18 Aug 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Skank Attack - Here on Out Album Review

01 May 2012 // A review by Petros

Why the hell have I never heard of Skank Attack? Perhaps, because I spent the first half of the eighties in a womb, well nine months of it at least, and the last half destroying my parentsí cassette tapes with my teeth.

But with a name that sounds like the Saturday night scene in Palmy, youíd think some one would have mentioned this band to me, knowing how much I hate the Saturday night scene in Palmy.

Thankfully the album is thoughtful, emotive and hard-hitting, nothing like the weekend skank attack at the nightclubs. The album sways between some cleaner, more refined version of punk rock and a less atmospheric and gloomy Joy Division. At times it feels almost as though youíre listening to a 1980s incarnation of Tool. Or an old record from the Cure. Less doom and gloom. More social commentary.

The songs are powerful, driven. The drums are upbeat, the guitar blows past like wind through a wind tunnel. The bass player actually knows how to play bass. There is a certain confidence in the music, but never cockiness. 

For an 80s album itís aged better than the skanks at the nightclubs, who werenít even born when these tracks were born, ever will. Though the vocals have the familiar 80s rock accent, typical of some of the early Flying Nun bands, and the guitars are higher on treble and less distorted than they would be nowdays, this album could easily pass off as something released this decade. Roughan did a good job.

Here On Out
View Track Listing

About Skank Attack

Skank Attack were a Wellington three piece who were highly active in the mid to late 1980′s. They became well known for their energetic and visually strong live performances, a collaborative attitude and a series of great posters designs.

Like so many bands of the era, Skank Attack gained huge inspiration from the Ďmake your own funí ethos of the post punk era and embraced the philosophy with relentless enthusiasm, while consciously avoiding some of the limiting clichťs of the times.

The group toured regularly and struck up a camaraderie with bands in other cities, particularly Auckland groups like Fish for Life, The Warners and Cicada. Aucklandís BFM were particularly supportive in airing their demos whenever they arrived in town.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Skank Attack

Releases

Here On Out
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Skank Attack_Skank Attack
Year: 1987
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Petros

Brendan Pyper - Single Review: No Strings Attached
07 Jul 2018 // by Petros
I think we have this decadeís Daniel Bedingfield on our hands. Diversifying his portfolio, The Latest Falloutís Brendan Pyper has just released his debut single, in the process seemingly leaving his Pop Rock ways behind.
Read More...
Tess Goodwin - Single Review: Grace
07 Jul 2018 // by Petros
In this world of instant gratification, something can be said about a song that can make you feel, even if that feeling is longing. Longing, usually a feeling with negative connotations, is something you miss out on when you can binge watch an entire show or listen to a musicianís whole discography.
Read More...
Emily Fairlight - Album Review: Mother of Gloom
03 May 2018 // by Petros
Autumn at dusk. Sitting in a bay window, knees to chin, wrapped in sweatered arms.
Read More...
Tempist Fujit - Single Review: Daynes Song
26 Apr 2018 // by Petros
'Tis a two-headed beast, Daynes Song, the new single from Northlandís Tempist Fujit. On one side itís jazzy funky 90's Rock riffs, bass licks, and song structure (with complimentary Santana-like solo), the other side modern Rap riffing.
Read More...
Robby Thorne - Album Review: The White Thorn Track
13 Mar 2018 // by Petros
There is a time and place for genre pedantry. I get that categorising artists by genre is a way of qualifying if you will like music before trying it.
Read More...
David Edwards - Album Review: Gleefully Unknown 1997 - 2005
25 Feb 2018 // by Petros
There is the weird and wonderful. And then there is the weird.
Read More...
Will Saunders - Album Review: Covers Four
27 Jan 2018 // by Petros
Covers Four, formally and sub titled I Know That We Are Not New (a line taken from the contained cover of Cohenís Hey, Thatís No Way To Say Goodbye) is Will Saunders from The Lowest Fidelityís take on a collection of obscure tracks, which ironically were new to me. Itís the mode now to take on, often poorly, the latest hits of the Billboard charts, posting them to YouTube in the vain hope of riding off the coattails of the songís fame.
Read More...
Album Review: The Lincoln Greene Project
16 Jan 2018 // by Petros
Jimmy Hazelwood, actor and purveyor of acoustic folk, has recently released a new record, but not as himself. This time Jimmy is stepped into the role of Lincoln Greene, bringing you the debut album from this pseudonym, the aptly title The Lincoln Greene Project.
Read More...
View All Articles By Petros

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • IN MY FEELINGS
    Drake
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • FEFE
    6ix9ine feat. Nicki Minaj And Murda Beatz
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • TASTE
    Tyga feat. Offset
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • STARGAZING
    Travis Scott
  • LUCID DREAMS
    Juice WRLD
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem