28 Apr 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dave Dobbyn - Album Review: Slice Of Heaven - 40 Years Of Hits

13 Apr 2017 // A review by Corinner

How does one begin to review an album which has been the soundtrack of our youth? The backdrop to collective memories of a nation? An album which spans ten decades of well known and loved hits, songs written by a man who in 2001 received a Lifetime Achievement Award by the New Zealand Music Industry. A recording artist, musician and songwriter, a treasure of the nation. How shall I review this? Starting with a warning - this Album may take you on an emotional journey down memory lane. Listener beware!. 

This album of 21 tracks has been released to coincide with his nationwide tour which kicks off on the 12th of April in Whangarei. The tour sees two weeks of performances not only in our major cities, but also provincial locations up and down the country.

The opening track Slice Of Heaven featuring Herbs, is one of two songs on this album he recorded for the soundtrack on the 1986 Footrot Flats film: A Dogs Tale, the other being You Oughta Be In Love. Misty eyed memory triggers right there.

There are a couple of tracks harking right back to Th' Dudes (Be Mine Tonight), winner of single of the year at the National Music Awards in 1979, and DD Smash (Magic What She Do), history making songs which are still no doubt played on jukeboxes in pubs all over NZ and more than likely Australia too. It would be some years later which he launched his solo career, with the majority of 40 Years Of Hits being a testament to Dobbyn's talent as a lone musical artist and songwriter.

This album and tour comes hot on the heels of Dave's 10th studio album as a solo artist, Harmony House, which was released in 2016, and indicates that he has no intention of slowing down. 

This is not only background music of our lives, this is music to our cherished movies, music we loved to and more then likely cried to, songs we danced to and sang to, music that has inspired pride of a nation and also some debate. Songs which has seen collaborations with some of New Zealand's biggest musical artists and songs which have been covered by bands for decades.

Thank you Dave for giving us this iconic Kiwi soundtrack of our lives.

Released April 6th 2017 by Sony Music New Zealand.

About Dave Dobbyn

Dave Dobbyn is regarded as a national treasure in New Zealand. Wherever Kiwis gather around the world, it is likely to be songs by Dave Dobbyn they sing when thinking of home.

In 2001, after almost 30 years as a musician and songwriter, Dobbyn was given a rare, lifetime achievement award by the New Zealand recording industry. Instead of a speech, the managing director of Sony New Zealand just read out a long list of song titles - Beside You, Be Mine Tonight, Language, Outlook for Thursday, Loyal, Whaling, Kingdom Come, It Dawned On Me, Guilty, Devil You Know, Slice of Heaven, Magic What She Do, Oughta Be in Love

These songs, written by Dobbyn, had moved people throughout the country. They were songs they had danced to with their first lover, songs they have married to, songs that made them laugh and cry or even played when burying their loved ones.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dave Dobbyn

Releases

Beside You
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Anotherland
Year: 2008
Type: Album
Available Light
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Hopetown
Year: 2000
Type: Album
Overnight Success
Year: 1999
Type: Album
The Islander
Year: 1998
Type: Album
Twist
Year: 1994
Type: Album
Lament For The Numb
Year: 1993
Type: Album
Loyal
Year: 1988
Type: Album
Footrot Flats
Year: 1986
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinner

Raw Collective - Single Review: Smash The Grips
22 Apr 2017 // by Corinner
I had no idea what to expect with this song, I knew it was Hip-Hop from a band in Wellington. Boy was I wrong, it was so much more than that, it had depth and layers galore.
Read More...
Bryony Matthews - Album Review: Little Queen
10 Apr 2017 // by Corinner
Christchurch based singer songwriter Bryony Mathews is on the brink of releasing Little Queen, a folk-pop album comprising of nine tracks with a largely upbeat tempo, coinciding with thoughtful compassionate lyrics. The CD contains a booklet and the art is sweet and uncomplicated, capturing the title of her debut album perfectly.
Read More...
Madam Tsunami - Album Review: Long Way From Home
06 Apr 2017 // by Corinner
I have a wee soft spot for Celtic music, so I was excited to get an opportunity to review Long Way From Home by Madam Tsunami. This album did not disappoint.
Read More...
The DeSotos - Album Review: Shadow of Love
01 Apr 2017 // by Corinner
NZ Country / Blues rocker heavyweights, Paul Gurney with The DeSotos have teamed up to produce their latest album, Shadow of Love. Reminiscent of The Warratahs, with a touch of America and a heavy sprinkling of Neil Young, the warm comforting Americana backdrop which I grew up with exuding from the vinyl in the living room.
Read More...
Lake South - Album Review: If You're Born On An Island The Ocean Heals You
19 Mar 2017 // by Corinner
Lake South, former of Urbantramper and VNZMA critics choice finalist of 2014 has launched a solo project classified as "sentimental synth - pop"  which is perhaps bordering on Indie-pop. As I have a habit of doing, I shall start by mentioning the the album cover, it jumped out at me from Lake Souths Bandcamp page, the vision was nothing short of hypnotic not pretentious, but emanating a raw emotive vibe.
Read More...
The Map Room - Album Review: Weatherless
10 Mar 2017 // by Corinner
As soon as I saw the CD  the album artwork jumped out at me, a brilliant vivid and vibrant display reflecting the bands unconventional, slightly bohemian yet spiritually uplifting sound. The artwork is the creation of UK artist Mathew Cooper (Caribou, Franz Ferdinand), it certainly is a visual treat.
Read More...
Li'l Chuck the One Man Skiffle Machine - Album Review: Utility Blues
27 Feb 2017 // by Corinner
As I opened the package containing this CD, I saw Li'l Chuck peering out at me from the back of a ute with his instruments surrounding him and the beautiful Port Hills of Christchurch in the background.  The compact disc case was a well put together package containing a wee booklet inside the front cover, with the lyrics to his music and accompanying photography.
Read More...
Julie Lamb - Album Review: Ordinary Days
14 Feb 2017 // by Corinner
Ordinary Days - launch date 11 March 2017. Julie Lamb (Band) is a 11 piece funky - blues rock band "with a 70's vibe", from Wellington.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • HUMBLE.
    Kendrick Lamar
  • SHAPE OF YOU
    Ed Sheeran
  • OPTIONS
    Pitbull feat. Stephen Marley
  • GALWAY GIRL
    Ed Sheeran
  • THAT'S WHAT I LIKE
    Bruno Mars
  • PASSIONFRUIT
    Drake
  • SOMETHING JUST LIKE THIS
    The Chainsmokers And Coldplay
  • SLIDE
    Calvin Harris feat. Frank Ocean And Migos
  • DNA.
    Kendrick Lamar
  • STAY
    Zedd And Alessia Cara
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem