24 Oct 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Tahuna Breaks - Live @ San Francisco Bathhouse, Wellington - 13/04/2013

14 Apr 2013 // A review by Alistar3000

Tahuna Breaks blasting out the popI’ve been listening to the new Tahuna Breaks album, Shadow Light, a bit lately and got to go see the release show for it at Wellington’s San Francisco Bathhouse on Saturday. I’d enjoyed the album, which is quite energetic, upbeat and fun, so I was expecting a pretty good show from the Auckland 7-piece.

Up first were Auckland hip hop crew Eddie Numbers. Normally a 5-piece band, they treated us to a stripped back show, with just frontmen Eddie and Tyla, and their DJ Baz providing the music. That didn’t stop them getting the party started and to their credit they managed to get a decent crowd up and dancing – an unusual sight for a support act in Wellington.

They’ve got a light-hearted style and threw in a few snippets of well-known songs, including songs by Grandmaster Flash and Adele, which really got the crowd going. A tricky freestyle from Eddie was one of the many highlights in their set.

Tahuna Breaks wasted no time getting onto the stage, and with 7 of them up there getting into the music it was a bit of a tight squeeze. The vibe from the crowd as they took the stage was awesome to be a part of, with a chant of ‘Tahuna’ starting as soon as the lights dimmed for the band’s entry. The audience didn’t let up as the band ripped into their first track, sending the dance floor exploding into action with their catchy, retro-disco rock sound.

I couldn’t fault the playing from any of the band, with the mix spot on, and a high level of professionalism and energy from all involved throughout the show – and this is high energy music. This was clearly a band who had spent the time preparing for their live shows, and put everything they had into it, even when playing a song for us for the first time.

Seeing so many people who knew the words to all the songs, and were there to see the band instead of just treating it as a chance to get trashed and catch up with their friends, was good to see and is a real testament to the band themselves.

About Tahuna Breaks

Tahuna Breaks have always encompassed a rich diversity of musical genres and styles. With seven members, the group has an appetite for continuously pushing boundaries in their live performance bringing a stage act that is energetic, tight and passionate to the audience.

Combining aspects of the 60’s, 70’s and 80’s Tahuna Breaks are influenced by artists as varied as James Brown to Daft Punk. Being unafraid to mix genres they have honed their live sound to encompass funk, disco, soul and roots focusing on addictive rhythms that get audiences moving.

The band has performed at The Big Day Out, Homegrown, Highlife NYE and many other major festivals in New Zealand and Australia, along with countless sell out national tours and one off performances.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Tahuna Breaks

Releases

Tahuna Breaks Live 10
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Shadow Light
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Black, Brown and White
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Reflections
Year: 2007
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Alistar3000

Primacy - Single Review: Shade Black
15 Oct 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland 5-piece Primacy are one of those bands that don’t try and hide their influences; their new single Shade Black is a healthy blend of all that was good about ‘90s rock, and that’s not a bad thing. Starting out with a Tool-like intro that soon gives way to a heavier, chugging riff, the song maintains a freshness and urgency throughout.
Read More...
Cairo Knife Fight - Album review: The Colossus
11 Jun 2015 // by Alistar3000
Having seen Cairo Knife Fight perform live many times over the past few years I’d always been under the assumption they were performing songs from a number of prior recordings. So I was a little surprised to discover that The Colossus was actually their first album (they do have a few EPs recorded), and more surprised to find that long time guitarist Aaron Tokona (AHoriBuzz) was no longer a key part of the band, and makes only a small appearance on the album – with that revelation I didn’t know what to expect when I pressed play.
Read More...
Mel Parsons - Album Review: Drylands
05 May 2015 // by Alistar3000
Back in 2011 I reviewed Mel Parsons' second album Red Grey Blue and enjoyed it – it had some well written songs, was well produced, and was easy to listen to. When I first popped in her latest album Drylands, I thought she’d taken a bit of a different path to the alt-country that dominated her first album.
Read More...
Album Review: Tahuna Breaks Live 10
02 Apr 2015 // by Alistar3000
It’s hard to believe that Tahuna Breaks is celebrating 10 years making music together, although they do seem to have always been around, and I guess if anyone’s going to be keeping a record of how long they’ve been making their brand of funkified reggae, it’d be them. To celebrate the occasion they’ve release Tahuna Breaks Live 10 – 10 tracks spanning their career, recorded live last year at a one-off concert to celebrate the milestone (so I guess the album should actually be called 10 + 6 months).
Read More...
State Of Mind - EP Review: Until The World Ends
12 Feb 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland drum and bass duo State of Mind are no strangers to collaboration, having worked with the likes of Tiki Taane and PNC to craft some big hitting tracks that achieved a lot of airplay. This time round they’re working with the trio from Black Sun Empire, hailing out of the Netherlands, produce the heavy hitting Until The World Ends EP together.
Read More...
Album Review: Latinaotearoa in Latinoamerica
09 Dec 2014 // by Alistar3000
When I started reading about the concept behind the second Latinaotearoa album it sounded like a good idea and I was quite excited to have a listen to it. If you’re not familiar with the story, Auckland musician Isaac Aesili (Solaa, Opensouls, Eru Dangerspiel, Funkommunity) teamed up once again with Venezualan singer Jennifer Zea, and Brazilian-born DJ Bobby Brazuka, to research and write a bunch of songs in Brazil, then record the album of Latin-influenced tunes in Brazil and Auckland with guest appearances by some great musicians (such as Raiza Biza, Julien Dyne, Riki Gooch and Miguel Fuentes) – what should, on paper, lead to some great experimentation and crossovers of styles.
Read More...
Beastwars Live at San Fran, Wellington 10/10/2014
21 Oct 2014 // by Alistar3000
I was finding it hard to believe that it’d been over 18 months since I last saw Beastwars play in Wellington as I stumbled on down to the newly refurbished San Fran in Wellington last week. I’m not sure why it’d taken me so long to go back to Wellington’s number one metal (or at least heavy rock) band, especially since they’d never disappointed me before.
Read More...
Into Orbit - Caverns Album Review
24 Aug 2014 // by Alistar3000
Wellington two piece noisemakers Into Orbit have an appropriate name for the kind of music they’ve created on their new album Caverns; it’s spacey feeling, often out there and is sure to take off. I wasn’t sure exactly what to expect from the album before listening to it (or even if I’d like it at all), but came away a devoted fan after having it on constant repeat for a couple of days while I explored everything it had to offer (I’m still not there yet, not even close).
Read More...
View All Articles By Alistar3000

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • YOUNG, DUMB AND BROKE
    Khalid
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • TOO GOOD AT GOODBYES
    Sam Smith
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
  • WHAT LOVERS DO
    Maroon 5 feat. SZA
  • FEEL IT STILL
    Portugal. The Man
  • WHAT ABOUT US
    Pink
  • DUSK TILL DAWN
    ZAYN feat. Sia
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem