22 Oct 2021

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Home »
  • News »
  • Eddie Low & Topp Twins Win At 2009 National Country Music Awards Of New Zealand

Music News - Eddie Low & Topp Twins Win At 2009 National Country Music Awards Of New Zealand

18 August 2009 - 0 Comments

On Saturday 15th August 2009, at the beautiful Founders Theatre, Hamilton, New Zealand, a HUGE audience witnessed an awesome night of the very best of New Zealand's Country Music Professionals and new artists.

First time host Jason Reeves, from Classic Hits, had the packed crowd in the palm of his hand. "I didn't know what to expect, but when I saw the talent of the artists, I knew I had to step up as well, I had a blast"

One of the most touching moments of the night was when Eddie Low received the Country Music Legend Award. "I am so overwhelmed, I don't know what to say, thank you so much". Country Music Female Artist of the year Marian Burns was totally humbled by the Award and thanked the support of her husband, family and supporters. Dennis Marsh nabbed his second consecutive Country Music Male Artist of the year.

The Topp Twins took out the Country Music Group/Duo Award, currently touring in America were unable to attend the Awards.

The Horizon Award went to Cameron Clayton from Auckland who sang one of his Original songs, "Take a step back". Cameron received a year's supply of free pizza from Romano's Representative Mike Kirkpatrick-Bartlett. Cameron will also appear in events in America and Australia as part of his prize.

Mr Rob Potts congratulated the city of Hamilton for supporting these awards and encouraged them to hold on to this event as it is going to grow and become an icon event for Hamilton. Rob also mentioned the growing relationship between NZ and Australia in exchanging the NZ Horizon Winner with the Telstra Road to Tamworth Winner each year. Peter McWhirter the reigning Telstra Road to Tamworth winner impressed the audience, with his blistering guitar work when he sang his original "Chasing Girls".

Presenters included Jess Tuki, Jess Langman, Rose Campbell (Creative NZ), Rob Potts (International Director CMA America), Hamilton Mayor Bob Simcock and Gray Bartlett.

With glittering lights, fantastic sound and top artists from throughout NZ, the audience were witness to a night to be remembered.

Thanks to www.kiwiproamcountrymusic.co.nz for this story.

Next: Smokefreerockquest 2009 national finalists

Prev: IMNZ Dr Boondigga Holds the Top Spot


There are currently no comments for this article. Please log in to add new comments.

Return to News Archive

NZ Top 10 Singles

    Elton John And Dua Lipa
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
    Ed Sheeran
    Ed Sheeran
    Glass Animals
    Billie Eilish
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem