19 Jan 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dirty Pixels - EP Review: Spacesuit

26 Jun 2017 // A review by tonymcdonald
Have you ever imagined MGMT mixed with some Beach boys, then meeting Weezer to beef things up a little?

Well here you have it and it is frickin awesome. I am always looking for new bands and this ticks all the boxes.

The whole Spacesuit EP is upbeat with a happy, almost dreamy summer feel with great tunes. Indie rock perhaps would be a suitable genre if you need a pigeonhole.

The song Spacesuit is my favourite track on this short 4 track EP, however Rhetorical Baby is a close second.

Throwing another band reference at you is The Pixies who could easily have written and performed track 3 You Took My Mind. Itís a little more spacey though rather than the dirty raw sound of the Pixies.

Funky bass lines and rums throughout are a key feature as are the jangly guitars with an overtone of 80ís synth thrown in for good measure. The floaty vocals fit beautifully. Nice work guys.

Please check them out on Facebook.

https://www.facebook.com/DirtyPixelsBand/

About Dirty Pixels

Dirty Pixels are an Auckland Synth Pop / Alternative Rock outfit, originally formed in 2014 by Ethan Moore. In 2017 they released their debut EP titled Spacesuit and are now performing as a fully five piece band.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dirty Pixels

Releases

Spacesuit
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By tonymcdonald

Radio Coma - Single Review: Too Young To Die
06 Nov 2017 // by tonymcdonald
Head banging on the front row, covered in beer, sweat and waves of pushing & shoving. Too Young To Die instantly transports you to a live venue.
Read More...
The Whiskey Show - Single Review: Vengeance
12 Oct 2017 // by tonymcdonald
This is a classic old school rock song with a modern 'Black Keys' style drum and bass feel thrown in. Dene's vocals are great for this genre, and Scott's guitaring is stunningly good.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mishap @ Thistle Hall, Wellington - 2/09/2017
04 Sep 2017 // by tonymcdonald
p.p1 {margin: 0.
Read More...
Openside - Single Review: I Feel Nothing
28 Aug 2017 // by tonymcdonald
Thumping bass and drums overlaid with great effects and keyboards make this 80ís retro PowerPop single really stand out. I Feel Nothing is a very catchy tune and it's certain to be a hit especially in the lead up to summer.
Read More...
Scared Of Girls - EP Review: Suck
10 May 2017 // by tonymcdonald
p.p1 {margin: 0.
Read More...
Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Bastard Fate
14 Feb 2017 // by tonymcdonald
I must say it as absolutely fantastic to hear a fabulous female rock artist. There aren't enough talented rock ladies in my opinion.
Read More...
Pitch Black - Album Review: Filtered Senses
12 Sep 2016 // by tonymcdonald
Pitch Black, the duo from Christchurch are back after nine long years with a brand new dub album, Filtered Senses. Itís dark and mysterious with a laid back lounge club feel.
Read More...
Prizegiving - Album Review: No Harm Done
05 Jul 2016 // by tonymcdonald
Donít think about buying the cassette from Bandcamp because it's sold out. Is that a good thing?
Read More...
View All Articles By tonymcdonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • RIVER
    Eminem feat. Ed Sheeran
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • CANDY PAINT
    Post Malone
  • DON'T GIVE IT UP
    Six60
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem