20 Apr 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dave Dobbyn - Album Review: Slice Of Heaven - 40 Years Of Hits

13 Apr 2017 // A review by Corinner

How does one begin to review an album which has been the soundtrack of our youth? The backdrop to collective memories of a nation? An album which spans ten decades of well known and loved hits, songs written by a man who in 2001 received a Lifetime Achievement Award by the New Zealand Music Industry. A recording artist, musician and songwriter, a treasure of the nation. How shall I review this? Starting with a warning - this Album may take you on an emotional journey down memory lane. Listener beware!. 

This album of 21 tracks has been released to coincide with his nationwide tour which kicks off on the 12th of April in Whangarei. The tour sees two weeks of performances not only in our major cities, but also provincial locations up and down the country.

The opening track Slice Of Heaven featuring Herbs, is one of two songs on this album he recorded for the soundtrack on the 1986 Footrot Flats film: A Dogs Tale, the other being You Oughta Be In Love. Misty eyed memory triggers right there.

There are a couple of tracks harking right back to Th' Dudes (Be Mine Tonight), winner of single of the year at the National Music Awards in 1979, and DD Smash (Magic What She Do), history making songs which are still no doubt played on jukeboxes in pubs all over NZ and more than likely Australia too. It would be some years later which he launched his solo career, with the majority of 40 Years Of Hits being a testament to Dobbyn's talent as a lone musical artist and songwriter.

This album and tour comes hot on the heels of Dave's 10th studio album as a solo artist, Harmony House, which was released in 2016, and indicates that he has no intention of slowing down. 

This is not only background music of our lives, this is music to our cherished movies, music we loved to and more then likely cried to, songs we danced to and sang to, music that has inspired pride of a nation and also some debate. Songs which has seen collaborations with some of New Zealand's biggest musical artists and songs which have been covered by bands for decades.

Thank you Dave for giving us this iconic Kiwi soundtrack of our lives.

Released April 6th 2017 by Sony Music New Zealand.

About Dave Dobbyn

Dave Dobbyn is regarded as a national treasure in New Zealand. Wherever Kiwis gather around the world, it is likely to be songs by Dave Dobbyn they sing when thinking of home.

In 2001, after almost 30 years as a musician and songwriter, Dobbyn was given a rare, lifetime achievement award by the New Zealand recording industry. Instead of a speech, the managing director of Sony New Zealand just read out a long list of song titles - Beside You, Be Mine Tonight, Language, Outlook for Thursday, Loyal, Whaling, Kingdom Come, It Dawned On Me, Guilty, Devil You Know, Slice of Heaven, Magic What She Do, Oughta Be in Love …

These songs, written by Dobbyn, had moved people throughout the country. They were songs they had danced to with their first lover, songs they have married to, songs that made them laugh and cry or even played when burying their loved ones.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dave Dobbyn

Releases

Beside You
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Anotherland
Year: 2008
Type: Album
Available Light
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Hopetown
Year: 2000
Type: Album
Overnight Success
Year: 1999
Type: Album
The Islander
Year: 1998
Type: Album
Twist
Year: 1994
Type: Album
Lament For The Numb
Year: 1993
Type: Album
Loyal
Year: 1988
Type: Album
Footrot Flats
Year: 1986
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinner

Stan Walker - EP Review: Stan
09 Apr 2018 // by Corinner
To coincide with the live broadcast of Stan Walker’s powerful and moving documentary, which follows his journey to recovery after being given a cancer diagnosis in 2017, is the release of a 6 track EP titled Stan. The EP had barely been out a day, and already it had made it to number one in New Zealand.
Read More...
EP Review: Lunavela
03 Apr 2018 // by Corinner
Lunavela is the current musical project of Steve Mathieson, formerly of Auckland indie outfit Collapsing Cities. The 5 track self-titled EP is described by Lunavela as Shoegaze House, which is a genre I have never heard of before.
Read More...
Album Review: Local Musicians Music Vol 4. Compilation Review
30 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
This is a grassroots original music journey that has been growing from strength to strength while gaining notoriety along the way. Starting in a small music office in the back-roads of Thames in 2014, Shirley Howe (aka LA Thompson) came up with a “little idea”.
Read More...
Eb & Sparrow - Album Review - Seeing Things
14 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
Eb & Sparrow could be described as Alternative Country, or as front person Emily Lamb has described it “New Folk”. “The resulting ‘new-folk’ encompasses a huge variety of sounds and genres, with roots in folk, country and Americana”.
Read More...
EP Review: So Below
09 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
I came across a description of Madeline North (AKA So Below), which was very fitting, “A mysterious Goth Pop chanteuse”. I myself have previously reviewed her work and described her as an “enigmatic songbird”.
Read More...
Tom Lee-Richards - Mini LP Review: Out of the Oddness
05 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
Tom Lee-Richards is a solo artist described as an emotive storyteller. A native of Whangarei, he began his musical journey at the young age of 4.
Read More...
April Fish - Album Review: An Alien Invaded The Circus
28 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I rubbed my hands together in glee at the thought of reviewing this CD. Sometimes something so unique and strangely alluring beckons you to it which you are powerless to resist.
Read More...
Julia Deans - Single Review: Clandestine
26 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
One of New Zealand’s most well known 'rock chicks', Julia Deans has released a stunning new single called Clandestine. After performing live performances on both Jesse Mulligan's National Radio Show and Russell Brown's Orcon Sessions at Golden Dawn, Julia was inundated with requests from fans to release the song.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FREAKY FRIDAY
    Lil Dicky feat. Chris Brown
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
  • PSYCHO
    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • FRIENDS
    Marshmello And Anne Marie
  • CALL OUT MY NAME
    The Weeknd
  • SAD!
    Xxxtentacion
  • MINE
    Bazzi
  • THESE DAYS
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem