4 Aug 2020

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Home »
  • News »
  • Dawn Raid Music & Pasifika Festival Present Volume 2 Of The Greatest Hits From The South Pacific

Music News - Dawn Raid Music & Pasifika Festival Present Volume 2 Of The Greatest Hits From The South Pacific

Dawn Raid Music & Pasifika Festival Present Volume 2 Of The Greatest Hits From The South Pacific

19 February 2011 - 0 Comments

To coincide with the 2011 Pasifika Festival, Dawn Raid Entertainment will release Pasifika-The Collection: Volume 2 on March 7th 2011, the follow up to the landmark # 1 album Pasifika:The Collection in 2010. The track listing of 30 Pacific classics from both contemporary and traditional Polynesian artists features platinum and gold hits from Monsta, J Williams, Ladi 6, Nesian Mystik, Boo Yaa Tribe, House Of Shem, DLT feat. Che Fu and current Hawaiian reggae sensation, J Boog.
Pasifika-The Collection: Volume 2 is the official CD of the 2011 Pasifika Festival and is the second volume in an annual collaboration between Dawn Raid and the Pasifika Festival.
Pasifika Festival Director, Ole Maiava says, "Volume 2 is a great follow-up to last year’s inaugural compilation. What I like about these CDs is that many of the artists featured have at one stage in their careers had some connection to Pasifika Festival. These albums will be great gifts for family overseas that are missing their injection of great Poly-Fusion music, and I can just hear the car stereos blaring around Auckland with this must-have addition to any music collection."
The Collection is strong in following cultural traditions, and as such has continued the precedent set by Volume 1 by including Polynesian classics previously un-released on CD in New Zealand, including the biggest Polynesian hit of 2010 / 2011 "Lets Do It Again" by Hawaiian Reggae star J Boog, plus rare gems from Carson California originals Brownzville "Breezin (Thru My City)" and Boo Yaa Tribe "Ballers Prayer" & "Ghetto Testimonies (Mama’s song)".
With tracks selected and compiled by Dawn Raid Entertainment co-founders, Brotha D and Andy Murnane, Pasifika - The Collection: Volume 2 has been completely re-mastered to ensure a level of sound quality that makes this compilation a must have for any true kiwi music collection in 2011.
Speaking on the album, Brotha D says, "It’s no secret that the Pacific is home to some of the most exotic, untouched and authentic musicians history will ever know. This album is a continuation of our life long pursuit to record and release the best pacific voices and cultural talent, presenting them on a platform for their peers and fans to appreciate and support. The Poly Movement continues to get stronger, year by year and this is the soundtrack."


Disc 1
1. J Boog - Let's Do It Again
2. NesianMystik - Sun Goes Down
3. Frisko feat. Aaradhna - Music
4. J Williams feat. Scribe - U Got Me
5. Jamoa Jam - Pacific Colours
6. Boo Yaa Tribe - Ballers Prayer
7. Ladi6 - Walk Right Up
8. House of Shem - Sweet Love
9. Brownzville - Breezin
10. Cydel - Ruffie
11. Savage - They Don't Know
12. DLT feat. Che Fu - Chains
13. OMC - We are the O.M.C
14. Ill Semantics - Highway
15. Tiki Taane - Summertime
Disc 2
1. Herbs - E Papa
2. Katchafire - Who You With
3. Boo Yaa Tribe - Ghetto Testimonies
4. Monsta feat. J Boog - This Is Love
5. Tha Feelstyle - Suamalie
6. David Dallas - I Get The Feelin
7. Sweet & Irie - Jenny
8. DJCXL - Natural
9. Chong Nee - Walk My Way
10. J Boog - Waiting on the Rain
11. Pieter T - Can't Stop Loving You
12. PNC feat. Awa - ½ Kast
13. Adeaze - E Paia
14. Jamoa Jam - A Samoan Wedding Song
15. The Sons of Zion - Waiting Right Here

The compilation album will be available from March 7 2011.

Next: Liam Finn to play two small Auckland concerts and releases a new single

Prev: Soundstage 2011 – call for submissions


There are currently no comments for this article. Please log in to add new comments.

Return to News Archive

NZ Top 10 Singles

    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
    Taylor Swift
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
    Taylor Swift feat. Bon Iver
  • THE 1
    Taylor Swift
    Jack Harlow
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem