21 Sep 2018

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Music News - Who will the next winner of the Taite Music Prize be?

Who will the next winner of the Taite Music Prize be?

13 January 2018 - 0 Comments

The Taite Music Prize highlights outstanding New Zealand albums released in the past year. The award is open to all genres of music and judged on artistic merit, regardless of genre, sales, or record label.

IMNZ General Manager, Dylan Pellett says, "The award acknowledges originality and musicianship rather than commercial success. An album could conceivably win the Taite Music Prize that has sold five copies because the award is independent of radio play or sales figures, and open to every genre. It’s been great to see the growing interest in the winning artists amongst industry circles overseas - it serves as a positive indicator for our healthy creative sector.”

The eponym for the awards is the late Dylan Taite, one of the New Zealand’s most respected TV music journalists. He became known for his Liverpudlian wry wit and his unabashed chutzpah-love of music. Dylan’s unique style captured some rare interviews over the decades. Interviews with The Sex Pistols, Deep Purple, and the career-defining Bob Marley are still referenced today.

Dylan’s son, John Taite comments, “The Taite Music Prize is designed to reward those curious souls brave enough to take musical risks. Their experimentation gives others the confidence to try something new. That was what Dad stood for. Dylan was always focused on talent. ...whether that talent was destined for popular success didn't really interest him so much."

Any New Zealand album released during the calendar year of 2017 is eligible for nomination for the Taite Music Prize 2018. The winner receives a cash prize of $10,000, supplied by Recorded Music NZ.  Red Bull Studios Auckland also offers the winner free recording time at their facilities and a year’s supply of products.

2017 winners Street Chant have used their prize to reignite hope for the new album. Band member Emily Edrosa says, “It was a privilege to win the Taite award in 2017.  It felt especially great after a notably arduous recording process. We are very proud and so are our families!  The prize has meant maybe the third Street Chant album will see the light of day yet, and the years supply of Coronas ran out last week.”

All current members of IMNZ vote to produce the shortlisted finalist albums. An independent panel debates and scrutinises the shortlisted albums to decide the winner. That panel comprises musicians, journalists and music industry professionals with a wide variety of different professional backgrounds and personal tastes.

The announcement of the winner will happen in Auckland at The Civic's Wintergarden on 17th April 2018.

The ceremony also includes the award presentation of the Independent Music NZ Classic Record. This award acknowledges one New Zealand record released over 20 years ago on an independent label. These records, whether a 12”, a compilation, EP, or full-length album, have become quintessential gold nuggets of our musical history.

Last year’s panel gave the nod to the The Clean’s Boodle Boodle Boodle recording as one of NZ’s classic records. Robert Scott from The Clean reflects,“The Taite music award means a lot to The Clean. Dylan had wonderful taste in music. We are very proud to be amongst it.”

Returning for 2018 is the Auckland Live - Best Independent Debut award celebrating the freshest talent of Aotearoa. The winner receives  a $2000 cash prize plus a live performance slot programmed at Auckland Live.

Last year’s inaugural winner was Merk with the recording Swordfish"When you get positive feedback for your art, especially from your peers in the industry who you respect heaps, it's really special. And the prize money was SO helpful in getting my band and I overseas playing shows. I'm very thankful for the Taite Awards!"

For more detail on specific eligibility and nomination forms please visit: http://www.indies.co.nz.

Nominations close 5.00pm on 6th February 2018.

The Taite Music Prize

Presented by: Independent Music New Zealand (IMNZ)

Founding Partner: Recorded Music NZ

Official Partners: NZ On Air / The Taite Family

Event Partners: Auckland Live

Supporting Partners: NZ Music Commission / APRA AMCOS / Media Arts Lawyers / Merlin /
Red Bull Studios Auckland / Commotion Ltd. / McCarthy Design

Media Partners: 95bFM

Charity Partners: The NZ Music Foundation

Previous winners of The Taite Prize:

2010 - Lawrence Arabia Chant Darling (Honorary Bedouin Records)
2011 - Ladi6 - The Liberation Of (What? Music)
2012 - Unknown Mortal OrchestraUnknown Mortal Orchestra (Seeing Records)
2013 – SJD - Elastic Wasteland (Round Trip Mars)
2014 – Lorde - Pure Heroine (Universal Music NZ)
2015 – JakobSines (Shoot The Freak)
2016 – Silicon - Personal Computer (Weird World/Domino Recordings)
2017 - Street Chant - Hauora (Arch Hill Recordings)

Previous Winners of the  Independent Music NZ Classic Record:

2013 – Gordons – Gordons (Flying Nun)
2014 – Various Artists – AK79 (Ripper Records)
2015 – HerbsWhat’s Be Happen? (Warrior Records)
2016 – Upper Hutt PosseE Tū (Jayrem Records)
2017 - The Clean - Boodle Boodle Boodle (Flying Nun)

Previous Winners of the Auckland Live Best Independent Debut:

2017 - Merk - Swordfish (self released)

Next: South Australian Band Kings & Associates Announce Two NZ Shows

Prev: Marlon Williams Shares Video For 'What's Chasing You'


There are currently no comments for this article. Please log in to add new comments.

Return to News Archive

NZ Top 10 Singles

    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
    Eminem feat. Joyner Lucas
    Dean Lewis
    Kanye West And Lil Pump
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
    George Ezra
  • FALL
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem