14 Aug 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Grayson Gilmour - Album Review: Otherness

06 Aug 2017 // A review by Corinner

I knew this album would be something memorable from the moment I saw that it was to be released on a very limited special edition LP on milky-clear vinyl, to me a vinyl collector from way back those words sounded alluring and intriguing. This was just the beginning of what was to become a musical experience which was captivating from start to finish.


Otherness is a complete package, starting with the beautiful art work on the album cover from acclaimed NZ artist Henrietta Harris, to the heart stirring, intimate lyrics and eclectic mix of string and electronic instrumentals. “Achingly beautiful” has been used to describe this album and I for one will not be disputing that.


The genre of Otherness may be hard to pin point, I get the feeling of sophisticated coffeehouse blended with romantic pop. This album has class and elegance; it is soothing and calm with a smidge of transcendental tonality sprinkled in.


Gilmour combines clever instrumentation with his vocals to create an almost eerily beautiful and unique sound. Rich, lush and glorious are three beautiful descriptive words which I came across in my investigation into this album. The perfect accompaniment to a chilled Saturday evening or backdrop of a leisurely Sunday afternoon.


My personal favourite out of the ten tracks on this album is number two, Blow Back, the lyrics are stunning, much like the rest of Otherness but somehow more. I could quote a few lines for you, but part of the experience would be finding out for yourself.


If you stop for a moment, breathe and listen. Really listen, you will appreciate the beauty that is Otherness.


Track six is the compelling title of this beautiful albumit wraps us in these words. “One way or another, we all find our other”. The title seems to be all encompassing and hints of a journey through life which perhaps brought Gilmour to this point.  His song writing is utterly absorbing.


What ever way you take it, this is a breathtaking album. Just be still for a moment and listen.

Releases

Otherness
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Infinite Life!
Year: 2014
Type: Album
No Constellation
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Chapters EP
Year: 2008
Type: EP
You Sleep, We Creep
Year: 2007
Type: Album
Phantom Limbs
Year: 2006
Type: Album
Behind Locked Doors
Year: 2004
Type: Album
Abstract Arrival
Year: 2002
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinner

Darryl Baser - LP Review: Raw Selfie
08 Aug 2018 // by Corinner
Dunedin based musician Darryl Baser released the Raw Selfie LP back in 2016 on Zelle Records and Powertool Records. ‘Selfie’ relating to the modern obsession with taking photos of yourself and posting to social straight away.
Read More...
JCK - Single/Video Review: Super Heavy Rap Shit Feat. Pakkz Tha General & Alpha
28 Jul 2018 // by Corinner
This is the continuation of a journey for me, delving into the world of Rap. And because I never do anything by half, I have jumped in boots and all.
Read More...
Mecuzine - Album Review: Cutting Strings
27 Jul 2018 // by Corinner
Mecuzine is a five-piece Indie rock band from Auckland, and they're making a name for themselves in the music world for their dynamic and exciting mix of music genres “Mecuzine doesn’t follow fashion or trends – they write and play by their own rules”. The band has just released their debut album Cutting Strings which was recorded at Silverpoint Studios, Auckland and mastered in Nashville, engineered by Kane Bennett.
Read More...
LA Thompson - Single Review: Reach Out
24 Jul 2018 // by Corinner
LA Thompson (Shirley Howe), the founder of Local Musicians Music (LMM), has released another beautiful single titled Reach Out, from her album New Sun Rising. This is a song about love and light and it was written for the people she loves.
Read More...
Laconic Zephyr - Single Review: Cools You Down
24 Jul 2018 // by Corinner
Laconic Zephyr have certainly made themselves heard with their release Cools You Down. This five-piece band from New Plymouth have rocketed to a number one spot on the New Zealand iTunes Rock Chart, with a song which only took 20 minutes to write by the bands lead vocalist and bass guitarist Joss Bines.
Read More...
LA Thompson - Single Review: Lovelight
12 Jul 2018 // by Corinner
Prolific supporter and promoter of NZ indie artists and talented song writer / musician LA Thompson has just released a song by Brett Howes. This is collaboration with Brett who is also a member of the LMM Network which LA Thompson (Shirley Howe) founded.
Read More...
Geoff Ong - Single/Video Review: Fingerprints
09 Jul 2018 // by Corinner
Auckland-based pop-soul musician Geoff Ong has just released his brand-new track Fingerprints and self-shot video which accompanies it. The video is obviously filmed with a hand-held camera but manages to capture the vibrancy of Tokyo.
Read More...
Captain Festus McBoyle and his Motley Crew - Single/Video Review: Moolah
15 Jun 2018 // by Corinner
I should have known better then to take on a review which falls under the category of family music genre. Music aimed at kids.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • IN MY FEELINGS
    Drake
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • FEFE
    6ix9ine feat. Nicki Minaj And Murda Beatz
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • TASTE
    Tyga feat. Offset
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • STARGAZING
    Travis Scott
  • LUCID DREAMS
    Juice WRLD
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem