20 Jun 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Shihad @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 1/5/2016

06 May 2016 // A review by Andrew Smit

Unlike the anxiety felt by a congregation waiting for the obligatory late bride, the crowd waiting for Shihad to arrive after a cancelled flight were merely suppressing the energy required to jump through a banging set of "real fucking drum and bass" (quote Jon Toogood). In what was supposed to be a 50 minute set on a Sunday night after two previous gigs earlier in Christchurch and Wellington, our four home-grown heroes ripped the snot out of the Mt Eden night to prove that the NZ music industry is still in good hands. Shihad still have 'it' and some bunch of metalheads from the UK with their own private 747 playing down at the Vector couldn't stop the hardcore fans packing into the Powerstation for a dose of uncompromising Kiwi rock.

Kicking off the show with Home Again, Jon goes straight up to the mic and yells “everybody fucking jump” which we all did of course, and then lights flooded the stage and we were impressed to see Jon and the band jumping about with amazing enthusiasm and vigour. After two songs Mr Toogood did admit, “we’re fucking knackered”, but said that the energy coming from the room was so powerful that we could spur them to be even better. Now we may have forgiven Jon if he turned up with a voice that's a bit hoarse and a body action that’s a bit slower than usual but this guy had more energy than anyone in the mosh pit collectively, and that voice maintained its full range for the whole show, which went for 90 minutes including an encore that was worth chanting for.

Jon worked his space well and even had the front rows wondering if he was going to launch himself off the stage for an epic crowd surf, not tonight. The ever-consummate professional wouldn't risk screwing up a chord for such a discerning crowd of Shihad purists, plus he was wearing a bloody nice pair of boots which he may not wanted to risk losing to boot.

I have no idea what size Tom Larkin's boot size is but his foot pedal was being smashed down rhythmically and exceedingly hard, you almost begun to question whether he could split the earth in half with each kick. The raw amplified drum sound was blasting away at my shirt and playing havoc with my heart rate, man he worked that kit so hard it must have been bolted down.

Karl Kippenberger is the only bass player I've ever seen smile through a sound wave so powerful that the fabric of time and space looks set to succumb while us mere mortals in the front of the stage look up in fear as his fingers become a blur over his four strings of death. Phil Knight laid down the fundamental chords with a calmness that reeked of accomplishment, then succumbed to the signature riffs and danced around the stage which had the Moshies bouncing and a throng of raised hands punching the air and waving eagerly for more.

In a set list that's only glaring omission was Pacifier, we rocked to the best and better of a round dozen of Shihad classics. Few bands can come back on stage for a multi song encore with anything as powerful as The General Electric which was sublime in its intensity. The whole level of energy and precision on display would have blown you away as a standalone gig, let alone the third of a jet setting 3 city set executed over 11 hours.

They gratefully accepted our applause and we all joined in the mandatory crowd selfie. We all went home very impressed and more than satisfied with the entertainment provided, I can’t wait to see them again and I am sure most felt that way too. Surprisingly the band fronted up at the end of a gig to shake hands and graciously have selfies taken with the fans, how genuine are they, from sublime rock performance to approachable heroes, the crowd applauds them for it, and they will time and again.

About Shihad

In 1993 four young long-haired lads walked into a brand new studio in Auckland to record their first album.

The band was Shihad, the album was their boundary-pushing debut, Churn, the producer was Jaz Coleman, and the studio was York Street in Parnell.

Churn was the first album to be recorded at the iconic studios, and since then many great records have been cut there. So it was only fitting that almost 21 years later Shihad were reunited with Coleman to record the last ever album at York Street.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Shihad

Releases

FVEY
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Ignite
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Beautiful Machine
Year: 2008
Type: Album
Love Is The New Hate
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Alive
Year: 2005
Type: EP
The General Electric
Year: 1999
Type: Album
Blue Light Disco
Year: 1998
Type: EP
B-Sides
Year: 1996
Type: Album
Shihad
Year: 1996
Type: Album
Killjoy
Year: 1995
Type: Album
Churn
Year: 1993
Type: Album
Devolve
Year: 1991
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Andrew Smit

Gig Review: Skinny Hobos @ Galatos, Auckland - 25/05/2018
12 Jun 2018 // by Andrew Smit
On a cool and wet Auckland night, many faithful rock devotees arrived to experience and enjoy a night of mostly Auckland-made Rock at the inner-city hall that is Galatos. Bam!
Read More...
Shady Brain Farm - Album Review: 19 Years In The Same House
05 Jun 2018 // by Andrew Smit
A most wonderful album full of songs laden with a unique and funky mix of rock and blues. Opening with a most funky bass line, Get Up Get Down pumps up the vibe and demands that you do indeed get up and get down, such is the energy and feeling it generates.
Read More...
Lucifer Gunne - Single Review: HRM
22 May 2018 // by Andrew Smit
Wellington based 4-piece rock act Lucifer Gunne, fronted by singer/guitarist/songwriter Rory McDonald, have produced a cool track that stands out as something different that's engaging and passionate. This new single HRM is a wonderful mix of bubbly funk rock that is striking and compelling.
Read More...
Gig Review: Royal Blood @ Logan Campbell Centre - 01/05/2018
03 May 2018 // by Andrew Smit
The Logan Campbell Centre has seen many years of great rock acts like Nirvana and Metallica and tonight the well-worn 70's decor was rocked by Royal Blood's first headline shows in New Zealand. Dead Favours were up first to warm the crowd, which was pretty much at capacity, this four-piece Auckland band have impressed and progressed steadily over the last two years since I saw them at their debut gig back in May 2016.
Read More...
The Roulettes - Album Review: Venus Burns
27 Apr 2018 // by Andrew Smit
Opening with a crash of drums and melodic guitar the ever-fresh sound of The Roulettesannounce their latest album Venus Burns with the rousing opening track Stealing Electricity. Thankfully the band have not strayed from their captivating psychedelic sound with songs that are loaded with glorious guitar chords full of sparkling harmonics and hypnotic stomping rhythms.
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Brain Bell Jangler
16 Feb 2018 // by Andrew Smit
Brain Bell Jangler is a very likeable track full of ripping harmonic guitar strains that heave along to a rock steady rhythm providing a superb foundation for the very catchy vocal tones from lead singer Brendan McCarthy. Apollo SteamTrain are a traditional 3-piece rock Guitar/Bass/Drum ensemble that have produced a killer track with such a crisp guitar sound that bursts with melodic sparkles that combine beautifully with the very Beatle-esque vocal performance.
Read More...
Gig Review: Paul Kelly @ The Civic, Auckland - 1/12/2017
12 Dec 2017 // by Andrew Smit
I last saw Paul Kelly in 1987 at the Dee Why Hotel and was eager to hear him again 30 years later, I was confident he would sound awesome, as he is a proven song writer and musician who has not stopped performing and creating beautiful music since 1978, in a stellar career that continues to impress both at home in Australia and abroad. Mr Kelly simply strode to the large stage and started playing his guitar and sang some new songs from his 21st album Life is Fine, they were 3 new songs that are wonderfully fresh, but still typically Kelly songs with his customary sweet melody flowing under his distinctive lyrical comments on life.
Read More...
Gig Review: Hunt The Witch etc @ The Kings Arms, Auckland 11/11/17
01 Dec 2017 // by Andrew Smit
The Kings Arms was a buzz with a wealth of punters keen for a dose of loud heavy rock music, all keen for a good time but regrettably the imminent demise of this entertainment institution was a sad topic of conversation for many, "it's all because of the council's greed and neglect, they change zoning to suit their bottom lines, with no thought to societies true needs", and so we paid our respects to the last Auckland beer garden rock pub, she will be remembered well. Of course, live music will live on and tonight it was alive and well, kicking off impeccably with the energetic pounding rock supplied by West Auckland rock outfit AnimalHead, this threesome gel brilliantly to create a powerful rock grind that could also be described as a bluesy kind of punk.
Read More...
View All Articles By Andrew Smit

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • ALL MINE
    Kanye West
  • LOVELY
    Billie Eilish feat. Khalid
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
  • BACK TO YOU
    Selena Gomez
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • THIS IS AMERICA
    Childish Gambino
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem