1 Apr 2020

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig & Concert News - Matterhorn presents Local Legends at The Session

Matterhorn presents Local Legends at The Session

24 July 2012 - 0 Comments

Wellington's only weekly jam night, The Session, has been dishing out jams every Wednesday night at Matterhorn for 9 months running now thanks to a thriving Wellington music community and throughout August and September The Session will introduce a series that features some of the star talents that the creative capital harbours.  

Every fortnight starting Wednesday the 8th of August, Local legends at The Session will feature a special guest musician who excels in their field and calls Wellington home. Drummer and 2011 Vodafone NZ Music Award winner for Jazz Album Of The Year, Reuben Bradley, will be the first local legend to guest at The Session, followed by fellow drummer Darren Mathiassen (Bella Kalolo band, Hollie Smith band, The Nok), Saxophonist, Dan Yeabsley (Twinset, The Eggs, Shogun Orchestra) and Bassist, Crete Haami (Hollie Smith band, Leaders Astray, Data Hui, ex Olmecha Supreme).

“The aim of The Session has always been to encourage and inspire musicians and music lovers by creating a platform for musicians to play together outside of the usual formal performance context. Creating on the spot and playing with different musicians with different skills and at different levels of experiences is such an important part of being a musician and we hope that the Local Legends series will provide a valuable insight into the musical experience of Reuben, Darren, Dan and Crete who are some of my favourite local players.” says The Session founder Myele Manzanza.  

Following the traditional format the guest musicians will perform the first set as part of The Session house band and then the floor will open up, giving musicians in attendance the opportunity to jam with the featured guest.  

Local Legends at The Session  

Wednesday 8 August Reuben Bradley – Drums (Mike Nock, Jim Pugh, James Morrison)

Wednesday 22 August Darren Mathiassen – Drums (Bella Kalolo band, Hollie Smith band, The Nok)

Wednesday 5 September Dan Yeabsley – Saxophone (Twinset, The Eggs, Shogun Orchestra)  

Wednesday 19 September Crete Haami – Bass (Hollie Smith band, Leaders Astray, ex Olmecha Supreme)

While Myele tours with the Electric Wire Hustle in Europe, Nikita Tu Bryant (Nikita & The Spooky) has taken over The Session hosting duties at Matterhorn every Wednesday night which now kicks off at the new winter friendly time of 9:30pm with delicious Matterhorn $6 Mulled Wine specials exclusive to The Session available during the cold months!

Follow The Session on Facebook - www.facebook.com/thesessionwellington

Next: Iva Lamkum ‘Black Eagle’ Album Release Tour

Prev: The ARC and Home Brew Crew to perform at Billabong Bro Down 2012


There are currently no comments for this article. Please log in to add new comments.

Return to News Archive

NZ Top 10 Singles

    The Weeknd
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
    Roddy Ricch
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
    Powfu feat. beabadoobee
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem