19 Nov 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Electric Wire Hustle - Love Can Prevail Album Review

19 Sep 2014 // A review by Joel C Blood

Electric Wire Hustle do it again with another outstanding record. The dynamic duo strikes back with a fusion of classic soul mixed with slick glitching, well textured futuristic beats. 

The thing that I like most about this record is the unique construction of the multifaceted grooves that sit nicely behind the tastefully placed, extremely skilled vocals. 

The boys have ended their 4 year hiatus with style. This record will be a favorite for lazy summer Sunday's as well as being blasted at house parties. If you want something truly fresh and inspiring then this is a record you must have. 

Stand out tracks for me are If These Are The Last Days and To See You Again. I can't wait to see these guys live, I'll be first in line to see them drop these fresh beats, that's for sure.

Love Can Prevail
View Track Listing

About Electric Wire Hustle

With their debut self-titled album Electric Wire Hustle achieved cult status. A number one song on Hype Machine, five-star reviews from the likes of Okayplayer, and BBC Radio support from Gilles Peterson and Benji B secured them unwavering support internationally with a flood of production requests following.

Their sophomore album Love Can Prevail has continued the trend, winning best electronic album at the 2015 New Zealand Music Awards. Added to that is previous support from The New York Times and Wax Poetics, making The Listeners Top 10 albums of 2014 and winning the official stamp of approval of Questlove, The Roots and their imprint Okayplayer Records who alongside Somethink Sounds released the album in September of that year.

Demand for their live show has seen EWH perform in 18 countries, appearing at festivals such as Glastonbury, Dour, Sonar, Sziget, SXSW, Gilles Peterson’s Worldwide, New York’s CMJ and The Roots Picnic.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Electric Wire Hustle

Releases

The 11th Sky
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Aeons
Year: 2015
Type: EP
If These Are The Last Days
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Love Can Prevail
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Experience
Year: 2010
Type: EP
Electric Wire Hustle
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Joel C Blood

Macombee and the Absolute Truth - No Man's Land Album Review
29 Nov 2014 // by Joel C Blood
When I received this record I had no idea what to expect. The press information describes the sound as a cathartic experience founded on cinematic arrangements wrapped around the lead singer, Sarah Macombee's, exquisite voice, so it all sounded fairly self indulgent.
Read More...
SSXUB EP Review - Shapeshifter vs The Upbeats
03 Oct 2014 // by Joel C Blood
This 5 track EP has been probably my most highly anticipated NZ release this year and it doesn't disappoint. This is everything that you would expect from this collaboration, the soulful wailing of P-Digsss and melodic lusciousness of Shapeshifter mashed together with the unforgiving, beat driven groove of The Upbeats.
Read More...
Tali - Faster Than Sound Single Review
03 Oct 2014 // by Joel C Blood
The second tune from Tali's forthcoming record Wolves is a huge departure from the UK drum n bass that made her a worldwide name. Faster Than Sound is a self declared love song and is closer to trip hop than Tali's traditional "Boobs to the Wall" DnB; which is a great departure in my eyes.
Read More...
Moana And The Tribe - Rima Album Review
02 Oct 2014 // by Joel C Blood
According to the albums publicists, this is Moana and the Tribe's 5th Studio album, and it wasn't what I was expecting. This was primarily a good thing as I like surprises but it did catch me a little off guard.
Read More...
Oakley Grenell - The Deep Album Review
19 Sep 2014 // by Joel C Blood
Listening to this record for the first time was a breath of fresh air. With so many Kiwi hip hop artists and beat makers writing the same old wannabe American Gangster drivel, it was inspiring to hear a guy construct something uplifting, tasteful and sonically dynamic.
Read More...
Whistlejacket - The Year of the Horse EP Review
11 Sep 2014 // by Joel C Blood
I was impressed with the work that Whistlejacket management have gone to in producing a very stylistic press package. It's not often I get any info on the reviewed band but these guys had a full press kit which used strong alternate imaginary to represent the band.
Read More...
Phil Rudd - Head Job Album Review
05 Sep 2014 // by Joel C Blood
There are two ways to write this review. One way is looking at the record from Phil's vast and impressive career as the worlds most acclaimed 4/4 drummer, while being wowed by his self indulgent lifestyle.
Read More...
Kerretta - Pirohia Album Review
04 Sep 2014 // by Joel C Blood
I am going to do away with the Isis and Mogwai comparisons. Let's focus on how fucking good this record is.
Read More...
View All Articles By Joel C Blood

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • DON'T GIVE IT UP
    Six60
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
  • TOO GOOD AT GOODBYES
    Sam Smith
  • WHAT LOVERS DO
    Maroon 5 feat. SZA
  • YOUNG, DUMB AND BROKE
    Khalid
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • FEEL IT STILL
    Portugal. The Man
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem