23 Jun 2021

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Music News - Kate Owen Announces Debut Album and Tour

Kate Owen Announces Debut Album and Tour

27 February 2020 - 0 Comments

Lyttelton musician Kate Owen has announced her debut album Not A Proper Girl will be released on March 13, 2020 via Owen’s own label Spin Stir Records. The album release will be accompanied by a tour of New Zealand’s main centres Dunedin, Christchurch, Wellington and Auckland from 14 March 2020.

A singer with a poetic, restrained intensity, Owen has been song-writing for twenty years and performing live for over a decade.

Not A Proper Girl, recorded with Ben Edwards (The Sitting Room, Lyttelton), showcases Owen’s songs with rich textures including synth and strings, and strong rhythmic pulses from live kits and drums machines. The result is an album with a sound that has been likened to PJ Harvey and Julee Cruise (Twin Peaks), with a lyrical style echoing Jeff Buckley.

Themes of isolation and grief run strong throughout the album. Song writing is how Kate has worked through life’s struggles; not feeling feminine enough as a young woman; losing her mother to mental illness and then suicide; never having children of her own; and in her own words her ‘disillusionment with romantic love as the modern holy grail of human connection’

Owen’s third single The Void was released on 21 February. The Void is a bold drum driven track setting Jonty O’Connor (ZANE2000) loose to rage on the drum kit, while multi-layered guitars pedal and distort a creating steady driving cacophony. “The Void explores the inevitability of madness and the human desire to seek comfort in others during terrifying times.” Owen explains.

Owen is joined on her Not A Proper Girl album release tour by her band Moses Robbins (guitar), Thomas Isbister (drums) and Kurt Preston (bass).

Not A Proper Girl is distributed by Southbound. All tracks will be available on Apple Music, Spotify and other major streaming platforms. Other artists featuring on the album include Jonty O’Connor (ZANE 2000, Shifting Sands, Emily Fairlight), Shane Bollingford, Tom Harris, Moses Robbins (House of Mountain, Jed Parsons), Anita Clark (Motte, Devilish Mary), Elmore Jones, Ben Edwards, and Mike Fordham. All tracks are written by Kate Owen.


MARCH 14 – Dunedin - BARK

MARCH 21 – Auckland – Freida Margolis

APRIL 03 – Christchurch – Lyttelton Coffee Company

APRIL 18 – Wellington – The Third Eye

Tickets are available at www.undertheradar.co.nz

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
    Olivia Rodrigo
    Olivia Rodrigo
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
    Olivia Rodrigo
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem