25 Feb 2021

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Music News - Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards 2010: Finalists

Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards 2010: Finalists

01 September 2010 - 0 Comments

Gin Wigmore, Dane Rumble, and The Phoenix Foundation feature strongly in the finalists list for the 2010 Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards.

Gin and Dane Rumble are finalists in six categories and the Phoenix Foundation in five. Anika Moa and J. Williams are finalists in three categories each. 

The finalists were announced this evening at a function at Auckland’s Langham Hotel. The winning artists are set to be honoured at the 45th annual Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards when the red carpet is once again rolled out at Vector Arena in Auckland on October 7. 

Behind-the-scenes work on The Phoenix Foundation’s Buffalo saw the album win three Tuis tonight in the Technical Awards sections. MAINZ Best Producer went to the band, who self produced the album; MAINZ Best Engineer went to Lee Prebble; and Best Cover to Paul Johnston.

The Phoenix Foundation also line up in the prestigious Vodafone Album of the Year category which includes Anika Moa (Love in Motion), Dane Rumble (The Experiment), Gin Wigmore (Holy Smoke), Shapeshifter (The System is a Vampire), and The Phoenix Foundation (Buffalo).

The Phoenix Foundation, Dane Rumble and Gin are also finalists in the Vodafone Single of the Year category for their singles ‘Buffalo’, ´Cruel’ and ‘Oh My’ respectively.  J. Williams (You Got Me) and Kids of 88 (Just A Little Bit) round out the category finalists.

Also announced today was the recipient of the New Zealand Herald Legacy Award – Shihad.  The band will be officially honoured at the main awards ceremony and will also be inducted into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame.

Awards spokesperson, RIANZ CEO Campbell Smith, says the finalists list again shows the depth of New Zealand music.

"There’s a real mix of new talent and seasoned artists in the finalists line-up. It’s great to see people like Gin and Dane coming through strongly, but also to see bands like Dimmer and Shapeshifter, and artists like Anika and Hollie being recognised for their contribution to Kiwi music.

"Internationally there has been a real move to pop music, and this is reflected in the finalists, but what is fantastic is that all the finalists have a unique ‘Kiwi-ness’ that comes through in their music."

The winners of Technical Awards were:

  • Best Album Cover – Paul Johnson – “Buffalo” (The Phoenix Foundation)
  • MAINZ Best Engineer - Lee Prebble – “Buffalo” (The Phoenix Foundation)
  • MAINZ Best Producer – The Phoenix Foundation – “Buffalo”

Smith says: "It's great to see a band and album making a clean sweep of the technical awards. Every year we expect to see Lee Prebble’s name in the shortlist, and another Best Producer win is testament to all the hard work he has done helping create some of the country’s best albums.

Smith says he's really excited that the Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards are being held at Vector Arena for the third year in a row, and hopes that music lovers will snap up the $20 tickets and come along.

"It'll be a really special night, celebrating another great year of New Zealand music and especially to pay tribute to, in my opinion, New Zealand’s greatest rock band - the mighty Shihad".

The Tuis presented at the Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards 2010 ceremony are:

Vodafone Album of the Year, Vodafone Single of the Year, Steinlager Pure Best Group, Best Male Solo Artist, Mazda Best Female Solo Artist, Pacific Blue Breakthrough Artist of the Year, Best Pop Album, C4 Best Music Video, Vodafone People’s Choice, PPNZ Best Rock Album, Best Urban / Hip Hop Album, Kiwi FM Best Aotearoa Roots Album, New Zealand Herald Legacy Award, Best Electronica Album, Best Gospel / Christian Album, Best Classical Album

No finalists are announced for the Highest Selling NZ Single, Highest Selling NZ Album and the New Zealand On Air RadioAirplay Record of the Year awards. These, along with the International Achievement award – which is judged by the RIANZ Board and awarded at the Board’s discretion – will be announced at the main awards on October 7.

Public tickets to the Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards cost just $20 excluding applicable booking fees and are available exclusively through Ticketmaster. Tickets are on sale now.

For more information about the Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards go to www.nzmusicawards.co.nz


Vodafone Album of The Year
Anika Moa – Love in Motion
Dane Rumble – The Experiment
Gin Wigmore – Holy Smoke
Shapeshifter – The System Is A Vampire
The Phoenix Foundation – Buffalo

Vodafone Single of The Year
Dane Rumble – Cruel
Gin Wigmore – Oh My
J.Williams – You Got Me
Kids Of 88 – Just A Little Bit
The Phoenix Foundation – Buffalo

Steinlager Pure Best Group
Shapeshifter – The System Is A Vampire
The Checks – Alice By The Moon
The Phoenix Foundation – Buffalo

Best Male Solo Artist
Connan Mockasin – Please Turn Me Into The Snat
Dane Rumble – The Experiment
J.Williams – Young Love

Mazda Best Female Solo Artist
Anika Moa – Love in Motion
Gin Wigmore – Holy Smoke
Hollie Smith – Humour And The Misfortune Of Others

Pacific Blue Breakthrough Artist of The Year
Artisan Guns – Autumn
Dane Rumble – The Experiment
Gin Wigmore – Holy Smoke

PPNZ Best Rock Album
Dimmer – Degrees of Existence
The Checks – Alice By The Moon
The Phoenix Foundation – Buffalo

Best Pop Album
Anika Moa – Love in Motion
Dane Rumble – The Experiment
Gin Wigmore – Holy Smoke

Best Urban / Hip Hop Album
David Dallas – Something Awesome
J.Williams – Young Love
Young Sid – What Doesn't Kill Me

Kiwi FM Best Aotearoa Roots Album
Fly My Pretties – A Story
Hollie Smith – Humour And The Misfortune Of Others
Opensouls – Standing In The Rain

C4 Best Music Video
Nathan Hickey –Buffalo (The Phoenix Foundation)
Sam Peacocke – Sleepeater (Shihad)
Tim Van Dammen – Just A Little Bit (Kids Of 88)

Best Electronica Album
Bulletproof – Soundtrack To Forever
P-Money – Everything
Shapeshifter – The System Is A Vampire

Best Gospel / Christian Album
Edwin Derricutt – Three Hours South
John Michaelz – Walk on Water
Magnify – Wonderland

Best Classical Album
John Psathas – UKIYO
Simon O’Neill – Father & Son: Wagner Scenes & Arias
Strike Percussion – Sketches

Vodafone Peoples’ Choice
Gin Wigmore
Dane Rumble
Kids of 88
Stan Walker

Next: APRA Silver Scroll Awards 2010: The Winners

Prev: General Fiasco: Powerstation Auckland


There are currently no comments for this article. Please log in to add new comments.

Return to News Archive

NZ Top 10 Singles

    Olivia Rodrigo
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
    Niko Walters
    Glass Animals
    The Kid LAROI
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem