25 Jun 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dave Dobbyn - Album Review: Slice Of Heaven - 40 Years Of Hits

13 Apr 2017 // A review by Corinner

How does one begin to review an album which has been the soundtrack of our youth? The backdrop to collective memories of a nation? An album which spans ten decades of well known and loved hits, songs written by a man who in 2001 received a Lifetime Achievement Award by the New Zealand Music Industry. A recording artist, musician and songwriter, a treasure of the nation. How shall I review this? Starting with a warning - this Album may take you on an emotional journey down memory lane. Listener beware!. 

This album of 21 tracks has been released to coincide with his nationwide tour which kicks off on the 12th of April in Whangarei. The tour sees two weeks of performances not only in our major cities, but also provincial locations up and down the country.

The opening track Slice Of Heaven featuring Herbs, is one of two songs on this album he recorded for the soundtrack on the 1986 Footrot Flats film: A Dogs Tale, the other being You Oughta Be In Love. Misty eyed memory triggers right there.

There are a couple of tracks harking right back to Th' Dudes (Be Mine Tonight), winner of single of the year at the National Music Awards in 1979, and DD Smash (Magic What She Do), history making songs which are still no doubt played on jukeboxes in pubs all over NZ and more than likely Australia too. It would be some years later which he launched his solo career, with the majority of 40 Years Of Hits being a testament to Dobbyn's talent as a lone musical artist and songwriter.

This album and tour comes hot on the heels of Dave's 10th studio album as a solo artist, Harmony House, which was released in 2016, and indicates that he has no intention of slowing down. 

This is not only background music of our lives, this is music to our cherished movies, music we loved to and more then likely cried to, songs we danced to and sang to, music that has inspired pride of a nation and also some debate. Songs which has seen collaborations with some of New Zealand's biggest musical artists and songs which have been covered by bands for decades.

Thank you Dave for giving us this iconic Kiwi soundtrack of our lives.

Released April 6th 2017 by Sony Music New Zealand.

About Dave Dobbyn

Dave Dobbyn is regarded as a national treasure in New Zealand. Wherever Kiwis gather around the world, it is likely to be songs by Dave Dobbyn they sing when thinking of home.

In 2001, after almost 30 years as a musician and songwriter, Dobbyn was given a rare, lifetime achievement award by the New Zealand recording industry. Instead of a speech, the managing director of Sony New Zealand just read out a long list of song titles - Beside You, Be Mine Tonight, Language, Outlook for Thursday, Loyal, Whaling, Kingdom Come, It Dawned On Me, Guilty, Devil You Know, Slice of Heaven, Magic What She Do, Oughta Be in Love …

These songs, written by Dobbyn, had moved people throughout the country. They were songs they had danced to with their first lover, songs they have married to, songs that made them laugh and cry or even played when burying their loved ones.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dave Dobbyn

Releases

Beside You
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Anotherland
Year: 2008
Type: Album
Available Light
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Hopetown
Year: 2000
Type: Album
Overnight Success
Year: 1999
Type: Album
The Islander
Year: 1998
Type: Album
Twist
Year: 1994
Type: Album
Lament For The Numb
Year: 1993
Type: Album
Loyal
Year: 1988
Type: Album
Footrot Flats
Year: 1986
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinner

Sean Bodley - Album Review: Genesis
23 Jun 2017 // by Corinner
I am not a Musician, I photograph them, I write about them and I have a heap of Friends who are them, however I know what I know and I know what I like and I have 40 plus years of music listening experience so I am aware when something good drops into my inbox (or in my case from time to time a magical letterbox which seems to conjure up lovely shiny new CD's containing even lovelier shiner brand new music). I really am pretty darn lucky to have this enchanted receptacle of musical goodies at our front gate.
Read More...
Sub Dude - Album Review: Sister Something
13 Jun 2017 // by Corinner
Any background detective work I did on Sub Dude came up with nothing, I know they are from Christchurch, but that is all I could find, even the band's Facebook page gives them an aura of aloofness and mystery. The music video I was given to watch did not help, it featured rather young men playing in a backyard band, OK was this them?
Read More...
Killing Bear - Single Review: Centipede
08 Jun 2017 // by Corinner
Killing Bear, the experimental rock / alternative rock / cool music 4 piece band from the small seaside community of Pukerua Bay is once again thrilling us with conscious – expanding, mind bending lyrics and sounds “psychedelic futuristic music from the past from another planet”. This trippy little number is titled Centipede, which could be a creature “from the future in a post-apocalyptic world”, or it could just be a song about a centipede.
Read More...
Barker - Album Review: Sleepwalking
04 Jun 2017 // by Corinner
I am going to get this out of the way from the start, if you type Johnny Barker's name into Google, it will almost likely be linked to “Joey Henderson the Ferndale strangler" or “formally the Ferndale strangler” (let me make this perfectly clear, this is Barker's character he played on Shortland Street from 2007-08, not actually him). Director of film and TV (including currently Jono and Ben), winner of 2 48 hour short film festivals and actor, did I mention the man of many creative talents from Auckland is also a musician?
Read More...
Album Review: The Eternal Sea
02 Jun 2017 // by Corinner
I am like a magpie when it comes to bright colours and cool graphics, so in the first instance this is what lured me towards The Eternal Sea. Incredible album art that jumps out at you and draws you in.
Read More...
Imagine This - Single Review: That Feeling
26 May 2017 // by Corinner
Auckland Rapper, Songwriter and Producer Imagine This has released his latest single That Feeling from his up coming album The Next Wave. Described as "A perfect blend of Middle Eastern traditional instruments and modern 808-influenced electronica", this is a creative track with an International flavour that flows beautifully (almost trance like), but with rich bass and beats which would be at home on BBC Radio 1 (he has been a regular on their playlist).
Read More...
Gig Review: Coridian and Guests @ Totara St, Mt Maunganui - 19/05/2017
20 May 2017 // by Corinner
To start of with I was running a tad late to the gig last night and feeling a tad discomboulated as I did not get there to check the lighting, take my photo of the drum kit etc. I ran through the front door quickly introducing myself practically skidding across the dance floor to the stage only to arrive at Legion of Dissent's feet for the very last note played.
Read More...
Coridian - Single Review: Reflections
15 May 2017 // by Corinner
So by now a whole bunch of you probably know who Coridan are, or at least heard a few of their songs but for those of you wondering who the heck I am going on about, they are a tight alternative - progressive rock band from Auckland. I was pretty excited to get the chance to review their latest single, Reflections.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DESPACITO (REMIX)
    Luis Fonsi And Daddy Yankee feat. Justin Bieber
  • I'M THE ONE
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance The Rapper And Lil Wayne
  • HUMBLE.
    Kendrick Lamar
  • SHAPE OF YOU
    Ed Sheeran
  • 2U
    David Guetta feat. Justin Bieber
  • ATTENTION
    Charlie Puth
  • STRIP THAT DOWN
    Liam Payne feat. Quavo
  • THUNDER
    Imagine Dragons
  • MALIBU
    Miley Cyrus
  • THERE'S NOTHING HOLDIN' ME BACK
    Shawn Mendes
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem