23 Jun 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Skinny Hobos - Single/Video Review: Suburban Living

24 Jun 2017 // A review by Channel1
I have never had much time for religion. You know, if you believe in God then by the same logic you might believe in Santa Clause or Fairies. However, there is a movement, I wouldn't call it a cult but from it's central Auckland base the word is spreading and I think I just may have been converted to Hoboism.

To have followers you need to be a leader and the Skinny Hobos have two. The guitar-wielding hairy beast that is Elvis and the equally hairy tub-thumping beast that is Texas. They may even have a little royal blood running through their veins to elevate them above the crowd.

Texas and Elvis have been sonically spreading their message across NZ converting the disenfranchised, the lost and hopeful and the latest Skinny Hobos offering, Suburban Living is the third chapter in a video/song series that sees us all bowing down to the mighty lizard kings.

The guys are still chasing "the man" but this time they aren't f**king around. This rocket fueled slab of riffs and speeding drums blasts out of the gates full pelt and takes no prisoners. The sound is full on and cannot be ignored. It is the best they have done, they have stolen from the Merchant of Tirau and laughed at the Jokers and Fools along the way. If you do not want to move to Suburban Living then you are already dead.

In suburban New Zealand, the enemy is hiding behind masks and Elvis is in the building preaching, "you gotta take your pills if you wanna get your thrills". Texas and Elvis punch above their weight and with a song like this in their arsenal they can't lose. It's war played out in a field of acid dreams and there are lots of casualties.

I can't wait for Texas and Elvis chapter 4, verse 1.

About Skinny Hobos

Skinny Hobos are a 2-piece Alternative Rock band from Auckland, New Zealand who make far more noise than any two people should!

The Hobos have quickly earned a reputation for being the hardest working band in town. In 2015, they played more shows than there were weeks in the year, as well as recording their debut album at Neil Finnís Roundhead Studios with engineer Nick Poortman (Ekko Park, Jason Kerrison).

They finished off the year with a very successful co-headlined North Island tour with Wellington band Bakers Eddy, and they were also featured in the December/January issue of NZ Musician Magazine.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Skinny Hobos

Releases

Skinny Hobos
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Channel1

Gig Review: Brian Jonestown Massacre @ Powerstation, Auckland - 16/06/2018
18 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
It's a wet and windy night. The All Blacks playing means the bars surrounding Auckland's Powerstation are packed with rugby fans and finding a carpark is murder.
Read More...
Gig Review: Ska Save The Queen @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 03/06/2018
12 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
I grew up in Coventry in the UK. As a kid my first introduction to music was Two Tone the local record label that had Ska bands like The Specials, Selector, The Beat etc.
Read More...
Vallkyrie - Single/Video Review: Runaway Child
09 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
South Auckland three-piece Vallkyrie are pure class. Their tendency to switch genres and the mixture of influences they embody has taken them another step forward with this their latest single release Runaway Child.
Read More...
EP Review: By Soda Boyz
05 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
So, a young band from Palmy do the norm and go through the "Rockquest" motions. Just another bunch of wannabe talented, wannabe kind of good at what we do but fuck being famous we would rather be cool wannabes, or so I thought until I hit play and turned this music up loud.
Read More...
Dead Kid Harvester - Album Review: The First Sign Of Madness
04 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
I knew this wasn't going to be an easy listen. With a moniker like Dead Kid Harvester and song titles like Scab Made Out Of Faeces, Paul Harvey isn't aiming for middle of the road chart-bothering, but I love music of all extremes and we all need to be challenged.
Read More...
Soda Boyz - Single Review: Home Again
04 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
This new single from Soda Boyz simmers and shimmers. Totally instrumental, it's a great example of how music doesn't always need words to get the message across.
Read More...
The Recently Deceived - Single Reviews: Misty and Halo
22 May 2018 // by Channel1
It's great to see The Recently Deceived are back with a new double single release following on from their excellent Use Your Head EP. They are simply one of the best "punk" bands you will see or hear and this single steps up the attitude on opener Misty.
Read More...
Hybrid Rose - Single Review: Just Press Play
11 May 2018 // by Channel1
Hybrid Rose (Rose Muollo-Gray) has done it again. Though this time, she has managed to up the game to another level.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • ALL MINE
    Kanye West
  • LOVELY
    Billie Eilish feat. Khalid
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
  • BACK TO YOU
    Selena Gomez
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • THIS IS AMERICA
    Childish Gambino
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem