5 Oct 2022

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Music News - NZ music awards honour stars young and old

NZ music awards honour stars young and old

19 October 2007 - 0 Comments

The new generation are the big winners at the 2007 Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards announced in Auckland tonight (October 18, 2007).

It’s a multi-Tui night for Hollie Smith and The Mint Chicks who take home three Tuis. Australia-based artists, Feilding-raised band Evermore and Wellington singer Brooke Fraser each snare two awards.

The Mint Chicks take out the coveted Nokia Album of the Year Tui with Crazy? Yes! Dumb? No! as well as the Steinlager Pure Best Group award and PPNZ Best Rock Album.

Hollie Smith bathes in the glory of Mazda Best Female Artist, KIWI FM Breakthrough Artist and Best Aotearoa Roots Album for Long Player.

Evermore takes home two Tuis including the Vodafone Single of the Year for Light Surrounding You and the 2007 International Achievement Award.

Brooke Fraser’s Albertine takes out The Warehouse Highest Selling Album, while the album’s lead single Deciphering Me is awarded the Tui for the NZ on Air Airplay Record of the Year.

Johnny Devlin is also honoured for his contribution to New Zealand Music. Devlin receives The New Zealand Herald Legacy Award for his ground-breaking work as the Nation’s first rock’n’roller. He has also been inducted into New Zealand’s Music Hall of Fame.

Devlin also received a special tribute at the awards ceremony from Jon Toogood (Shihad), Shayne Carter (Dimmer), Paul Roper (The Mint Chicks) and Mike Hall (Pluto). The specially-formed supergroup, the New Devils, performed their own rendition of Devlin’s classic hit Lawdy Miss Clawdy.

Others taking home Tuis in 2007 are:

The Vodafone People’s Choice Award, voted by New Zealand music fans:


C4 Best Music Video:

Sam Peacocke for The Mint Chicks’ Crazy? Yes! Dumb? No!

Best Urban/Hip Hop Album:

PNC for Rookie Card

Best Dance / Electronica Album:

Shapeshifter picks up the for Solstice

Highest Selling Singles:

Atlas for Crawl

Best Maori Album:

Richard Nunns & Hirini Melbourne for Te Whaiao: Te Ku Te Whe Remixed

Best Gospel / Christian Album:

Rapture Ruckus, I Believe.

Best Male Solo Artist:

Tim Finn for Imaginary Kingdom (his 15th album either in collaboration or as a solo artist)

Best Classical Album:

John Psathas for View From Olympus.

New Zealand Music Awards spokesperson Campbell Smith says the music industry is delighted to see such a strong showing by the relative newcomers.

“Tonight’s awards clearly show the industry is very strong and there is a great deal of young talent coming through - that is a very healthy state indeed.

“Having heaped praise on our newest stars, we are also delighted to honour Johnny Devlin, our original Mr Rock ‘n Roll, with the New Zealand Herald Legacy Award.”

Edited highlights of the 2007 Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards are being screened tonight (October 18) on C4 from 8.30pm and on TV3 this Sunday (October 22).

Thanks to www.nzmusicawards.co.nz for this story.

Next: Smokefree Rockquest Winner Announced

Prev: Vodafone Juice TV Award Winners!


There are currently no comments for this article. Please log in to add new comments.

Return to News Archive

NZ Top 10 Singles

    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
    Nicki Minaj
    Chris Brown
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
    Eliza Rose And Interplanetary Criminal
    Harry Styles
    Steve Lacy
    Luude And Mattafix
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem