17 Oct 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ghetto Sunrise Album Review

15 Jun 2014 // A review by elchicko

I was embellished into their music after their first release One Drop Love EP. The mix of reggae, dub, and ska was a delight to the ear. Since then they have just released their first full self-titled album Ghetto Sunrise which brings a new twist to their sound in the shape of hard hitting, in your face cross of drum n bass and dubstep.

I have to confess these genres are not a favourite of mine; I would compare them to a peaceful beautiful walk along the promenade only to be interrupted by a group of football supporters singing songs about Manchester United. Join me as we go for a ride through the tapestry of a brain that loves the people, but struggles with the work.

Firstly, these guys have obvious talent in what they do, taking a complete turn in direction is not easy, but they have achieved a sound that people will enjoy no doubt. The album flowed very coherently with a good mix of different sounds within each song. It's very easy to get caught into one sound that might work, considering the limits of such genres as dubstep, this is quite a diverse album.

I like the use of a female vocalist (Emma Petera) in Lost and Trouble The Water, the calming effect really compliments the heavy hitting beats, and steadies the flow of the songs respectively. I am a sucker for build ups, and this group really do a sterling job on slowing down the pace of a song, and then bringing it back up to a formidable arousal. 

My one major critique is based around the production and sound. In some songs there is just too much going on. A friend of mine agreed that the mixture of heavy guitar and drum n bass really hurt the sound and thus he soon wanted to stop listening. If you are a fan of hard hitting music and the sub genres I would always recommend supporting New Zealand bands.  If you enjoy peaceful quiet moments with the wife, this is definitely not the one for you.

Ghetto Sunrise
View Track Listing

About Ghetto Sunrise

Ghetto Sunrise hail from the city streets of Auckland and play a bombastic fusion of reggae, ska, dubstep and electronica. Ghetto Sunrise are on the cusp of releasing their debut record "One Drop Love". The EP was mastered by Mike Gibson, responsible for the many NZ urban albums including classic reggae records by The Black Seeds, Rhombus through to the killer grooves of the Native Sons. Ghetto Sunrise have been compared to everyone from Sublime and Katchafire but feature heavy bass driven electronic sections reminiscent of early Salmonella Dub mashed together with the latest Dubstep from the UK. Ghetto Sunrise are currently booking their first tour and are set to mash, smash and crash sound systems across the country.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ghetto Sunrise

Releases

Ghetto Sunrise
Year: 2014
Type: Album
One Drop Love
Year: 2013
Type: EP

Other Reviews By elchicko

Fictional Response - Scarred Single Review
02 Dec 2013 // by elchicko
Wham bam thank you man, this song is a rasper. What do I mean by that?
Read More...
Supervillains (RMC) - SVRMC EP Review
09 Sep 2013 // by elchicko
I love taking on new challenges, I put my head down and meet the oncoming collision without any thought for my well being.  When I was given this assignment, I made a few trips to the world of the internet, to research this chaps, to assume the attack position.
Read More...
Swamp Thing Live @ Churchill Tavern, Christchurch 18/08/13
19 Aug 2013 // by elchicko
50 people certainly became fans of Swamp Thing, if they had not already been fans. The biggest travesty of this memorable evening is the fact that these two master musicians are not playing to larger crowds, and in my mind taking somewhere like the USA by storm with their blues, rockabilly, bluegrass, and rock vibe.
Read More...
Swamp Thing - Primordium Album Review
07 Aug 2013 // by elchicko
If you have never heard of this band, its hard to imagine that itís a twosome with the full sound they seem to generate. The first thing that struck me was the presence of the singerís voice.
Read More...
Ghetto Sunrise - One Drop Love EP Review
22 Jul 2013 // by elchicko
Yes, yes and yes is my new formula for a thing of beauty. This short 6 song EP is a thing of beauty that brought my senses to an almost orgasmic state.
Read More...
The Drab Doo Riffs - Aquatic Ape Theory EP Review
28 Jun 2013 // by elchicko
Overall this concept EP left me feeling very flat and not at all inspired, but there were some highlights that perked up that interest. If youíre a fan of the movie Pulp Fiction there is a similar sound radiating from The Drab Doo Riffs.
Read More...
The Phoenix Foundation - Fandango Album Review
12 May 2013 // by elchicko
No relation to the pro wrestler, The Phoenix Foundation bring us their newest collaboration of music Fandango. The first track Black Mould sets up the whole album, a hypnotic, lazy boy afternoon in the sun experience, preferably with a view of glistening snowy mountain tops, which fortunately is never to far away when you are in the South Island.
Read More...
Alizarin Lizard - Do You Just Want Me To Watch You? Album Review
29 Apr 2013 // by elchicko
The beautiful aspect of music is its charming way of bringing out nostalgic value to the listener. From the first chord, to the Damon Albarn strain radiating across the sound waves, the Lizards hit the right chord.
Read More...
View All Articles By elchicko

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • YOUNG, DUMB AND BROKE
    Khalid
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • TOO GOOD AT GOODBYES
    Sam Smith
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
  • WHAT LOVERS DO
    Maroon 5 feat. SZA
  • DUSK TILL DAWN
    ZAYN feat. Sia
  • FEEL IT STILL
    Portugal. The Man
  • GLORIOUS
    Macklemore feat. Skylar Grey
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem