18 Feb 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dave Dobbyn - Album Review: Slice Of Heaven - 40 Years Of Hits

13 Apr 2017 // A review by Corinner

How does one begin to review an album which has been the soundtrack of our youth? The backdrop to collective memories of a nation? An album which spans ten decades of well known and loved hits, songs written by a man who in 2001 received a Lifetime Achievement Award by the New Zealand Music Industry. A recording artist, musician and songwriter, a treasure of the nation. How shall I review this? Starting with a warning - this Album may take you on an emotional journey down memory lane. Listener beware!. 

This album of 21 tracks has been released to coincide with his nationwide tour which kicks off on the 12th of April in Whangarei. The tour sees two weeks of performances not only in our major cities, but also provincial locations up and down the country.

The opening track Slice Of Heaven featuring Herbs, is one of two songs on this album he recorded for the soundtrack on the 1986 Footrot Flats film: A Dogs Tale, the other being You Oughta Be In Love. Misty eyed memory triggers right there.

There are a couple of tracks harking right back to Th' Dudes (Be Mine Tonight), winner of single of the year at the National Music Awards in 1979, and DD Smash (Magic What She Do), history making songs which are still no doubt played on jukeboxes in pubs all over NZ and more than likely Australia too. It would be some years later which he launched his solo career, with the majority of 40 Years Of Hits being a testament to Dobbyn's talent as a lone musical artist and songwriter.

This album and tour comes hot on the heels of Dave's 10th studio album as a solo artist, Harmony House, which was released in 2016, and indicates that he has no intention of slowing down. 

This is not only background music of our lives, this is music to our cherished movies, music we loved to and more then likely cried to, songs we danced to and sang to, music that has inspired pride of a nation and also some debate. Songs which has seen collaborations with some of New Zealand's biggest musical artists and songs which have been covered by bands for decades.

Thank you Dave for giving us this iconic Kiwi soundtrack of our lives.

Released April 6th 2017 by Sony Music New Zealand.

About Dave Dobbyn

Dave Dobbyn is regarded as a national treasure in New Zealand. Wherever Kiwis gather around the world, it is likely to be songs by Dave Dobbyn they sing when thinking of home.

In 2001, after almost 30 years as a musician and songwriter, Dobbyn was given a rare, lifetime achievement award by the New Zealand recording industry. Instead of a speech, the managing director of Sony New Zealand just read out a long list of song titles - Beside You, Be Mine Tonight, Language, Outlook for Thursday, Loyal, Whaling, Kingdom Come, It Dawned On Me, Guilty, Devil You Know, Slice of Heaven, Magic What She Do, Oughta Be in Love …

These songs, written by Dobbyn, had moved people throughout the country. They were songs they had danced to with their first lover, songs they have married to, songs that made them laugh and cry or even played when burying their loved ones.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dave Dobbyn

Releases

Beside You
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Anotherland
Year: 2008
Type: Album
Available Light
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Hopetown
Year: 2000
Type: Album
Overnight Success
Year: 1999
Type: Album
The Islander
Year: 1998
Type: Album
Twist
Year: 1994
Type: Album
Lament For The Numb
Year: 1993
Type: Album
Loyal
Year: 1988
Type: Album
Footrot Flats
Year: 1986
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinner

EDY Feat. Chris Bates - Single review: Here 4 U
16 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I was slightly perplexed about reviewing the single release Here 4 U by EDY featuring Chris Bates, simply because I could not figure out whom EDY was and I am sure the Chris Bates on Spotify could not be the same Chris Bates I was hearing. Slyly diverting away from the link I was given all in the name of research is not always wise.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Binary
08 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
All I have to go on David Sutton is that he “writes and records songs”, which is handy to know as I am reviewing his latest 10 track album titled Binary. I had a tip off that his music is somewhat quirky and I would enjoy it.
Read More...
Chores - Single Review: Surrender
25 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Chores are a multi-talented duo from Auckland specialising in electronic music production, song writing and DJ’ing. They have been described as “one of the most exciting new acts this side of the equator”.
Read More...
Jacquie Walters - Album Review: Light For A Broken World
17 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Christchurch born and bred, Jacquie Walters recorded her first song Bob Dylan’s Dream when she was six years old.  Singing Dylan and Joan Baez songs with her parents from an early age was her introduction to singer-songwriters.
Read More...
Psyrok - EP Review: Omega Point Blank
10 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Psyrok is a cross-genre electronica producer and songwriter based in Wellington. He also runs his own micro-label Psylince Records.
Read More...
Gig Review: Sol3 Mio @ Wharepai Domain, Tauranga - 6/01/2018
07 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
It was a wet and wild weekend in Tauranga, wild enough for even the most intrepid big name International artist to delay a concert for a few days, so it was not without trepidation that I kept an eye on the skies as the hours ticked ever closer to Sol3 Mio kicking off. I wouldn't have been overly worried had I only had to review the concert, but I also had to photograph, in the standard “three songs and your out of the pit” time frame.
Read More...
Emma G - Album Review: Taking Flight
30 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
On the back of her whirlwind All Roads Lead To Home tour of New Zealand, Emma Ghaemmaghamy, or Emma G as she is also known, has recently released her debut solo album Taking Flight. Kiwi born but now based in Washington DC, Emma works full time as a street performer and playing music around clubs, bars and community events.
Read More...
Jonathan Densem - Album Review: I’m Saying It Now
20 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
Jonathan Densem - Cantabrian singer, composer, musician and teacher has launched his album I’m Saying It Now. It is an album of storytelling and beautiful melody.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • ALL THE STARS
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • THESE DAYS
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • IDGAF
    Dua Lipa
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • MINE
    Bazzi
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • NEVER BE THE SAME
    Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem