27 May 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mermaidens - Album Review: Perfect Body

10 Aug 2017 // A review by Corinner

It was never going to be possible for a band called Mermaidens to slip under my radar. I spotted these three with their fanciful, quirky but supper cool band name one day as I was scrolling through Facebook as you do. First thing which grabbed me was the name, second was the psychedelic blue and orange album cover which drew me in like a magpie and third they have been described as “dream-psych”. If you wave a combination like that in front of me, I will hitting Google faster than you can say Satsuma.

So fate eventually stepped in two days after this supremely rad band from Wellington had entered my orbit, and asked that Mermaidens new sophomore album Perfect Body be reviewed. So choosing not to ignore fate I did.

A Satsuma can be a distinct type of juicy sweet mandarin, colour the vinyl of this album has been released in, or the name of track number six, in this case it is all three and because I am in love with the coloured vinyl trend right now, I am positively drooling over glowing bright orange in Satsuma colour.

The trio of Mermaidens are made up of Gussie on Guitar and vocals, Lily bass and vocals and Abe on drums, together they create haunting raw and original music. Moody, dark, soulful, trippy, Punk Rock with hints of Heather Nova. They seem to be gaining quite a following

There is a quote from the band I found which is the perfect description of how the enticing lyrics came to be. “While writing the album Lily and I had both been thinking and talking about pleasure and pressure. By that I mean then contrast of being in a blissful state, but with an underlying anxiety or uncertainty being present too.” You can hear the blissful state transitioning into intense diverse vocals and hypnotic harsh and vigorous instrumentals. It is in fact a formidable formula the Mermaidens have come across; it is executed with originality, style and a good dose of allure.

Perfect Body is a multileveled rich tapestry of sounds which has also been described as dreamy. I think it is a collection of personal lyrics delivered by a beautifully creative and abstract method.

So if you love vibrant original music and pure genius band names, then don’t casually stroll past Perfect Body, pick it up with both hands and run with it. It is totally worth it.

Releases

Perfect Body
Year: 2017
Type: Album
O
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Bones
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Demo
Year: 2012
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinner

Raw Collective - Album Review: For The Ancients
23 May 2018 // by Corinner
Raw Collective, a twelve-piece Hip-Hop, multi-instrumental extravaganza from Wellington have teamed up with Flight Music Records and released their debut album For the Ancients. Spearheaded by Raw Deezy, Raw Collective is a band of epic proportions which have been attracting people’s attention at gigs and festivals around the country since 2014.
Read More...
Seven Zen - EP Review: Dark As Life
23 May 2018 // by Corinner
Seven Zen (AKA Riley Popham), is a 14-year-old college student at Mahurangi College in Warkworth. Barely in his teens, he already has a couple of years under his belt as a talented multi-instrumentalist and has been performing covers to impressed audience both live and on YouTube (he can play more than 200 to be exact).
Read More...
Solomon Crook - EP Review: Abandon Adolescence
16 May 2018 // by Corinner
Solomon Crook a young singer-songwriter from the Coromandel (now based in Wellington) has just released a six track EP called Abandon Adolescence. Preceding this by a few weeks was the first single off the EP titled Love Juice a lively and catchy song about love without a heart...
Read More...
Sal Valentine and the Babyshakes - Single/Video Review: Cherry Blossom
15 May 2018 // by Corinner
This is the first time I have heard of charismatic Auckland based musical artist Sal Valentine (Ivan Luketina Jonstone). I think I have fallen just a bit in love with his mix of funk and soul; it is super funky pop music that just makes you smile.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Deconstructed (Between The Pieces)
09 May 2018 // by Corinner
Jamie Denton, based in Auckland, is the man behind Empire To Ashes, producing mind-bending music which is described as alternative electronica. His latest offering is titled Deconstructed [Between The Pieces], which very cleverly follows on from [In Pieces] which was released in January 2018.
Read More...
NRG Rising - Single Review: Take Us High
25 Apr 2018 // by Corinner
The mother and daughters reggae trio NRG Rising from Hamilton, first entered into the music scene in 2011 with their debut album From Darkness To Light, and have gathered a strong and loyal following ever since. The band’s latest single Take Us High has been described as a “catchy, soulful tune echoing the popular 1990’s style of R&B”.
Read More...
Stan Walker - EP Review: Stan
09 Apr 2018 // by Corinner
To coincide with the live broadcast of Stan Walker’s powerful and moving documentary, which follows his journey to recovery after being given a cancer diagnosis in 2017, is the release of a 6 track EP titled Stan. The EP had barely been out a day, and already it had made it to number one in New Zealand.
Read More...
EP Review: Lunavela
03 Apr 2018 // by Corinner
Lunavela is the current musical project of Steve Mathieson, formerly of Auckland indie outfit Collapsing Cities. The 5 track self-titled EP is described by Lunavela as Shoegaze House, which is a genre I have never heard of before.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THIS IS AMERICA
    Childish Gambino
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • PSYCHO
    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
  • ONE KISS
    Calvin Harris And Dua Lipa
  • NO TEARS LEFT TO CRY
    Ariana Grande
  • FREAKY FRIDAY
    Lil Dicky feat. Chris Brown
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem