20 Oct 2019

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Music News - NZ On Air April Decisions

NZ On Air April Decisions

25 April 2009 - 0 Comments

Music Videos

This is the second Music Video funding round for 2009 (but the fifth and second-to-last for the 2008/2009 funding year to 30 June). This funding year, we are budgeting on doing 170 music videos, which means that we can do, on average, 28-29 projects in each of the six funding rounds through the year.

This time we got a record 167 applications. Of the 167 applications, 60 songs made it to the first shortlist, based on feedback from the music television broadcasters when we tested the songs.

However, we can't afford to do 60 projects and so, as usual, we had to go through a second shortlisting and prioritising process, as a result of which we will do 28 projects in this round.

The successful applications are listed below. Each project will get $5,000 to make a music video, subject to our standard terms and conditions of music video funding.

Decisions are based on the airplay potential of the song and the strategic value of the music video to the radio airplay campaign. Airplay potential is measured by first testing the songs with the music video broadcasters, and then we factor in current radio priorities.

• Bionic Pixie - 'Quit Breathing'
• Boh Runga - 'Evelyn'
• Cobra Khan - 'Walk Through Fire'
• Cut Off Your Hands - 'Let's Get Out Of Here'
• Dei Hamo - 'Lyka Teen'
• Deja Voodoo - 'Empire'
• Jonny Love - 'Take Me Home'
• J Williams feat Lavina Williams - 'Stand With You'
• Ladi6 - 'Give Me The Light'
• Luke Thompson - 'Satellites'
• Lydia Cole - 'Tonight'
• Midnight Youth - 'Golden Love'
• Minuit - '25 Bucks'
• Nathan King - 'Eyes For You'
• Opensouls - 'Hold You Close'
• Pluto - 'Snake Charmer'
• P-Money - 'Feel Good'
• PNC - 'Tonight'
• Savage - 'Hot Like Fire'
• Smashproof - 'Ordinary Life'
• Sweet & Irie - 'Jenny'
• Tha Feelstyle - 'Sometimes When It Rains'
• The Checks - 'Til The Dance Is Over'
• The Datsuns - 'Cruel Cruel Fate'
• The Mint Chicks - 'Hot On Your Heels'
• These Four Walls - 'Sweet December'
• Timmy Schumacher feat Jason Kerrison - 'Sunrise'
• Vince Harder - 'Without You'

Radio Hits

(based on airplay in the January/March 2009 quarter)

In this Radio Hits funding round, we will do the usual five projects.

The five that we will do this time are songs that have picked up significant airplay on radio in the first quarter of 2009. Each project will get $5,000 (or the actual cost of recording and releasing the single, whichever is the lesser), subject to our standard terms and conditions of Radio Hits funding.

Decisions are based on analysing the RadioScope airplay charts, which are in turn based on airplay returns from 100+ radio stations around the country. However, remember that songs that have picked up significant airplay in this quarter but have already been funded via the Phase Four Album or New Recordings schemes are not also eligible for Radio Hits funding.

• 'Beside You' by Anika Moa & Opshop
• 'Whoever Said' by The Feelers
• 'Strobelight' by Vince Harder
• 'Business' by Pieter T featuring PNC & Dei Hamo
• 'Miracle' by Josh Leys

Thanks to www.nzonair.govt.nz for this story.

Next: Cookie Time dDub Adoption Ceremony and Photo Opportunity

Prev: Cookie Time to officially adopt kiwi band


There are currently no comments for this article. Please log in to add new comments.

Return to News Archive

NZ Top 10 Singles

    Tones And I
    Post Malone
    Travis Scott
    Maroon 5
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
    Harry Styles
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem