26 Sep 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

MarineVille - Album Review: Penguins Ate My Chips

05 Feb 2017 // A review by Corinner
I simply could not go past the name of this album without wanting to give it a listen, something about penguins eating chips appealed to me.

First off, as a band photographer my eyes immediately went to the album cover, it took me back to the days when the Young Ones ruled and I picked my music based on the album art and band name, the best way to discover new music!

Featuring a series of twelve short upbeat songs, Penguins Ate My Chips is the 4th album from New Zealand Alt-Rock quartet MarineVille. Three quarters of the band hail from Dunedin where most of the band are now based, however sessions for Penguins Ate My Chips began in the band's Wellington warehouse in 2012.

The first track, 75 Watts Frosted, launches straight into a fast paced rocking number which has tones of The Doors. Break on Through (To the Other Side) sprung to mind.

Moving on, the second track Wax Tears mellows down slightly almost reminiscent of the alternative rock stylings of Poi Dog Pondering. This was my favourite number on the album, it captured my imagination with an interesting story.

This album has some clever song writing, paired with fast guitar. The lyrics are an interesting eclectic mix of songs, which tell stories that have evolved over time, and has been inspired by the bands various experiences at gigs, life events, football and a trip to Otago Museum.

Penguins Ate My Chips has a unique Kiwi Punk underground flavour, and in my opinion is well worth a listen to.

About MarineVille

MarineVille formed in mid-1999. The line-up was Mark Williams (guitar), Adam Ring (guitar) and Simon Waterfield (drums). Over the next 18 months the band consolidated around Mark's songs and recorded the album 'Ready for the Dance' with bass players Brett Garrity and John Douglas. It was engineered by good pal David Coventry (La Gloria).

Nationwide tours with Kitset and Heka followed, as did live-to-airs, a live film soundtrack, several aborted videoís (with one success), and compilation appearances in NZ, Australia and USA. A revolving series of band members puzzled everyone including us, but the current line-up of Mark Williams, John Douglas, Geoffrey Trail and David Hall was established early 2002.

Ex-member John Douglas (bass) now performs with The Accelerants.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for MarineVille

Releases

Penguins Ate My Chips
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Diving The Wreck
Year: 2004
Type: Album
Ready For The Dance
Year: 2001
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinner

Knightshade - Single Review: U Say
25 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Knightshade the iconic rock / hard rock kiwi band that formed in Te Puke back in the early 1980ís, is making a comeback with their new single U Say which is due for release 29/09/17. This is the first of four delicious new songs.
Read More...
Biobird - EP Review: Tribes
19 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Tribes is the debut EP from Biobird, it is inspired by all things bass. If my investigative skills are on form, Biobird is Caleb Bird, based in the Waikato and handy on the mixing desk.
Read More...
The Dirty Sweets - Single/Video Review: Kick Down The Door
12 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Bogan dream band, The Dirty Sweets have released a brand new single Kick Down The Door, which is accompanied by a video featuring 1970ís NZ skateboarding footage from the documentary No More Heroes ďA tribute to nostalgia, the '70s & "the asphalt desperadoes of Aotearoa who took skateboarding from a fun pursuit into a full-blown national phenomenon. Uses rare photos, a punk rock/NZ soundtrack.
Read More...
Killing Bear - Single Review: Lost In Otaki
08 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
My friends from Pukerua Bay have once again lured me with their psychedelic, futuristic music from the past... from another planet, and seduced me into reviewing the latest cool single with the promise of mind-bending, partytastic sounds.
Read More...
Imagine This - Single/Video Review: Like A Game Feat. King Kapisi
06 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Imagine This has once again demonstrated why he is blazing a highly productive music trail by teaming up with one of New Zealandís top Hip-Hop recording artists King Kapisi, to;make his latest single Like A Game. The prolific collaborator hailing from Auckland with a busy International touring presence has proved again that his highly creative and productive work ethic is paying off.
Read More...
Reb Fountain - Album Review: Little Arrows
05 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
My hope is that I can do this album justice and give it the respect it deserves. This has been an emotional journey for Reb Fountain.
Read More...
The Brian Hatcher Band - Album Review: Trouble & Worry
01 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Brian Hatcher, Craig Hatcher and Jarrod Hooper make up The Brian Hatcher Band, a three piece from New Plymouth with a rock and blues soul. After an extensive time in the New Zealand music scene, guitarist Brian Hatcher has completed Trouble & Worry, his long awaited first album.
Read More...
Yumi Zouma - Single Review: Depths (Pt. 1)
23 Aug 2017 // by Corinner
Yumi Zouma are a four piece synth-pop powerhouse from Christchurch. The music they produce is electronica mixed with pop.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • YOUNG, DUMB AND BROKE
    Khalid
  • TOO GOOD AT GOODBYES
    Sam Smith
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • 1-800-273-8255
    Logic feat. Alessia Cara And Khalid
  • GLORIOUS
    Macklemore feat. Skylar Grey
  • SORRY NOT SORRY
    Demi Lovato
  • LOOK WHAT YOU MADE ME DO
    Taylor Swift
  • FRIENDS
    Justin Bieber And BloodPop
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem