24 Feb 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sons Of Zion - EP Release: The Jukebox Suite

14 Aug 2017 // A review by Corinner

If you want to be transported away to hot summer days and music festivals, then go no further than Sons Of Zion brand new EP titled The Jukebox Suite, four songs including a new single featuring Aaradhna called Is That Enough. This band is the epitome of smooth balmy summertime sounds.

Sons of Zion’s musical style have evolved over the years to form a solid foundation of reggae layered with rock, gospel, soul and RnB elements.  Bob Marley and Kiwi Icons such as Kora, Katchafire, The Black Seeds and House of Shem to name a few, are influences which has helped shape this young band whose roots are in South Auckland.
 

The band’s latest offering of a 4 track EP titled The Jukebox Suite is so catchy that it has zoomed up the official nz music charts at lightning speed and as I write this is at number three, a quick check on their FB page tells me the latest music video Is That Enough ft Aaradhna has a mere 4.2k likes, loves and wows. This comes as no surprise "Sons Of Zion have carved a very successful path with more than 12 million streams on Spotify, more than 10 million views on YouTube and 100k plus following on social media". If you listen to the music which this band has been playing past and present since 2007, you will understand why they have a heap of love.

Aaradhna has a beautiful, silky voice which pairs perfectly with Caleb’s vocals. Indeed next level stuff.

The first track on this EP to be released was Live It Up, it is a funky tight and catchy number, which I know will be blaring out of car sound systems at your favourite holiday hotspot in a few months’ time and also gives you a pretty good indication that this is one highly polished EP.

The next two tracks, The Way That I Am and In The Sky continue along in the same vein with that velvety smooth and unique sound.  

The Jukebox Suite has been a tasty teaser to the 2018 summer festival sound, a tempting morsel of sunshine, sand and sunscreen and another indication that New Zealand can drop those dub/reggae/RnB beats up there with the world’s finest.

About Sons Of Zion

With their fusion of reggae, heavy rock, dub and funk, the Sons of Zion are a six piece crew based in Auckland. Their live stage presence has captivated audiences all over the country with their infectious sound, a mixture of reggae groove with melodic vocals, phat dubb bass lines and heavily distorted guitar rifts… there’s something for every musical taste within their original set.

Since their 2007 New Zealand Music Month debut, the Sons Of Zion have continued to build momentum in the NZ music industry and have stamped their unique sound locally at festivals such as Parachute, Native Noise Waitangi Day, Maoriside Tour and the 2008 V8 Super Cars just to name a few.

Although the group are fairly new on the roots scene they’ve already been scouted out to share the stage with some of the country’s best loved roots acts including Kora, Katchafire, The Black Seeds, Cornerstone Roots, Opensouls and House Of Shem.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sons Of Zion

Releases

The Jukebox Suite
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Universal Love
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Sons Of Zion
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinner

EP Review: Callum Gentleman
21 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I must confess, I have a soft spot for Callum Gentleman, having seen him perform several times at my local intimate gig venue, which is a beacon of light for artists, poets and storytellers, the perfect environment for blues / folk noir (with the odd dash of country). A place where the Nick Caves of NZ can come and be heard by a very appreciative audience.
Read More...
EDY Feat. Chris Bates - Single review: Here 4 U
16 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I was slightly perplexed about reviewing the single release Here 4 U by EDY featuring Chris Bates, simply because I could not figure out whom EDY was and I am sure the Chris Bates on Spotify could not be the same Chris Bates I was hearing. Slyly diverting away from the link I was given all in the name of research is not always wise.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Binary
08 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
All I have to go on David Sutton is that he “writes and records songs”, which is handy to know as I am reviewing his latest 10 track album titled Binary. I had a tip off that his music is somewhat quirky and I would enjoy it.
Read More...
Chores - Single Review: Surrender
25 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Chores are a multi-talented duo from Auckland specialising in electronic music production, song writing and DJ’ing. They have been described as “one of the most exciting new acts this side of the equator”.
Read More...
Jacquie Walters - Album Review: Light For A Broken World
17 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Christchurch born and bred, Jacquie Walters recorded her first song Bob Dylan’s Dream when she was six years old.  Singing Dylan and Joan Baez songs with her parents from an early age was her introduction to singer-songwriters.
Read More...
Psyrok - EP Review: Omega Point Blank
10 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Psyrok is a cross-genre electronica producer and songwriter based in Wellington. He also runs his own micro-label Psylince Records.
Read More...
Gig Review: Sol3 Mio @ Wharepai Domain, Tauranga - 6/01/2018
07 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
It was a wet and wild weekend in Tauranga, wild enough for even the most intrepid big name International artist to delay a concert for a few days, so it was not without trepidation that I kept an eye on the skies as the hours ticked ever closer to Sol3 Mio kicking off. I wouldn't have been overly worried had I only had to review the concert, but I also had to photograph, in the standard “three songs and your out of the pit” time frame.
Read More...
Emma G - Album Review: Taking Flight
30 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
On the back of her whirlwind All Roads Lead To Home tour of New Zealand, Emma Ghaemmaghamy, or Emma G as she is also known, has recently released her debut solo album Taking Flight. Kiwi born but now based in Washington DC, Emma works full time as a street performer and playing music around clubs, bars and community events.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • ALL THE STARS
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • THESE DAYS
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • IDGAF
    Dua Lipa
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • MINE
    Bazzi
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • NEVER BE THE SAME
    Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem