13 Dec 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

8 Foot Sativa @ The Royal 23/03/2013

08 Apr 2013 // A review by Asmith

Opening up the night was the palmy lads Deaths Door - hard and fast with lots of breakdowns for the moshers, simple catchy vocal rhythms and the song writing riffery contained a lot of tempo changes which helped to build up to all the breakdowns and signature riffs. As more and more people packed in to see 8 Foot Sativa the mosh pit got bigger and bigger with everyone amping to see the headliners all you could hear between songs and bands was people chanting and screaming for 8 Foot Sativa!

Bloodspray For Politics took the stage next, and if you came to 8 Foot Sativa’s last show (or if you have caught them any other time) you know these guys are so tight it sounds just like the album, some songs were played that aren’t on the album but need to be recorded asap (so I can thrash them on my stereo too). As their set progressed the crowd (and the pit) continued to grow bigger, and the screams for 8 Foot Sativa got louder…

Gift Of Ruin took the stage as replacements for Gunt (who unfortunately could not make it) and as the final opening band they brought the pain and sent the pit crazy. Nothing but high energy full force battle stations, low tuned grooves ripping through the pit sending people flying everywhere. (Ryan’s) trademark mic swing came out again, this time he managed to do it without hitting anyone in the face, and they even had a drunk fan get up onstage and propose to the drummer. As the room filled up with a sea of heads moshing back and forth the anticipation was everywhere… time for the headliners.

8 Foot Sativa - holy crap! I didn’t think they could top the last gig but they came, they owned, and they destroyed Palmerston North!!! (as well as my neck, back, voice etc.). The pit got so brutal security had to form a wall at the front to protect the onstage gear, it also happened to send “that camera guy” head first straight into the brick wall side of stage but if you wanna stand in the middle of the pit you get what you get. It was pretty epic seeing an almost original line up onstage once more, it’s like nothing had changed (Jack Hammer even managed to crowd surf at The Royal AGAIN). Playing a whole bunch of stuff from the early Jack Hammer years (and for those of you who were paying attention, some non-Jack Hammer era stuff came out but it was done so well I almost missed it). This was the final show of the tour before the boys get ready to get into the studio and record a new album and it went off, hopefully by the time the album comes out and the next tour starts I will have recovered from this show and will be ready for more!!!

About 8 Foot Sativa

Exploding out of West Auckland in 1998, 8 Foot Sativa have gone from being a local band playing every week, to becoming the premier Metal band in New Zealand.

They are the first metal band in NZ to crack out of the small scene and bring New Zealand Heavy Metal to mainstream Kiwi's doorsteps, with the song 8 Foot Sativa staying at number 1 for three months and eight months in the charts. They have also had success overseas, in Australia, USA and Europe. With their first album Hate Made Me achieving Gold Record status, the follow up with Season for Assault, which established 8 Foot Sativa as a household name. Since then they have released 4 more albums Breed The Pain, Poison Of Ages, The Shadow Masters and 10 Years Of Sativa.

8 Foot Sativa have played with the big names of metal including Pantera, Motorhead, Korn, Children of Bodom, Disturbed, Soul Fly, Shihad and Corrosion of Conformity. They have had 2 Big Day Out appearances on the main stage, sharing the stage with Slipknot, Metallica and System of a Down.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for 8 Foot Sativa

Releases

10 Years of Sativa
Year: 2013
Type: Album
The Shadow Masters
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Poison Of Ages
Year: 2007
Type: Album
Breed The Pain
Year: 2004
Type: Album
Season For Assault
Year: 2003
Type: Album
Hate Made Me
Year: 2002
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Asmith

Dick Tracy - EP Review: The Red Hand
19 Oct 2015 // by Asmith
Right from the intro track Mahjong, I was instantly transported into party mode. Rockin’, groovin’ hard hitting beats that get your heart pumping and ready to go.
Read More...
Dead Teach the Living - EP Review: The Crowning
15 Jun 2015 // by Asmith
From the very first track there was one very distinct trait that seemed to stick out for me about Dead Teach The Living's new EP - the ability to seemingly move with ease not only through multiple sub genres of metal (and sometimes influences from other genres entirely), but also to mesh them together in perfect blended harmony. From every single instrument, and as a band, diversity would be the best word to describe this album and there is nothing I like more than artists who can not only diversify but pull it off as well as Dead Teach The Living.
Read More...
Blacklistt @ Bodega 24/05/2014
17 Jun 2014 // by Asmith
I was quite excited when I got offered this review, it was the first time I had seen Blindspott as their new reincarnation, Blacklistt, and was eager to see if anything had changed since the last time I had seen them, I wasn’t dissapointed. Hell, I think they may have even been BETTER.
Read More...
Truly Made - For The Summer EP Review
22 May 2014 // by Asmith
Surely an odd title for an Autumn release, but 10 seconds in and I can only assume it was a metophor for the general feel of the album as this release is going to be in my playlist all year round for quite a while. I can’t help but feel this album was more than aptly titled, from track to track you get an air of summer throughout, every bbq, every beach getaway, it’s all in there.
Read More...
Louis Baker EP Review
24 Mar 2014 // by Asmith
Having never heard of Louis Baker before I was given this review I was unsure what to expect.This wasn't a bad thing though- have you ever heard an artist for the first time and just sat there going, wow, this is cool.
Read More...
Jake Stokes - Midnight Album Review
26 Feb 2014 // by Asmith
When I first pressed play on this release I was pleasantly surprised to hear some very bluesy sounding riffs blasting at me from my speakers. Now I guess I'm a little bias here but I believe the blues and blues influenced genres are underrated, underplayed, and undersold, especially in New Zealand so when I here something like this it always gets me a little excited.
Read More...
Eclipse - Pink Floyd Tribute Band @ Stonehenge 01/02/2014
16 Feb 2014 // by Asmith
Let me just start of by stating there are simply not enough words in the english language to adequately describe how amazing this show was, but I will do my best. We pulled into the parking area to be guided with precision into our space, then jumped in in the que with the other 2500 people who had come to this event and made our way in surprisingly fast.
Read More...
Blackleaf Gardens - Key To Infinity Album Review
27 Dec 2013 // by Asmith
This is the debut album from West Auckland four piece Blackleaf Gardens, and what a debut it is. All too often I find myself being asked to listen to music and I can't help but hear that one specific musical influence cutting through like a cold shower, this is not one of those albums.
Read More...
View All Articles By Asmith

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PERFECT DUET
    Ed Sheeran And Beyonce
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • DON'T GIVE IT UP
    Six60
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
  • LET YOU DOWN
    NF
  • WHAT LOVERS DO
    Maroon 5 feat. SZA
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • WOLVES
    Selena Gomez And Marshmello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem