passion. Feel it as it smacks you in the chest in the best kind of way. Loved by many, they have played support to iconic acts I Am Giant and American band Everclear, headlining their own tours around the country and performing to big crowds at various events throughout their home town of Wellington, New Zealand.

Charlie Phillips is one of this country's most mesmerising female rock vocalists. Her passion and drive is as inspiring and intoxicating as her soul-fuelled voice. With her alluring stage presence and powerful melodies, it is not surprising that her voice has drawn a lot of interest overseas.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Merrin

Releases

1
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Don't Forget To Breathe
Year: 2012
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Reef

Gig Review: Celine Dion @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 11/08/2018
12 Aug 2018 // by Reef
After a long spell of 22 years, five-time Grammy award winner Celine Dion hit the stage at Auckland's Spark Arena last night in the first of three shows she will perform in Auckland over the coming four days. I headed along to check out the voice behind the name who is regarded by some as "pop music's most influential voice" among female pop stars.
Read More...
Gig Review: Ardijah @ The Oxford Hotel, Levin - 22/10/2017
03 Nov 2017 // by Reef
Ardijah are an iconic New Zealand band from Auckland who in the 1980's were popular in the club/pub scene. Their debut single Give Me Your Numba was released in 1986 and since then a string of hits followed.
Read More...
Gig Review: Ultimate Eagles @ St James Theatre, Wellington - 16/06/2017
19 Jun 2017 // by Reef
'Ultimate Eagles' are an 'Eagles' tribute band currently on their History World Tour spanning seven countries. I had an opportunity to catch them half way through their current tour in Wellington at the St James Theatre to a well patronised venue.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Pink Floyd Experience @ St James Theatre, Wellington - 05/05/2017
17 May 2017 // by Reef
I had the pleasure and privilege of joining "The Pink Floyd Experience" (referred to going forward as PFE) over both nights on the Wellington leg of their New Zealand and Australia tour to celebrate the 40th Anniversary of Pink Floyd's Animals album (23rd Jan 1977).
Read More...
Gig Review: The Doobie Brothers @ TSB Arena, Wellington - 20/04/2017
21 Apr 2017 // by Reef
The Doobie Brothers have toured New Zealand on several previous occasions. Their current tour started a fortnight ago in Adelaide, Australia and ends at the Norsk Hostfest festival five months later in North Dakota.
Read More...
View All Articles By Reef

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • IN MY FEELINGS
    Drake
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • FEFE
    6ix9ine feat. Nicki Minaj And Murda Beatz
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • TASTE
    Tyga feat. Offset
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • STARGAZING
    Travis Scott
  • LUCID DREAMS
    Juice WRLD
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem