22 Oct 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dave Dobbyn - Album Review: Slice Of Heaven - 40 Years Of Hits

13 Apr 2017 // A review by Corinner

How does one begin to review an album which has been the soundtrack of our youth? The backdrop to collective memories of a nation? An album which spans ten decades of well known and loved hits, songs written by a man who in 2001 received a Lifetime Achievement Award by the New Zealand Music Industry. A recording artist, musician and songwriter, a treasure of the nation. How shall I review this? Starting with a warning - this Album may take you on an emotional journey down memory lane. Listener beware!. 

This album of 21 tracks has been released to coincide with his nationwide tour which kicks off on the 12th of April in Whangarei. The tour sees two weeks of performances not only in our major cities, but also provincial locations up and down the country.

The opening track Slice Of Heaven featuring Herbs, is one of two songs on this album he recorded for the soundtrack on the 1986 Footrot Flats film: A Dogs Tale, the other being You Oughta Be In Love. Misty eyed memory triggers right there.

There are a couple of tracks harking right back to Th' Dudes (Be Mine Tonight), winner of single of the year at the National Music Awards in 1979, and DD Smash (Magic What She Do), history making songs which are still no doubt played on jukeboxes in pubs all over NZ and more than likely Australia too. It would be some years later which he launched his solo career, with the majority of 40 Years Of Hits being a testament to Dobbyn's talent as a lone musical artist and songwriter.

This album and tour comes hot on the heels of Dave's 10th studio album as a solo artist, Harmony House, which was released in 2016, and indicates that he has no intention of slowing down. 

This is not only background music of our lives, this is music to our cherished movies, music we loved to and more then likely cried to, songs we danced to and sang to, music that has inspired pride of a nation and also some debate. Songs which has seen collaborations with some of New Zealand's biggest musical artists and songs which have been covered by bands for decades.

Thank you Dave for giving us this iconic Kiwi soundtrack of our lives.

Released April 6th 2017 by Sony Music New Zealand.

About Dave Dobbyn

Dave Dobbyn is regarded as a national treasure in New Zealand. Wherever Kiwis gather around the world, it is likely to be songs by Dave Dobbyn they sing when thinking of home.

In 2001, after almost 30 years as a musician and songwriter, Dobbyn was given a rare, lifetime achievement award by the New Zealand recording industry. Instead of a speech, the managing director of Sony New Zealand just read out a long list of song titles - Beside You, Be Mine Tonight, Language, Outlook for Thursday, Loyal, Whaling, Kingdom Come, It Dawned On Me, Guilty, Devil You Know, Slice of Heaven, Magic What She Do, Oughta Be in Love Ö

These songs, written by Dobbyn, had moved people throughout the country. They were songs they had danced to with their first lover, songs they have married to, songs that made them laugh and cry or even played when burying their loved ones.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dave Dobbyn

Releases

Beside You
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Anotherland
Year: 2008
Type: Album
Available Light
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Hopetown
Year: 2000
Type: Album
Overnight Success
Year: 1999
Type: Album
The Islander
Year: 1998
Type: Album
Twist
Year: 1994
Type: Album
Lament For The Numb
Year: 1993
Type: Album
Loyal
Year: 1988
Type: Album
Footrot Flats
Year: 1986
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinner

Parabola West - EP Review: Purity Of Weakness
20 Oct 2017 // by Corinner
If ever there were a musical artist whose name sparked curiosity, than Parabola West (real name Amy) is it. Sounds somewhat like a complicated scientific description of something or a character from Westside, fortunately it is the former.
Read More...
Kimbra - Single Review: Everybody Knows
10 Oct 2017 // by Corinner
When I hear Kimbra, I still hear Somebody That I Used To Know, a song which Gotye made a killing on in 2012 and shot our lovely kiwi Kimbra from Hamilton into the musical stratosphere. I still hear it because I played it over and over again until I drove myself mad or my cats bonkers, one of the two.
Read More...
Knightshade - Single Review: U Say
25 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Knightshade the iconic rock / hard rock kiwi band that formed in Te Puke back in the early 1980ís, is making a comeback with their new single U Say which is due for release 29/09/17. This is the first of four delicious new songs.
Read More...
Biobird - EP Review: Tribes
19 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Tribes is the debut EP from Biobird, it is inspired by all things bass. If my investigative skills are on form, Biobird is Caleb Bird, based in the Waikato and handy on the mixing desk.
Read More...
The Dirty Sweets - Single/Video Review: Kick Down The Door
12 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Bogan dream band, The Dirty Sweets have released a brand new single Kick Down The Door, which is accompanied by a video featuring 1970ís NZ skateboarding footage from the documentary No More Heroes ďA tribute to nostalgia, the '70s & "the asphalt desperadoes of Aotearoa who took skateboarding from a fun pursuit into a full-blown national phenomenon. Uses rare photos, a punk rock/NZ soundtrack.
Read More...
Killing Bear - Single Review: Lost In Otaki
08 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
My friends from Pukerua Bay have once again lured me with their psychedelic, futuristic music from the past... from another planet, and seduced me into reviewing the latest cool single with the promise of mind-bending, partytastic sounds.
Read More...
Imagine This - Single/Video Review: Like A Game Feat. King Kapisi
06 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Imagine This has once again demonstrated why he is blazing a highly productive music trail by teaming up with one of New Zealandís top Hip-Hop recording artists King Kapisi, to;make his latest single Like A Game. The prolific collaborator hailing from Auckland with a busy International touring presence has proved again that his highly creative and productive work ethic is paying off.
Read More...
Reb Fountain - Album Review: Little Arrows
05 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
My hope is that I can do this album justice and give it the respect it deserves. This has been an emotional journey for Reb Fountain.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • YOUNG, DUMB AND BROKE
    Khalid
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • TOO GOOD AT GOODBYES
    Sam Smith
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
  • WHAT LOVERS DO
    Maroon 5 feat. SZA
  • FEEL IT STILL
    Portugal. The Man
  • WHAT ABOUT US
    Pink
  • DUSK TILL DAWN
    ZAYN feat. Sia
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem