29 Jan 2023

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Home »
  • News »
  • Announcing the finalists for the APRA Silver Scroll Award 2008

Music News - Announcing the finalists for the APRA Silver Scroll Award 2008

Announcing the finalists for the APRA Silver Scroll Award 2008

07 August 2008 - 0 Comments

The songwriters and composers of New Zealand – the 6,500+ APRA Members – have spoken. A list of the Top 20 songs of the past year was issued last month, and from this list the songwriting champions for 2008 have been chosen.

APRA is proud to announce the 5 finalists for New Zealand’s most prestigious songwriting award, the APRA Silver Scroll:

- Liam Finn - Gather To The Chapel
- Anika Moa - Dreams In My Head
- Dave Gibson & Justyn Pilbrow (Elemeno P) - Baby Come On
- Jason Kerrison, Bobby Kennedy, Matt Treacy & Clinton Harris (Opshop) - One Day
- Samuel Scott, Luke Buda, Tom Wedde, William Ricketts, Richard Singleton & Warner Emery (The Phoenix Foundation) - Bright Grey

Not only are the finalists chosen by their peers, their works will also be performed by their peers. Unique renditions of each of the above songs will be performed at the invite only APRA Silver Scroll Awards on Wednesday 10th September at the Auckland Town Hall.

“This is a richly sought after prize. It’s been called the Ranfuly Shield of the music world and these five songs absolutely do it justice, but only one though gets to hold the Scroll for the next twelve months.” says Anthony Healey, APRA’s Director of New Zealand Operations.

Along with the presentation of the Silver Scroll, there will be another surprise induction to the New Zealand Music Hall Of Fame; a nod to the Most Performed Work in New Zealand; plus the presentation of the following awards:

The APRA Maioha Award – celebrating contemporary Maori music. The finalists are:

- Carol Storey - Kirikiri O Te Wa
- Ruia Aperahama - Rere Reta Rere Rata
- Maitreya - Waitaha

SOUNZ Contemporary Award – recognising creative excellence by a New Zealand contemporary classical composer. The finalists are:

- Christopher Cree Brown - Remote Presence
- Peter Scholes - Requiem Concerto
- Chris Gendall - Wax Lyrical

Healey notes, “It’s again been a stellar year. Music in New Zealand is as diverse and original as ever. Each of the finalists in each category, without question capture our imagination and demand our attention. It is our pleasure to celebrate them all.”

Thanks to www.apra.co.nz for this story.

Next: Revolutionary Online Music Service Launches In Kiwi Market

Prev: IMNZ News: Conchords Still Perched at the Top


There are currently no comments for this article. Please log in to add new comments.

Return to News Archive

NZ Top 10 Singles

    Miley Cyrus
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
    Taylor Swift
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem