2 Apr 2020

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Home »
  • News »
  • Winners Announced For the 2016 APRA Silver Scroll Awards

Music News - Winners Announced For the 2016 APRA Silver Scroll Awards

Winners Announced For the 2016 APRA Silver Scroll Awards

30 September 2016 - 0 Comments

Wellington singer-songwriter and internationally acclaimed musician Thomas Oliver has won the 2016 APRA Silver Scroll Award with his captivating love song If I Move To Mars.
Thomas Oliver accepted the prestigious award at a ceremony held at Vector Arena in Auckland tonight. The accolade acknowledges excellence in songwriting and has in the past been awarded to some of the most recognisable names and songs in New Zealand music, from the Swingers' Counting The Beat and Bic Runga’s Drive to Scribe and P-Money’s Not Many and Lorde and Joel Little’s Royals.
A sweet and simple, yet compelling, love song, Thomas Oliver says, “On the surface, it's a light-hearted song about taking someone to Mars and lying in the dirt, drinking Cognac and listening to records. But at its core, it's a love song and I meant every word."
“It’s a wonderful thing to recognise talented and hardworking songwriters like Thomas” says Anthony Healey, Head of NZ Operations for APRA AMCOS. “The acclaim of your peers is special, it’s the highest praise and in this case a well-deserved accolade.”
Critically acclaimed musician and songwriter Sean James Donnelly (SJD) was the musical director of tonight’s 51st APRA Silver Scrolls ceremony, which saw a host of other Kiwi songwriters collect awards.
The incomparable Rob Ruha took the esteemed APRA Maioha Award, recognising exceptional waiata featuring te reo Māori, for his stirring battle anthem Kariri. The East Coast singer-songwriter is now a two-time recipient of the award.
Wellington composer and violinist, Salina Fisher, won the SOUNZ Contemporary Award for her exquisite composition Rainphase, inspired by the beauty and chaos of rain in the capital.
The APRA Best Original Music in a Feature Film Award was won by Mahuia Bridgman-Cooper and Tama Waipara for their work on the Lee Tamahori-directed movie Mahana.
One-time Supergroove frontman and well-known composer of music for film and television, Karl Steven, received the APRA Best Original Music in a Series Award for the drama 800 Words.
Rounding off the evening was the induction of Moana Maniapoto into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame. As one of the most recognisable and important voices in Aotearoa, Moana Maniapoto was honoured for the significant impact she has had on the New Zealand life and culture through her music.
The event was supported by RNZ and hosted by RNZ’s John Campbell and proudly supported by Panhead Custom Ales.

The winner of all awards were:
APRA Silver Scroll Award: Thomas OliverIf I Move to Mars
APRA Maioha Award: Rob RuhaKariri
SOUNZ Contemporary Award: Salina Fisher – Rainphase
APRA Best Original Music in a Feature Film Award: Mahuia Bridgman-Cooper & Tama WaiparaMahana
APRA Best Original Music in a Series Award: Karl Steven – 800 Words
Hall of Fame: Moana Maniapoto

Next: NZ Music Foundation Launches World First Wellbeing Service

Prev: Rob Ruha Wins the APRA Maioha Award at the APRA Silver Scroll Awards


There are currently no comments for this article. Please log in to add new comments.

Return to News Archive

NZ Top 10 Singles

    The Weeknd
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
    Roddy Ricch
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
    Powfu feat. beabadoobee
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem