21 Feb 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Grayson Gilmour - Album Review: Otherness

06 Aug 2017 // A review by Corinner

I knew this album would be something memorable from the moment I saw that it was to be released on a very limited special edition LP on milky-clear vinyl, to me a vinyl collector from way back those words sounded alluring and intriguing. This was just the beginning of what was to become a musical experience which was captivating from start to finish.


Otherness is a complete package, starting with the beautiful art work on the album cover from acclaimed NZ artist Henrietta Harris, to the heart stirring, intimate lyrics and eclectic mix of string and electronic instrumentals. “Achingly beautiful” has been used to describe this album and I for one will not be disputing that.


The genre of Otherness may be hard to pin point, I get the feeling of sophisticated coffeehouse blended with romantic pop. This album has class and elegance; it is soothing and calm with a smidge of transcendental tonality sprinkled in.


Gilmour combines clever instrumentation with his vocals to create an almost eerily beautiful and unique sound. Rich, lush and glorious are three beautiful descriptive words which I came across in my investigation into this album. The perfect accompaniment to a chilled Saturday evening or backdrop of a leisurely Sunday afternoon.


My personal favourite out of the ten tracks on this album is number two, Blow Back, the lyrics are stunning, much like the rest of Otherness but somehow more. I could quote a few lines for you, but part of the experience would be finding out for yourself.


If you stop for a moment, breathe and listen. Really listen, you will appreciate the beauty that is Otherness.


Track six is the compelling title of this beautiful albumit wraps us in these words. “One way or another, we all find our other”. The title seems to be all encompassing and hints of a journey through life which perhaps brought Gilmour to this point.  His song writing is utterly absorbing.


What ever way you take it, this is a breathtaking album. Just be still for a moment and listen.

Releases

Otherness
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Infinite Life!
Year: 2014
Type: Album
No Constellation
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Chapters EP
Year: 2008
Type: EP
You Sleep, We Creep
Year: 2007
Type: Album
Phantom Limbs
Year: 2006
Type: Album
Behind Locked Doors
Year: 2004
Type: Album
Abstract Arrival
Year: 2002
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinner

EDY Feat. Chris Bates - Single review: Here 4 U
16 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I was slightly perplexed about reviewing the single release Here 4 U by EDY featuring Chris Bates, simply because I could not figure out whom EDY was and I am sure the Chris Bates on Spotify could not be the same Chris Bates I was hearing. Slyly diverting away from the link I was given all in the name of research is not always wise.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Binary
08 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
All I have to go on David Sutton is that he “writes and records songs”, which is handy to know as I am reviewing his latest 10 track album titled Binary. I had a tip off that his music is somewhat quirky and I would enjoy it.
Read More...
Chores - Single Review: Surrender
25 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Chores are a multi-talented duo from Auckland specialising in electronic music production, song writing and DJ’ing. They have been described as “one of the most exciting new acts this side of the equator”.
Read More...
Jacquie Walters - Album Review: Light For A Broken World
17 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Christchurch born and bred, Jacquie Walters recorded her first song Bob Dylan’s Dream when she was six years old.  Singing Dylan and Joan Baez songs with her parents from an early age was her introduction to singer-songwriters.
Read More...
Psyrok - EP Review: Omega Point Blank
10 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Psyrok is a cross-genre electronica producer and songwriter based in Wellington. He also runs his own micro-label Psylince Records.
Read More...
Gig Review: Sol3 Mio @ Wharepai Domain, Tauranga - 6/01/2018
07 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
It was a wet and wild weekend in Tauranga, wild enough for even the most intrepid big name International artist to delay a concert for a few days, so it was not without trepidation that I kept an eye on the skies as the hours ticked ever closer to Sol3 Mio kicking off. I wouldn't have been overly worried had I only had to review the concert, but I also had to photograph, in the standard “three songs and your out of the pit” time frame.
Read More...
Emma G - Album Review: Taking Flight
30 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
On the back of her whirlwind All Roads Lead To Home tour of New Zealand, Emma Ghaemmaghamy, or Emma G as she is also known, has recently released her debut solo album Taking Flight. Kiwi born but now based in Washington DC, Emma works full time as a street performer and playing music around clubs, bars and community events.
Read More...
Jonathan Densem - Album Review: I’m Saying It Now
20 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
Jonathan Densem - Cantabrian singer, composer, musician and teacher has launched his album I’m Saying It Now. It is an album of storytelling and beautiful melody.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • ALL THE STARS
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • THESE DAYS
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • IDGAF
    Dua Lipa
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • MINE
    Bazzi
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • NEVER BE THE SAME
    Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem