18 Jun 2021

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Home »
  • News »
  • 2014 APRA Silver Scroll Awards – The Finalists announced

Music News - 2014 APRA Silver Scroll Awards – The Finalists announced

2014 APRA Silver Scroll Awards – The Finalists announced

18 September 2014 - 0 Comments

APRA AMCOS announced today the finalists for the 2014 APRA Silver Scroll Awards, including finalists for Māori music, contemporary composition, screen music, as well as the coveted APRA Silver Scroll Award.

The top five songs in line for the 2014 APRA Silver Scroll Award are: The top five songs in line for the 2014 APRA Silver Scroll Award are:

The top five songs in line for the 2014 APRA Silver Scroll Award are:

Back on My Feet, written and performed by Louis Baker.

Bob Lennon John Dylan, written by Samuel Scott, Luke Buda, Conrad Wedde, William Ricketts, Thomas Callwood and Christopher O'Connor, performed by The Phoenix Foundation (Native Tongue Music Publishing).

Bridges, written by Georgia Nott*, Joel Little^ and Caleb Nott*, performed by Broods (*Sony/ATV Music Publishing AustraliaP/L obo Sony/ATV Allegro, ^EMI Music Publishing Australia Pty Ltd).

Me At The Museum, You In The Wintergardens, written by Hollie Fullbrook, Alexander Freer and Cass Mitchell, performed by Tiny Ruins.

Walk (Back To Your Arms), written by Tami Neilson and Joshua Neilson, performed by Tami Neilson.

“These five songs illustrate the breadth and depth of the music being created in New Zealand today. All five songs are wonderfully different but share the same quality of exceptional songwriting” says APRA’s Anthony Healey.

The Silver Scroll Award is New Zealand’s most prestigious music award. Since 1965 it has paid tribute to an impressive list of songwriters, with an honour roll that includes Ray Columbus, Neil Finn, Don McGlashan, Dave Dobbyn, Bic Runga, Chris Knox, Brooke Fraser, The Naked and Famous, and last year New Zealand’s own superstar, Lorde. The winner of the award is decided by the votes of the 10,000 strong APRA membership, comprised of songwriters and composers.

Also announced today are the finalists for the APRA Maioha and SOUNZ Contemporary awards, as well as the finalists for two new awards – APRA Best Original Music in a Feature Film and the APRA Best Original Music in a Series.

The finalists for the 2014 APRA Maioha Award, celebrating excellence in Māori Music are:

Kati Ra, written by Maraea Davies, performed by RJ Kerswell.
Kei Muri Pea, written by Kororia Taumaunu, Amomai Pihama and Matt Sadgrove, performed by Manea.
Tiki Tapu, written and performed by Rob Ruha.

The finalists for the 2014 SOUNZ Contemporary Award, celebrating excellence in contemporary composition are: 

Aquae Sulis - for orchestra of winds, strings, harp and percussion, composed by Leonie Holmes.
Inner Phases - for Chinese instrument ensemble and string quartet, composed by Michael Norris.
Macropsia - for orchestra, composed by Celeste Oram.

The finalists for the 2014 APRA Best Original Music in a Feature Film Award are:

Beyond the Edge, written / composed by David Long (Native Tongue Publishing).
Field Punishment No. 1, written / composed by Victoria Kelly.
Romeo & Juliet: A Love Song, written / composed by Michael O’Neill and Peter Van Der Fluit.

The finalists for the 2014 APRA Best Original Music in a Series Award are:

Girl Vs. Boy (Season 2), written / composed by Tom Mcleod.
Harry, written / composed by Karl Steven (Native Tongue Music Publishing).
Wiki the Kiwi (Season 1), written by Andrew McDowall.

All awards will be presented at the APRA Silver Scroll Awards, along with the Most Performed Works awards and a very special induction into the NZ Music Hall of Fame. 

The Silver Scroll Awards will be held at Wellington’s TSB Arena on Thursday 30th October. The awards will be streamed live on NZ Herald Online bought to you by Yealands Family Wines.

The 2014 APRA Silver Scroll Awards are kindly supported by Wellington City Council, Yealands Family Wines and Budweiser. 

Next: NZ Performers Competition Opens for WOMAD 2015

Prev: Westfest 2015


There are currently no comments for this article. Please log in to add new comments.

Return to News Archive

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
    Olivia Rodrigo
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
    Olivia Rodrigo
    Olivia Rodrigo
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem