14 Aug 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mermaidens - Album Review: Perfect Body

10 Aug 2017 // A review by Corinner

It was never going to be possible for a band called Mermaidens to slip under my radar. I spotted these three with their fanciful, quirky but supper cool band name one day as I was scrolling through Facebook as you do. First thing which grabbed me was the name, second was the psychedelic blue and orange album cover which drew me in like a magpie and third they have been described as “dream-psych”. If you wave a combination like that in front of me, I will hitting Google faster than you can say Satsuma.

So fate eventually stepped in two days after this supremely rad band from Wellington had entered my orbit, and asked that Mermaidens new sophomore album Perfect Body be reviewed. So choosing not to ignore fate I did.

A Satsuma can be a distinct type of juicy sweet mandarin, colour the vinyl of this album has been released in, or the name of track number six, in this case it is all three and because I am in love with the coloured vinyl trend right now, I am positively drooling over glowing bright orange in Satsuma colour.

The trio of Mermaidens are made up of Gussie on Guitar and vocals, Lily bass and vocals and Abe on drums, together they create haunting raw and original music. Moody, dark, soulful, trippy, Punk Rock with hints of Heather Nova. They seem to be gaining quite a following

There is a quote from the band I found which is the perfect description of how the enticing lyrics came to be. “While writing the album Lily and I had both been thinking and talking about pleasure and pressure. By that I mean then contrast of being in a blissful state, but with an underlying anxiety or uncertainty being present too.” You can hear the blissful state transitioning into intense diverse vocals and hypnotic harsh and vigorous instrumentals. It is in fact a formidable formula the Mermaidens have come across; it is executed with originality, style and a good dose of allure.

Perfect Body is a multileveled rich tapestry of sounds which has also been described as dreamy. I think it is a collection of personal lyrics delivered by a beautifully creative and abstract method.

So if you love vibrant original music and pure genius band names, then don’t casually stroll past Perfect Body, pick it up with both hands and run with it. It is totally worth it.

Releases

Perfect Body
Year: 2017
Type: Album
O
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Bones
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Demo
Year: 2012
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinner

Darryl Baser - LP Review: Raw Selfie
08 Aug 2018 // by Corinner
Dunedin based musician Darryl Baser released the Raw Selfie LP back in 2016 on Zelle Records and Powertool Records. ‘Selfie’ relating to the modern obsession with taking photos of yourself and posting to social straight away.
Read More...
JCK - Single/Video Review: Super Heavy Rap Shit Feat. Pakkz Tha General & Alpha
28 Jul 2018 // by Corinner
This is the continuation of a journey for me, delving into the world of Rap. And because I never do anything by half, I have jumped in boots and all.
Read More...
Mecuzine - Album Review: Cutting Strings
27 Jul 2018 // by Corinner
Mecuzine is a five-piece Indie rock band from Auckland, and they're making a name for themselves in the music world for their dynamic and exciting mix of music genres “Mecuzine doesn’t follow fashion or trends – they write and play by their own rules”. The band has just released their debut album Cutting Strings which was recorded at Silverpoint Studios, Auckland and mastered in Nashville, engineered by Kane Bennett.
Read More...
LA Thompson - Single Review: Reach Out
24 Jul 2018 // by Corinner
LA Thompson (Shirley Howe), the founder of Local Musicians Music (LMM), has released another beautiful single titled Reach Out, from her album New Sun Rising. This is a song about love and light and it was written for the people she loves.
Read More...
Laconic Zephyr - Single Review: Cools You Down
24 Jul 2018 // by Corinner
Laconic Zephyr have certainly made themselves heard with their release Cools You Down. This five-piece band from New Plymouth have rocketed to a number one spot on the New Zealand iTunes Rock Chart, with a song which only took 20 minutes to write by the bands lead vocalist and bass guitarist Joss Bines.
Read More...
LA Thompson - Single Review: Lovelight
12 Jul 2018 // by Corinner
Prolific supporter and promoter of NZ indie artists and talented song writer / musician LA Thompson has just released a song by Brett Howes. This is collaboration with Brett who is also a member of the LMM Network which LA Thompson (Shirley Howe) founded.
Read More...
Geoff Ong - Single/Video Review: Fingerprints
09 Jul 2018 // by Corinner
Auckland-based pop-soul musician Geoff Ong has just released his brand-new track Fingerprints and self-shot video which accompanies it. The video is obviously filmed with a hand-held camera but manages to capture the vibrancy of Tokyo.
Read More...
Captain Festus McBoyle and his Motley Crew - Single/Video Review: Moolah
15 Jun 2018 // by Corinner
I should have known better then to take on a review which falls under the category of family music genre. Music aimed at kids.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • IN MY FEELINGS
    Drake
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • FEFE
    6ix9ine feat. Nicki Minaj And Murda Beatz
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • TASTE
    Tyga feat. Offset
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • STARGAZING
    Travis Scott
  • LUCID DREAMS
    Juice WRLD
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem