19 Nov 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

MarineVille - Album Review: Penguins Ate My Chips

05 Feb 2017 // A review by Corinner
I simply could not go past the name of this album without wanting to give it a listen, something about penguins eating chips appealed to me.

First off, as a band photographer my eyes immediately went to the album cover, it took me back to the days when the Young Ones ruled and I picked my music based on the album art and band name, the best way to discover new music!

Featuring a series of twelve short upbeat songs, Penguins Ate My Chips is the 4th album from New Zealand Alt-Rock quartet MarineVille. Three quarters of the band hail from Dunedin where most of the band are now based, however sessions for Penguins Ate My Chips began in the band's Wellington warehouse in 2012.

The first track, 75 Watts Frosted, launches straight into a fast paced rocking number which has tones of The Doors. Break on Through (To the Other Side) sprung to mind.

Moving on, the second track Wax Tears mellows down slightly almost reminiscent of the alternative rock stylings of Poi Dog Pondering. This was my favourite number on the album, it captured my imagination with an interesting story.

This album has some clever song writing, paired with fast guitar. The lyrics are an interesting eclectic mix of songs, which tell stories that have evolved over time, and has been inspired by the bands various experiences at gigs, life events, football and a trip to Otago Museum.

Penguins Ate My Chips has a unique Kiwi Punk underground flavour, and in my opinion is well worth a listen to.

About MarineVille

MarineVille formed in mid-1999. The line-up was Mark Williams (guitar), Adam Ring (guitar) and Simon Waterfield (drums). Over the next 18 months the band consolidated around Mark's songs and recorded the album 'Ready for the Dance' with bass players Brett Garrity and John Douglas. It was engineered by good pal David Coventry (La Gloria).

Nationwide tours with Kitset and Heka followed, as did live-to-airs, a live film soundtrack, several aborted video’s (with one success), and compilation appearances in NZ, Australia and USA. A revolving series of band members puzzled everyone including us, but the current line-up of Mark Williams, John Douglas, Geoffrey Trail and David Hall was established early 2002.

Ex-member John Douglas (bass) now performs with The Accelerants.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for MarineVille

Releases

Penguins Ate My Chips
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Diving The Wreck
Year: 2004
Type: Album
Ready For The Dance
Year: 2001
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinner

So Below - Single Review: Close
14 Nov 2017 // by Corinner
New Zealand's very own enigmatic songbird, Madeline North AKA So Below has released a new single called Close. An upbeat lively track accompanied by intense poetic lyrics which don’t match.
Read More...
Yumi Zouma - Album Review: Willowbank
02 Nov 2017 // by Corinner
I have crossed the path of Yumi Zouma once before when I reviewed their first track on this album which was released as a single back in August. Willowbank is the sophomore album to Yoncalla, their debut originals LP.
Read More...
Great North - Album Review: The Golden Age
27 Oct 2017 // by Corinner
You know you have stumbled onto a good thing, when you come across a band who reckons that their songs were delivered to them by drunken angels and the music video involves blowing loads of beautifully crafted cakes from the Australian Women’s Weekly Cake Book to smithereens.  “Nearly every 90's child in New Zealand would have had a cake from that cookbook or been at a party where one was served.
Read More...
Parabola West - EP Review: Purity Of Weakness
20 Oct 2017 // by Corinner
If ever there were a musical artist whose name sparked curiosity, than Parabola West (real name Amy) is it. Sounds somewhat like a complicated scientific description of something or a character from Westside, fortunately it is the former.
Read More...
Kimbra - Single Review: Everybody Knows
10 Oct 2017 // by Corinner
When I hear Kimbra, I still hear Somebody That I Used To Know, a song which Gotye made a killing on in 2012 and shot our lovely kiwi Kimbra from Hamilton into the musical stratosphere. I still hear it because I played it over and over again until I drove myself mad or my cats bonkers, one of the two.
Read More...
Knightshade - Single Review: U Say
25 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Knightshade the iconic rock / hard rock kiwi band that formed in Te Puke back in the early 1980’s, is making a comeback with their new single U Say which is due for release 29/09/17. This is the first of four delicious new songs.
Read More...
Biobird - EP Review: Tribes
19 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Tribes is the debut EP from Biobird, it is inspired by all things bass. If my investigative skills are on form, Biobird is Caleb Bird, based in the Waikato and handy on the mixing desk.
Read More...
The Dirty Sweets - Single/Video Review: Kick Down The Door
12 Sep 2017 // by Corinner
Bogan dream band, The Dirty Sweets have released a brand new single Kick Down The Door, which is accompanied by a video featuring 1970’s NZ skateboarding footage from the documentary No More Heroes “A tribute to nostalgia, the '70s & "the asphalt desperadoes of Aotearoa who took skateboarding from a fun pursuit into a full-blown national phenomenon. Uses rare photos, a punk rock/NZ soundtrack.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • TOO GOOD AT GOODBYES
    Sam Smith
  • DON'T GIVE IT UP
    Six60
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
  • WHAT LOVERS DO
    Maroon 5 feat. SZA
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • FEEL IT STILL
    Portugal. The Man
  • YOUNG, DUMB AND BROKE
    Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem