22 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

After announcing the release of sophomore album Brighter Futures (finally), God Bows To Math are pleased to announce a tour of New Zealand and Australia throughout March and April in support of the release. The tour will see them travel as far as their meagre finances will allow – in this case throughout the east coast of Australia and all over New Zealand where they’ll be performing the new album in its entirety (all 29 minutes of it!).

The band aren’t complicated; they are two Aucklanders and a Geordie who managed to lose his accent. Three men with varying abilities to grow facial hair, and bodies perfectly formed for recessed stages in dimly lit underground bars, floors sticky with stale alcohol. Someone once said they “may be the most dangerous band making the rounds on the New Zealand tour circuit” (Groove Guide) but that’s probably an exaggeration; they’re actually pretty nice guys.

They worship at the altar of the Minutemen, that holy trinity of treble, bass and rhythm, and pray to the deities of Touch and Go, SST and Sub Pop (pre-Warner of course). The time since their last album has seen them grow from noisy kids into well-honed veterans, touring New Zealand too many times to count, sharing stages with many a touring band and even managing to head out to Australia and China. The eponymous debut in question, released in 2011 garnered positive (and occasionally hyperbolic) reviews, and was included on many end-of-year best of lists.

Brighter Futures is out in New Zealand and Australia on Friday 27th March 2015. The album will be available on CD, Vinyl and Digital.

God Bows To Math will be playing the following dates:

Sat 28th March: Old Bar, Melbourne
Sun 29th March: Sound Recordings, Castlemaine
Mon 30th March: Northcote Social Club, Melbourne
Tue 31st March: Lacklustre HQ, Canberra
Wed 1st April: Yours and Owls, Wollongong
Thu 2nd April: Croatian Club, Newcastle
Fri 2nd April: Blackwire Records, Sydney
Sat 3rd April: Boundary Hotel, Brisbane
Wed 8th April: San Fran, Wellington
Thu 9th April: Great Job! Palmerston North
Fri 10th April: Alternative Entertainment Bureau, Levin
Sat 11th April: Nivara Lounge, Hamilton
Sat 18th April: Lucha Lounge, Auckland
Thu 23rd April: Chicks Hotel, Dunedin
Sat 25th April: Darkroom, Christchurch
Thu 30th April: Wine Cellar, Auckland
Sat 2nd May: Eyegum Collective Show, Wellington


NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • THOTIANA
    Blueface feat. Cardi B And YG
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem