25 May 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Grayson Gilmour - Album Review: Otherness

06 Aug 2017 // A review by Corinner

I knew this album would be something memorable from the moment I saw that it was to be released on a very limited special edition LP on milky-clear vinyl, to me a vinyl collector from way back those words sounded alluring and intriguing. This was just the beginning of what was to become a musical experience which was captivating from start to finish.


Otherness is a complete package, starting with the beautiful art work on the album cover from acclaimed NZ artist Henrietta Harris, to the heart stirring, intimate lyrics and eclectic mix of string and electronic instrumentals. “Achingly beautiful” has been used to describe this album and I for one will not be disputing that.


The genre of Otherness may be hard to pin point, I get the feeling of sophisticated coffeehouse blended with romantic pop. This album has class and elegance; it is soothing and calm with a smidge of transcendental tonality sprinkled in.


Gilmour combines clever instrumentation with his vocals to create an almost eerily beautiful and unique sound. Rich, lush and glorious are three beautiful descriptive words which I came across in my investigation into this album. The perfect accompaniment to a chilled Saturday evening or backdrop of a leisurely Sunday afternoon.


My personal favourite out of the ten tracks on this album is number two, Blow Back, the lyrics are stunning, much like the rest of Otherness but somehow more. I could quote a few lines for you, but part of the experience would be finding out for yourself.


If you stop for a moment, breathe and listen. Really listen, you will appreciate the beauty that is Otherness.


Track six is the compelling title of this beautiful albumit wraps us in these words. “One way or another, we all find our other”. The title seems to be all encompassing and hints of a journey through life which perhaps brought Gilmour to this point.  His song writing is utterly absorbing.


What ever way you take it, this is a breathtaking album. Just be still for a moment and listen.

Releases

Otherness
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Infinite Life!
Year: 2014
Type: Album
No Constellation
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Chapters EP
Year: 2008
Type: EP
You Sleep, We Creep
Year: 2007
Type: Album
Phantom Limbs
Year: 2006
Type: Album
Behind Locked Doors
Year: 2004
Type: Album
Abstract Arrival
Year: 2002
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinner

Raw Collective - Album Review: For The Ancients
23 May 2018 // by Corinner
Raw Collective, a twelve-piece Hip-Hop, multi-instrumental extravaganza from Wellington have teamed up with Flight Music Records and released their debut album For the Ancients. Spearheaded by Raw Deezy, Raw Collective is a band of epic proportions which have been attracting people’s attention at gigs and festivals around the country since 2014.
Read More...
Seven Zen - EP Review: Dark As Life
23 May 2018 // by Corinner
Seven Zen (AKA Riley Popham), is a 14-year-old college student at Mahurangi College in Warkworth. Barely in his teens, he already has a couple of years under his belt as a talented multi-instrumentalist and has been performing covers to impressed audience both live and on YouTube (he can play more than 200 to be exact).
Read More...
Solomon Crook - EP Review: Abandon Adolescence
16 May 2018 // by Corinner
Solomon Crook a young singer-songwriter from the Coromandel (now based in Wellington) has just released a six track EP called Abandon Adolescence. Preceding this by a few weeks was the first single off the EP titled Love Juice a lively and catchy song about love without a heart...
Read More...
Sal Valentine and the Babyshakes - Single/Video Review: Cherry Blossom
15 May 2018 // by Corinner
This is the first time I have heard of charismatic Auckland based musical artist Sal Valentine (Ivan Luketina Jonstone). I think I have fallen just a bit in love with his mix of funk and soul; it is super funky pop music that just makes you smile.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Deconstructed (Between The Pieces)
09 May 2018 // by Corinner
Jamie Denton, based in Auckland, is the man behind Empire To Ashes, producing mind-bending music which is described as alternative electronica. His latest offering is titled Deconstructed [Between The Pieces], which very cleverly follows on from [In Pieces] which was released in January 2018.
Read More...
NRG Rising - Single Review: Take Us High
25 Apr 2018 // by Corinner
The mother and daughters reggae trio NRG Rising from Hamilton, first entered into the music scene in 2011 with their debut album From Darkness To Light, and have gathered a strong and loyal following ever since. The band’s latest single Take Us High has been described as a “catchy, soulful tune echoing the popular 1990’s style of R&B”.
Read More...
Stan Walker - EP Review: Stan
09 Apr 2018 // by Corinner
To coincide with the live broadcast of Stan Walker’s powerful and moving documentary, which follows his journey to recovery after being given a cancer diagnosis in 2017, is the release of a 6 track EP titled Stan. The EP had barely been out a day, and already it had made it to number one in New Zealand.
Read More...
EP Review: Lunavela
03 Apr 2018 // by Corinner
Lunavela is the current musical project of Steve Mathieson, formerly of Auckland indie outfit Collapsing Cities. The 5 track self-titled EP is described by Lunavela as Shoegaze House, which is a genre I have never heard of before.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THIS IS AMERICA
    Childish Gambino
  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • PSYCHO
    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • FREAKY FRIDAY
    Lil Dicky feat. Chris Brown
  • ONE KISS
    Calvin Harris And Dua Lipa
  • NO TEARS LEFT TO CRY
    Ariana Grande
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem