25 Jul 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

EP Review: Simon Hirst - Shining in Silver

08 Dec 2015 // A review by mciver29

New from Hamilton-based singer/songwriter Simon Hirst is the 4 track EP titled Shining In Silver.

At first glance you could be forgiven for expecting a very Ed Sheeran type release by the look of his Facebook page, showing that he uses loopers when performing solo and shows a similar look to Sheeran.

While Simon shows a lot of maturity in his song writing it seems his influence is extremely strong in the likes of Neil Finn, Tim Finn and Crowded House. Though it can be hard to capture a full repertoire of influence within a 4 song EP it feels very heavily modelled off everything Finn related post Split Enz.

Shining In Silver will appeal to adult contemporary fans, much like what I mentioned earlier with the Finn Brothers, Dave Dobbyn and Ed Sheeran. The songs have been produced well and the over all consistency is good, perhaps lacking some dynamics and tempo shifts to keep the listener intrigued though.

Hirst has a pleasant voice and pretty much, for this style of music, he has done all the right things from a production view point, but it just feels a tad samey to me.

I would encourage a little more adventure in the writing and recording process but that's just me – you can check out Shining In Silver on Spotify and iTunes to judge for yourself.

It's great to hear the recording quality of local artists is getting up to par, keep on supporting NZ music as it continues to grow!

Other Reviews By mciver29

Gig Review: Devilskin & Halestorm @ Great Lakes, Taupo - 8/01/17
10 Jan 2017 // by mciver29
Taupo is a funny wee place, being smack dab in the centre of the North Island you might think a few bands would come through but the reality is that it's the polar opposite. The only real exception is UB40, Icehouse, Bonnie Tyler and The Alan Parsons Project.....
Read More...
Gig Review: The Church Tour @ Chapel of Christ The King, Hamilton - 22/09/16
03 Oct 2016 // by mciver29
As a 32 year old former Catholic the idea of going to a Church to see 4 artists that found recognition in the early 80's was a strange one, I had a few conflicting feelings but also knew that Churches quite often have fantastic acoustics and have often wondered about playing in grand cathedrals myself. I suppose my first feeling was a little disappointment when we arrived to the venue and it wasn't a cathedral, rather a large Church but still had the big pipe organs etc...
Read More...
Andy Richards - Album Review: Shine On
05 Sep 2016 // by mciver29
Shine On is the second album release for Warkworth based singer/song writer Andy Richards and is testament to the NZ DIY ethic. Shine On was recorded over a year at a friend's home studio, free of stress and the pressures of working to a budget and time frame.
Read More...
Rebel Sound Radio - Single Review: Liberation
09 Jun 2016 // by mciver29
Reviewing singles is often trickier than reviewing an EP or album as a body of work can help an overall sense of a band as opposed to just one song, in this case, it's the single Liberation by Hamilton based three-piece Rebel Sound Radio. This is all I have heard of the band, and as a first single it's on the right track, it has a hint of The Offspring in the frontman, Jessie Hanright's voice and a strong melodic hooky chorus.....
Read More...
Mice on Stilts - Album Review: Hope For A Mourning
18 Apr 2016 // by mciver29
At first glance the name Mice On Stilts doesn't really give any indication of what the band might sound like - I hadn't heard the music before, but had seen the name a lot. To be completely honest, it wasn't until perhaps the third listen to their new album Hope For A Mourning that I started to connect with it, and started hearing the influences more clearly and somewhat understanding the intention.
Read More...
Jason Kerrison - EP Review: JKEP2
02 Mar 2016 // by mciver29
The second part to Jason's E.P set is definitely a stronger musical offering than JKEP1 which I found to be a over produced somewhat shallow offering from an otherwise gifted singer/songwriter.
Read More...
You Barbarians - EP Review: Helioshiva
21 Aug 2015 // by mciver29
I'm guessing Wellington alt rock band You Barbarians are a newish band on the Wellington scene though there is quite a mature sense to the song writing featured on their 5 track EP, Helioshiva.   The packaging of the EP is very cool and unique with almost a type of greeting card style to it, it looks good and made me want to check out the music and seeing where it was mixed (at STL studios, Wellington) definitely made for some strong appeal.
Read More...
Seasons - Album Review: Patriarch
13 May 2015 // by mciver29
The first thing I noticed when I graced my eyes upon Patriarch, by Auckland progressive metal band Seasons, is the cover... and as much as they say “don't judge a book by its cover” I judged it right, I love the artwork and the music meets the mark.
Read More...
View All Articles By mciver29

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DESPACITO (REMIX)
    Luis Fonsi And Daddy Yankee feat. Justin Bieber
  • WILD THOUGHTS
    DJ Khaled feat. Rihanna And Bryson Tiller
  • FEELS
    Calvin Harris feat. Pharrell Williams, Katy Perry And Big Sean
  • STRIP THAT DOWN
    Liam Payne feat. Quavo
  • THUNDER
    Imagine Dragons
  • I'M THE ONE
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance The Rapper And Lil Wayne
  • UNFORGETTABLE
    French Montana feat. Swae Lee
  • 2U
    David Guetta feat. Justin Bieber
  • MAMA
    Jonas Blue feat. William Singe
  • SLOW HANDS
    Niall Horan
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem