18 Mar 2018

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

MarineVille - Album Review: Penguins Ate My Chips

05 Feb 2017 // A review by Corinner
I simply could not go past the name of this album without wanting to give it a listen, something about penguins eating chips appealed to me.

First off, as a band photographer my eyes immediately went to the album cover, it took me back to the days when the Young Ones ruled and I picked my music based on the album art and band name, the best way to discover new music!

Featuring a series of twelve short upbeat songs, Penguins Ate My Chips is the 4th album from New Zealand Alt-Rock quartet MarineVille. Three quarters of the band hail from Dunedin where most of the band are now based, however sessions for Penguins Ate My Chips began in the band's Wellington warehouse in 2012.

The first track, 75 Watts Frosted, launches straight into a fast paced rocking number which has tones of The Doors. Break on Through (To the Other Side) sprung to mind.

Moving on, the second track Wax Tears mellows down slightly almost reminiscent of the alternative rock stylings of Poi Dog Pondering. This was my favourite number on the album, it captured my imagination with an interesting story.

This album has some clever song writing, paired with fast guitar. The lyrics are an interesting eclectic mix of songs, which tell stories that have evolved over time, and has been inspired by the bands various experiences at gigs, life events, football and a trip to Otago Museum.

Penguins Ate My Chips has a unique Kiwi Punk underground flavour, and in my opinion is well worth a listen to.

About MarineVille

MarineVille formed in mid-1999. The line-up was Mark Williams (guitar), Adam Ring (guitar) and Simon Waterfield (drums). Over the next 18 months the band consolidated around Mark's songs and recorded the album 'Ready for the Dance' with bass players Brett Garrity and John Douglas. It was engineered by good pal David Coventry (La Gloria).

Nationwide tours with Kitset and Heka followed, as did live-to-airs, a live film soundtrack, several aborted video’s (with one success), and compilation appearances in NZ, Australia and USA. A revolving series of band members puzzled everyone including us, but the current line-up of Mark Williams, John Douglas, Geoffrey Trail and David Hall was established early 2002.

Ex-member John Douglas (bass) now performs with The Accelerants.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for MarineVille


Penguins Ate My Chips
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Diving The Wreck
Year: 2004
Type: Album
Ready For The Dance
Year: 2001
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinner

Eb & Sparrow - Album Review - Seeing Things
14 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
Eb & Sparrow could be described as Alternative Country, or as front person Emily Lamb has described it “New Folk”. “The resulting ‘new-folk’ encompasses a huge variety of sounds and genres, with roots in folk, country and Americana”.
EP Review: So Below
09 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
I came across a description of Madeline North (AKA So Below), which was very fitting, “A mysterious Goth Pop chanteuse”. I myself have previously reviewed her work and described her as an “enigmatic songbird”.
Tom Lee-Richards - Mini LP Review: Out of the Oddness
05 Mar 2018 // by Corinner
Tom Lee-Richards is a solo artist described as an emotive storyteller. A native of Whangarei, he began his musical journey at the young age of 4.
April Fish - Album Review: An Alien Invaded The Circus
28 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I rubbed my hands together in glee at the thought of reviewing this CD. Sometimes something so unique and strangely alluring beckons you to it which you are powerless to resist.
Julia Deans - Single Review: Clandestine
26 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
One of New Zealand’s most well known 'rock chicks', Julia Deans has released a stunning new single called Clandestine. After performing live performances on both Jesse Mulligan's National Radio Show and Russell Brown's Orcon Sessions at Golden Dawn, Julia was inundated with requests from fans to release the song.
Summer Underground Tour @ Totara St, Mt Maunganui - 23/02/2018
24 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
Venturing back into Totara St for the first rock gig of 2018, was like revisiting a familiar friend. A sense of dejavu engulfed me as I was greeted by Coridian at the door, but something was missing.
EP Review: Callum Gentleman
21 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I must confess, I have a soft spot for Callum Gentleman, having seen him perform several times at my local intimate gig venue, which is a beacon of light for artists, poets and storytellers, the perfect environment for blues / folk noir (with the odd dash of country). A place where the Nick Caves of NZ can come and be heard by a very appreciative audience.
EDY Feat. Chris Bates - Single review: Here 4 U
16 Feb 2018 // by Corinner
I was slightly perplexed about reviewing the single release Here 4 U by EDY featuring Chris Bates, simply because I could not figure out whom EDY was and I am sure the Chris Bates on Spotify could not be the same Chris Bates I was hearing. Slyly diverting away from the link I was given all in the name of research is not always wise.
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
    Khalid And Normani
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • MINE
    Dua Lipa
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
    Marshmello And Anne Marie
    Zedd, Maren Morris And Grey
  • SAD!
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem