19 Aug 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

SINSIN - Layers EP Review

17 Oct 2011 // A review by Alistar3000

I spent a good portion of Sunday afternoon looking for something to listen to that would fit in with a stinking hangover.  It takes a special kind of music to slot into a hangover and I wasn’t having much luck; everything was either too loud, or too mellow, or too fast, or too slow. And then I remembered that I had SINSIN to listen to and it turned out to be just right.

The creation of Motocade guitarist Geordie McCallum, and featuring the musical talents of Zowie bass player Harry Champion and Kerretta drummer Hamish Walker, SINSIN is like a gentle collision between atmospheric electronica and indie rock.

Layers is the first EP, and also the title track (and also my favourite track). It kicks off with the aforementioned title track, a doozy of a song, with some great beats and catchy guitars, before the foot comes of the accelerator and things get laid back, way back.

But while it’s mellow, at no point did it get boring or lose that spark that’s going to draw listeners in like moths to a flame.  And that’s why I ended up listening to these five tracks several times in the course of that Sunday afternoon and feeling all the better for it.

About SINSIN

Motocade guitarist Geordie McCullum returns with a new project under the moniker SINSIN to create a vibrant mix of shoe gaze and ambient rock.

Bringing together three eclectic artists from three renowned Kiwi acts, Geordie is joined by Zowie bass player Harry Champion and Kerretta drummer H. Walker in the live line-up.

After years of experience on the local music scene to the success of several album releases, chart placements and numerous performances, the dynamic trio crossed paths, joined forces and embarked on the new project.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for SINSIN

Releases

Layers
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Alistar3000

Primacy - Single Review: Shade Black
15 Oct 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland 5-piece Primacy are one of those bands that don’t try and hide their influences; their new single Shade Black is a healthy blend of all that was good about ‘90s rock, and that’s not a bad thing. Starting out with a Tool-like intro that soon gives way to a heavier, chugging riff, the song maintains a freshness and urgency throughout.
Read More...
Cairo Knife Fight - Album review: The Colossus
11 Jun 2015 // by Alistar3000
Having seen Cairo Knife Fight perform live many times over the past few years I’d always been under the assumption they were performing songs from a number of prior recordings. So I was a little surprised to discover that The Colossus was actually their first album (they do have a few EPs recorded), and more surprised to find that long time guitarist Aaron Tokona (AHoriBuzz) was no longer a key part of the band, and makes only a small appearance on the album – with that revelation I didn’t know what to expect when I pressed play.
Read More...
Mel Parsons - Album Review: Drylands
05 May 2015 // by Alistar3000
Back in 2011 I reviewed Mel Parsons' second album Red Grey Blue and enjoyed it – it had some well written songs, was well produced, and was easy to listen to. When I first popped in her latest album Drylands, I thought she’d taken a bit of a different path to the alt-country that dominated her first album.
Read More...
Album Review: Tahuna Breaks Live 10
02 Apr 2015 // by Alistar3000
It’s hard to believe that Tahuna Breaks is celebrating 10 years making music together, although they do seem to have always been around, and I guess if anyone’s going to be keeping a record of how long they’ve been making their brand of funkified reggae, it’d be them. To celebrate the occasion they’ve release Tahuna Breaks Live 10 – 10 tracks spanning their career, recorded live last year at a one-off concert to celebrate the milestone (so I guess the album should actually be called 10 + 6 months).
Read More...
State Of Mind - EP Review: Until The World Ends
12 Feb 2015 // by Alistar3000
Auckland drum and bass duo State of Mind are no strangers to collaboration, having worked with the likes of Tiki Taane and PNC to craft some big hitting tracks that achieved a lot of airplay. This time round they’re working with the trio from Black Sun Empire, hailing out of the Netherlands, produce the heavy hitting Until The World Ends EP together.
Read More...
Album Review: Latinaotearoa in Latinoamerica
09 Dec 2014 // by Alistar3000
When I started reading about the concept behind the second Latinaotearoa album it sounded like a good idea and I was quite excited to have a listen to it. If you’re not familiar with the story, Auckland musician Isaac Aesili (Solaa, Opensouls, Eru Dangerspiel, Funkommunity) teamed up once again with Venezualan singer Jennifer Zea, and Brazilian-born DJ Bobby Brazuka, to research and write a bunch of songs in Brazil, then record the album of Latin-influenced tunes in Brazil and Auckland with guest appearances by some great musicians (such as Raiza Biza, Julien Dyne, Riki Gooch and Miguel Fuentes) – what should, on paper, lead to some great experimentation and crossovers of styles.
Read More...
Beastwars Live at San Fran, Wellington 10/10/2014
21 Oct 2014 // by Alistar3000
I was finding it hard to believe that it’d been over 18 months since I last saw Beastwars play in Wellington as I stumbled on down to the newly refurbished San Fran in Wellington last week. I’m not sure why it’d taken me so long to go back to Wellington’s number one metal (or at least heavy rock) band, especially since they’d never disappointed me before.
Read More...
Into Orbit - Caverns Album Review
24 Aug 2014 // by Alistar3000
Wellington two piece noisemakers Into Orbit have an appropriate name for the kind of music they’ve created on their new album Caverns; it’s spacey feeling, often out there and is sure to take off. I wasn’t sure exactly what to expect from the album before listening to it (or even if I’d like it at all), but came away a devoted fan after having it on constant repeat for a couple of days while I explored everything it had to offer (I’m still not there yet, not even close).
Read More...
View All Articles By Alistar3000

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DESPACITO (REMIX)
    Luis Fonsi And Daddy Yankee feat. Justin Bieber
  • FEELS
    Calvin Harris feat. Pharrell Williams, Katy Perry And Big Sean
  • WILD THOUGHTS
    DJ Khaled feat. Rihanna And Bryson Tiller
  • THUNDER
    Imagine Dragons
  • GLORIOUS
    Macklemore feat. Skylar Grey
  • STRIP THAT DOWN
    Liam Payne feat. Quavo
  • UNFORGETTABLE
    French Montana feat. Swae Lee
  • SORRY NOT SORRY
    Demi Lovato
  • MAMA
    Jonas Blue feat. William Singe
  • I'M THE ONE
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance The Rapper And Lil Wayne
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem