21 Feb 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Skank Attack - Here on Out Album Review

01 May 2012 // A review by Petros

Why the hell have I never heard of Skank Attack? Perhaps, because I spent the first half of the eighties in a womb, well nine months of it at least, and the last half destroying my parentsí cassette tapes with my teeth.

But with a name that sounds like the Saturday night scene in Palmy, youíd think some one would have mentioned this band to me, knowing how much I hate the Saturday night scene in Palmy.

Thankfully the album is thoughtful, emotive and hard-hitting, nothing like the weekend skank attack at the nightclubs. The album sways between some cleaner, more refined version of punk rock and a less atmospheric and gloomy Joy Division. At times it feels almost as though youíre listening to a 1980s incarnation of Tool. Or an old record from the Cure. Less doom and gloom. More social commentary.

The songs are powerful, driven. The drums are upbeat, the guitar blows past like wind through a wind tunnel. The bass player actually knows how to play bass. There is a certain confidence in the music, but never cockiness. 

For an 80s album itís aged better than the skanks at the nightclubs, who werenít even born when these tracks were born, ever will. Though the vocals have the familiar 80s rock accent, typical of some of the early Flying Nun bands, and the guitars are higher on treble and less distorted than they would be nowdays, this album could easily pass off as something released this decade. Roughan did a good job.

Here On Out
View Track Listing

About Skank Attack

Skank Attack were a Wellington three piece who were highly active in the mid to late 1980′s. They became well known for their energetic and visually strong live performances, a collaborative attitude and a series of great posters designs.

Like so many bands of the era, Skank Attack gained huge inspiration from the Ďmake your own funí ethos of the post punk era and embraced the philosophy with relentless enthusiasm, while consciously avoiding some of the limiting clichťs of the times.

The group toured regularly and struck up a camaraderie with bands in other cities, particularly Auckland groups like Fish for Life, The Warners and Cicada. Aucklandís BFM were particularly supportive in airing their demos whenever they arrived in town.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Skank Attack

Releases

Here On Out
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Skank Attack_Skank Attack
Year: 1987
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Petros

Will Saunders - Album Review: Covers Four
27 Jan 2018 // by Petros
Covers Four, formally and sub titled I Know That We Are Not New (a line taken from the contained cover of Cohenís Hey, Thatís No Way To Say Goodbye) is Will Saunders from The Lowest Fidelityís take on a collection of obscure tracks, which ironically were new to me. Itís the mode now to take on, often poorly, the latest hits of the Billboard charts, posting them to YouTube in the vain hope of riding off the coattails of the songís fame.
Read More...
Album Review: The Lincoln Greene Project
16 Jan 2018 // by Petros
Jimmy Hazelwood, actor and purveyor of acoustic folk, has recently released a new record, but not as himself. This time Jimmy is stepped into the role of Lincoln Greene, bringing you the debut album from this pseudonym, the aptly title The Lincoln Greene Project.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: Shake That Skinny Ass All The Way To Zygertron
22 Dec 2017 // by Petros
Where the hell did this come from? Or perhaps the more appropriate question is when?
Read More...
Three Islands - Album Review: Sunshine for the Soul
01 Dec 2017 // by Petros
While I admit I am usually somewhat resistant to exploring outside my chosen genre, though often reluctantly do so, I was surprised to find I had no issue getting into this album - once I finally convinced myself to start it. The Three Islands album Sunshine for the Soul are to Funk and Soul, what Jakob are to Rock.
Read More...
Sneaky Feelings - Album Review: Progress Junction
22 Oct 2017 // by Petros
I was sure Iíd been sent the wrong album. Pieces of ephemeral memorabilia bookending nostalgic rock didnít suit my usual shtick.
Read More...
EP Review: Tidal Rave
26 Sep 2017 // by Petros
Thereís this book. A novel.
Read More...
Bill Direen and The Bilders - Album Review: Chrysanthemum Storm
22 Aug 2017 // by Petros
I wasnít old enough to lament the discontinuation of the vinyl, so Iím not invested enough in the medium to be a part of the resurgence. But Iím not so blind as to know it isnít happening on the peripheries of my attention span.
Read More...
Grawlixes - Album Review: Set Free
03 Aug 2017 // by Petros
I put things in boxes. We all do, deny it though you will; it is an artifact of the humanís quest for knowledge.
Read More...
View All Articles By Petros

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • ALL THE STARS
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • THESE DAYS
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • IDGAF
    Dua Lipa
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • MINE
    Bazzi
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • NEVER BE THE SAME
    Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem