28 May 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Tablefox - EP Review: Glass Houses

19 May 2017 // A review by butch181
The Glass Houses EP starts out with an instrumental introduction. A three minute long track that begins with keys and a quiet, gentle and fragile guitar riff, but is then joined by a second louder, more abrupt guitar. The track has a gentle amplifying crescendo as it intertwines the music with ambient background noise that could be from a local coffee shop, as the keys that have been playing from the start, morph in an audial illusion to mimic the sound of a siren in the distance. Sweet and innocent, transforming into something almost haunting and abrasive.

Clinton Bell has a vocal style that sounds indiscriminantly British; with a voice that has distinct similarities to Robbie Williams, U2's Bono, and a tinge of the nasal sound characteristic of Placebo's Brian Molko. Under a Broken Smile, initially fools you into thinking it's a slow song, but picks up the tempo with an upbeat guitar riff. With beautifully simple guitar riffs over the bass, and nice backing vocals on the odd occasion when needed. 

Let Me Go is full-bodied, and the stand-out track of the release. It provides a cacophony of noises that gives the impression that every member of the band is trying to take the spotlight; high guitar riffs, booming bass, ear-catching tribal drums, wooing backing vocals all vying to be the focus. It works exceptionally well, engaging the listener as they try to appreciate the sound in its entirety. You get so taken up by trying to take note of all the individual melodies that in no time it's gone, leaving a gaping chasm of silence in it's wake.

This release from Tablefox is a well produced piece that seems unique to the New Zealand music scene. Lacking that deep, earthy, kiwi accent, and with a well-controlled use of instruments to compliment the vocals, they have created a mature, international sound that should have no trouble resonating with its listeners.

About Tablefox

Since the release of their debut EP ‘Passenger’ in 2013, Tablefox have undergone an evolution. Moving from a three piece to a five piece has seen the inclusion of dual weaving guitar lines and vocal harmonies that have broadened the band’s sonic palette.

During this time, Tablefox have been writing the new songs that will make up their debut album ‘Objects’. Recorded at Tsunami Sound Studios in the Horowhenua with engineer David Trail, the band went into the studio with the intention of producing an EP.

However, such was the creative energy of the sessions, they ended up tracking enough material for an entire album. The first single ‘Something Better’ was released in August 2015 and is available as a free download from the Tablefox Bandcamp page.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Tablefox

Releases

Objects
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Passenger
Year: 2013
Type: EP

Other Reviews By butch181

Gig Review: Clap Clap Riot @ REC, Auckland, 05/05/2017
14 May 2017 // by butch181
It has been many years since I have heard from Clap Clap Riot. Probably a consequence of listening solely to The Rock FM when it comes to the radio, but with a new release, it seemed like I was overdue checking them out.
Read More...
Gig Review: Head Like A Hole @ Galatos, Auckland 04/05/2017
14 May 2017 // by butch181
Heading in to the venue, it was to be my first gig at Auckland's Galatos venue. Situated not too far away from the now-sold Kings Arms Tavern, and the currently for sale Wine Cellar and Whammy Bar, Galatos is in a prime position.
Read More...
Gig Review: Thomas Oliver @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland 05/05/2017
07 May 2017 // by butch181
On a lovely brisk Friday evening I find myself sitting outside of the Tuning Fork, adjacent to the recently renamed Spark Arena in Auckland. The skies dark but clear, as I wait by the gas heaters for the opening artist to take to the stage.
Read More...
Lucifer Gunne - EP Review: The Red King
04 May 2017 // by butch181
An interesting short EP. Of the five tracks included, only three are of real substance, enclosed by the suitably named Intro and Outro.
Read More...
Gig Review: Checaine @ Nivara Lounge, Hamilton 29/04/2017
01 May 2017 // by butch181
Being an EP Release Party, I put in some extra effort and made my way down from Auckland to attend this Hamilton gig. Traffic was light, so the drive was pleasant - perhaps due to the lateness at which I was travelling.
Read More...
Gig Review: Alcest @ Whammy Bar, Auckland 24/04/2017
25 Apr 2017 // by butch181
Alcest is a very recent discovery for me. Hailing all the way from Bagnols-sur-Cèzein France, I discovered their Australia/New Zealand tour by chance.
Read More...
Gig Review: Garden Party Riot @ The Dogs Bollix, Auckland 20/04/2017
24 Apr 2017 // by butch181
This trio took to the stage at Auckland’s Dogs Bollix, and they seemed a rather unassuming group. Apart from the vocalist, Paul Goddard, who dressed with a spiffy jacket and waistcoat in a look not dissimilar to Oasis and Beady Eye vocalist Liam Gallagher, the other members are dressed very casual in t-shirts and short sleeves.
Read More...
Tempist Fujit - Single Review: Midnight Train
13 Apr 2017 // by butch181
This latest single from Tempist Fujit is best classified as an upbeat country pop rock piece. With a vibe that emanates in a similar way to Thirsty Merc's In The Summertime, Midnight Train has a meandering funky beat to it.
Read More...
View All Articles By butch181

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I'M THE ONE
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance The Rapper And Lil Wayne
  • HUMBLE.
    Kendrick Lamar
  • DESPACITO (REMIX)
    Luis Fonsi And Daddy Yankee feat. Justin Bieber
  • SHAPE OF YOU
    Ed Sheeran
  • MALIBU
    Miley Cyrus
  • SIGN OF THE TIMES
    Harry Styles
  • GALWAY GIRL
    Ed Sheeran
  • SWALLA
    Jason DeRulo feat. Nicki Minaj And Ty Dolla Sign
  • OPTIONS
    Pitbull feat. Stephen Marley
  • THAT'S WHAT I LIKE
    Bruno Mars
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem