23 Mar 2023

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jessie James & The Outlaws


The Price of Gum is strong and compelling debut album from Jessie James and the Outlaws that marries a rich and clean analogue production aesthetic with evocative songs reflecting on the problems and joys of our times.

Being Outlaws, they don’t like to be pinned down, but can be described as alt- electric folk reminicent of late 60’s and 70’s folk, pop and pyschedila Think Neil Young, the Phoenix Foundation and Gillian Welch.

The powerful songs heard in The Price of Gum were formed out of a deep musical relationship between songwriter and singer Jessie Moss and co-producer, arranger, and pianist James Coyle.

Jessie is a mother, trained musician and vocalist and aspiring educator who comes from a well-known politically active family. Her uncle Keith Locke is a Green party MP, and grandmother Elsie Locke was variously described as a feminist, social activist, writer, historian, local hero, anti-nuclear campaigner. Jessie follows her remarkable family tradition; she is now the third generation of her family to have the SIS follow her movements. James is a trained Architect, accomplished organist, illustrator and connoisseur of 60s Jamaican rocksteady. His classical training and aesthetic sensibilities lead the production of Jessie’s songs.

Jessie James are supported by an impressive band of Outlaws. Comprising members of members from Hikoikoi, Fly My Pretties, Spartacus R and the Dunstan Rangers.

The combination of early Jamaican production techniques (influenced by Lee Scratch Perry, Coxsone Dodd), American folk activism and Lee Prebble’s stable of talented musicians has created a unique and distinctive sound. The integrity of this sound comes not only from talented musicianship and hard graft but by understanding the roots of folk and activist music. The music in this album springs out of the community created by Jessie and James and their lifelong commitment to crafting beautiful tunes that express solidarity to both musical history and social justice.

"The Price of Gum is an accomplished, emotive work. Characterised by detailed lyrical storytelling, refreshingly icy ar-rangements which seem to sonically reference the beauty of the natural outdoor landscape of our country, an accom-plished sense of retro-psychedelica and an unconventional, yet hip-hitting sense of rhythmic emphasis - The Price of Gum, stands clear as one of the few local musical singularities I have encountered in 2010." – Martyn Pepperell

"intrinsically Kiwi in-fused with its laid back, spacious lope with exciting dynamic shift within and between songs" - Warren Maxwell

Band Members:
Jessie Moss (vocals)
James Coyle (organ, piano)
Justin Firefly (banjo, guitar)
Holly Beals (backing vocals)
Ryan Prebble (guitar, backing vocals)
Tim Prebble (harmonica, bass)
Mara TK (harmonica, bass)
Michael Kane (drums)
Paddy Burgin (slide, wiessenborn)





  • Wellington

Comments (Newest First)

There are currently no comments for this artist.

Search for Bands/Artists:

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BOY'S A LIAR PT. 2
    PinkPantheress And Ice Spice
    Miley Cyrus
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
    Morgan Wallen
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
    Coi Leray
    Harry Styles
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem