19 Aug 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Nightchoir - See The First Star Album Review

25 Aug 2012 // A review by Alistar3000

It'd be easy to try and compare the new Nightchoir album to Pluto's music. After all, Nightchoir consists of three members of Pluto, so you’d expect there to be some musical similarities and spillover. But to do that would be to ignore the fact that Nightchoir is a different beast all together, and the similarities with Pluto are few and far between.

Nightchoir play on subtleties, using layers of simple melodies to build exquisite textural lullabies and ballads that invite the listener to engage with the music, rather than passively listen. The band seldom strays into rock territory on the album, only touching on their work before Nightchoir on a couple of track, providing interesting interludes in an otherwise laid back set of tunes.

There's a lovely warm tone throughout the album, and it's a tone that suits their music well. There are no rough edges here, and the songs have an organic feel to them that will draw you right in, after a slightly misleading intro to the album, that is. This is an album that's made to be listened to right through, in a single sitting; there's clearly been some thought put into how the album is structured, and the resulting flow works a treat.

All accomplished musicians with long histories in the local music scene, this Auckland trio clearly know how to work well together and give each other space to create and enhance their songs. Mike Hall’s vocals in particular are perfectly placed within each song, never drawing attention away from the accompaniment, yet at the same time never being overwhelmed by what's going on with the instruments.

This is an album that deserves repeated listens; take your time with it, let the music grow on you, and you will be rewarded by what you discover.

See The First Star
View Track Listing

About Nightchoir

All three members of Nightchoir played in the successful NZ band Pluto for over 10 years, supporting international acts such as Muse, Duran Duran, Gomez, Dandy Warhols and playing international festivals – including twice on the main stage at the Big Day Out And two appearances at the SXSW .

On top of a decade playing together in Pluto, Matthias Jordan, Michael Franklin- Browne and Mike Hall have shared their talents with a number of other local musicians and bands including Dimmer, Pajama Club, Gin Wigmore, Stereobus, Julia Deans, Anna Coddington, Head Like a Hole and The Brunettes.

Nightchoir was once considered a side project to Pluto, but after the success of their first album in 2010, 24 Hours of Night, received rave reviews proved this is a band to watch:

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Nightchoir

Releases

See The First Star
Year: 2012
Type: Album
24 Hours Of Night
Year: 2010
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Alistar3000

Primacy - Single Review: Shade Black
15 Oct 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland 5-piece Primacy are one of those bands that don’t try and hide their influences; their new single Shade Black is a healthy blend of all that was good about ‘90s rock, and that’s not a bad thing. Starting out with a Tool-like intro that soon gives way to a heavier, chugging riff, the song maintains a freshness and urgency throughout.
Read More...
Cairo Knife Fight - Album review: The Colossus
11 Jun 2015 // by Alistar3000
Having seen Cairo Knife Fight perform live many times over the past few years I’d always been under the assumption they were performing songs from a number of prior recordings. So I was a little surprised to discover that The Colossus was actually their first album (they do have a few EPs recorded), and more surprised to find that long time guitarist Aaron Tokona (AHoriBuzz) was no longer a key part of the band, and makes only a small appearance on the album – with that revelation I didn’t know what to expect when I pressed play.
Read More...
Mel Parsons - Album Review: Drylands
05 May 2015 // by Alistar3000
Back in 2011 I reviewed Mel Parsons' second album Red Grey Blue and enjoyed it – it had some well written songs, was well produced, and was easy to listen to. When I first popped in her latest album Drylands, I thought she’d taken a bit of a different path to the alt-country that dominated her first album.
Read More...
Album Review: Tahuna Breaks Live 10
02 Apr 2015 // by Alistar3000
It’s hard to believe that Tahuna Breaks is celebrating 10 years making music together, although they do seem to have always been around, and I guess if anyone’s going to be keeping a record of how long they’ve been making their brand of funkified reggae, it’d be them. To celebrate the occasion they’ve release Tahuna Breaks Live 10 – 10 tracks spanning their career, recorded live last year at a one-off concert to celebrate the milestone (so I guess the album should actually be called 10 + 6 months).
Read More...
State Of Mind - EP Review: Until The World Ends
12 Feb 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland drum and bass duo State of Mind are no strangers to collaboration, having worked with the likes of Tiki Taane and PNC to craft some big hitting tracks that achieved a lot of airplay. This time round they’re working with the trio from Black Sun Empire, hailing out of the Netherlands, produce the heavy hitting Until The World Ends EP together.
Read More...
Album Review: Latinaotearoa in Latinoamerica
09 Dec 2014 // by Alistar3000
When I started reading about the concept behind the second Latinaotearoa album it sounded like a good idea and I was quite excited to have a listen to it. If you’re not familiar with the story, Auckland musician Isaac Aesili (Solaa, Opensouls, Eru Dangerspiel, Funkommunity) teamed up once again with Venezualan singer Jennifer Zea, and Brazilian-born DJ Bobby Brazuka, to research and write a bunch of songs in Brazil, then record the album of Latin-influenced tunes in Brazil and Auckland with guest appearances by some great musicians (such as Raiza Biza, Julien Dyne, Riki Gooch and Miguel Fuentes) – what should, on paper, lead to some great experimentation and crossovers of styles.
Read More...
Beastwars Live at San Fran, Wellington 10/10/2014
21 Oct 2014 // by Alistar3000
I was finding it hard to believe that it’d been over 18 months since I last saw Beastwars play in Wellington as I stumbled on down to the newly refurbished San Fran in Wellington last week. I’m not sure why it’d taken me so long to go back to Wellington’s number one metal (or at least heavy rock) band, especially since they’d never disappointed me before.
Read More...
Into Orbit - Caverns Album Review
24 Aug 2014 // by Alistar3000
Wellington two piece noisemakers Into Orbit have an appropriate name for the kind of music they’ve created on their new album Caverns; it’s spacey feeling, often out there and is sure to take off. I wasn’t sure exactly what to expect from the album before listening to it (or even if I’d like it at all), but came away a devoted fan after having it on constant repeat for a couple of days while I explored everything it had to offer (I’m still not there yet, not even close).
Read More...
View All Articles By Alistar3000

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DESPACITO (REMIX)
    Luis Fonsi And Daddy Yankee feat. Justin Bieber
  • FEELS
    Calvin Harris feat. Pharrell Williams, Katy Perry And Big Sean
  • WILD THOUGHTS
    DJ Khaled feat. Rihanna And Bryson Tiller
  • THUNDER
    Imagine Dragons
  • GLORIOUS
    Macklemore feat. Skylar Grey
  • STRIP THAT DOWN
    Liam Payne feat. Quavo
  • UNFORGETTABLE
    French Montana feat. Swae Lee
  • SORRY NOT SORRY
    Demi Lovato
  • MAMA
    Jonas Blue feat. William Singe
  • I'M THE ONE
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance The Rapper And Lil Wayne
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem