19 Jan 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

MarineVille - Album Review: Penguins Ate My Chips

05 Feb 2017 // A review by Corinner
I simply could not go past the name of this album without wanting to give it a listen, something about penguins eating chips appealed to me.

First off, as a band photographer my eyes immediately went to the album cover, it took me back to the days when the Young Ones ruled and I picked my music based on the album art and band name, the best way to discover new music!

Featuring a series of twelve short upbeat songs, Penguins Ate My Chips is the 4th album from New Zealand Alt-Rock quartet MarineVille. Three quarters of the band hail from Dunedin where most of the band are now based, however sessions for Penguins Ate My Chips began in the band's Wellington warehouse in 2012.

The first track, 75 Watts Frosted, launches straight into a fast paced rocking number which has tones of The Doors. Break on Through (To the Other Side) sprung to mind.

Moving on, the second track Wax Tears mellows down slightly almost reminiscent of the alternative rock stylings of Poi Dog Pondering. This was my favourite number on the album, it captured my imagination with an interesting story.

This album has some clever song writing, paired with fast guitar. The lyrics are an interesting eclectic mix of songs, which tell stories that have evolved over time, and has been inspired by the bands various experiences at gigs, life events, football and a trip to Otago Museum.

Penguins Ate My Chips has a unique Kiwi Punk underground flavour, and in my opinion is well worth a listen to.

About MarineVille

MarineVille formed in mid-1999. The line-up was Mark Williams (guitar), Adam Ring (guitar) and Simon Waterfield (drums). Over the next 18 months the band consolidated around Mark's songs and recorded the album 'Ready for the Dance' with bass players Brett Garrity and John Douglas. It was engineered by good pal David Coventry (La Gloria).

Nationwide tours with Kitset and Heka followed, as did live-to-airs, a live film soundtrack, several aborted video’s (with one success), and compilation appearances in NZ, Australia and USA. A revolving series of band members puzzled everyone including us, but the current line-up of Mark Williams, John Douglas, Geoffrey Trail and David Hall was established early 2002.

Ex-member John Douglas (bass) now performs with The Accelerants.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for MarineVille

Releases

Penguins Ate My Chips
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Diving The Wreck
Year: 2004
Type: Album
Ready For The Dance
Year: 2001
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinner

Jacquie Walters - Album Review: Light For A Broken World
17 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Christchurch born and bred, Jacquie Walters recorded her first song Bob Dylan’s Dream when she was six years old.  Singing Dylan and Joan Baez songs with her parents from an early age was her introduction to singer-songwriters.
Read More...
Psyrok - EP Review: Omega Point Blank
10 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
Psyrok is a cross-genre electronica producer and songwriter based in Wellington. He also runs his own micro-label Psylince Records.
Read More...
Gig Review: Sol3 Mio @ Wharepai Domain, Tauranga - 6/01/2018
07 Jan 2018 // by Corinner
It was a wet and wild weekend in Tauranga, wild enough for even the most intrepid big name International artist to delay a concert for a few days, so it was not without trepidation that I kept an eye on the skies as the hours ticked ever closer to Sol3 Mio kicking off. I wouldn't have been overly worried had I only had to review the concert, but I also had to photograph, in the standard “three songs and your out of the pit” time frame.
Read More...
Emma G - Album Review: Taking Flight
30 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
On the back of her whirlwind All Roads Lead To Home tour of New Zealand, Emma Ghaemmaghamy, or Emma G as she is also known, has recently released her debut solo album Taking Flight. Kiwi born but now based in Washington DC, Emma works full time as a street performer and playing music around clubs, bars and community events.
Read More...
Jonathan Densem - Album Review: I’m Saying It Now
20 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
Jonathan Densem - Cantabrian singer, composer, musician and teacher has launched his album I’m Saying It Now. It is an album of storytelling and beautiful melody.
Read More...
Jas Josland - Single Review: Lie To Yourself
19 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
Sounding very much like Gin Wigmore, Jas Josland is a multi-talented self-managed indie rock artist from Christchurch, with an interesting life story and a stunning voice. She has described her music to be “almost like a recipe book with strong influences ranging from 60’s to the new artist’s”  they are songs with stories to tell.
Read More...
Cricket Farm - Album Review: Bending Spoons
18 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
Cricket Farm, the Auckland based three-piece indie-folk/jazz band, are proudly releasing their debut album with the enchanting name of Bending Spoons. It has been described by the band as “music for hopeless romantic conspiracy theorists”… a statement such as that is simply intriguing and led me on a wonderful journey through 12 tracks of the bands thoughts and feelings accompanied by a stunning and honest indie-folk, gypsy jazz soundtrack.
Read More...
Imagine This - Single Review: That Wave
12 Dec 2017 // by Corinner
Rapper and songwriter Imagine This (Khalid El-Shareif), has released a bright and meaningful new single called That Wave. It is totally compatible with the stunning visuals that make you wish you are there in the bright blue ocean; it is what we dream a glorious Kiwi summer should be.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • RIVER
    Eminem feat. Ed Sheeran
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • CANDY PAINT
    Post Malone
  • DON'T GIVE IT UP
    Six60
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem