19 Jun 2021

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



Dean Young, musician, producer. Whose day job is a now 25-year-and-counting radio career - which at one point saw him fronting breakfast radio shows around New Zealand on Radio Hauraki along with The Rock, and nowadays behind the scenes.

He has also been writing/performing and producing his own music since 1998, swapping out the band-of-actual-humans option in favour of a solitary studio project where he took care of everything from the writing to production.

It was a Tauranga home studio where this journey began with the project breathingunderwater yielding the EP Aquatic Ceremony in 1999, the full length Horizonchrist in 2000 and the EP Prayers to Broken Stones in 2001.

Fast forward 5 years and a name change to This Theory of Static both in response to a name clash with an American band at the time - and, as a vehicle for a now more expanded musical vision.

It was after the release of the 2006 album Re[Evolve] when, tiring of working in a self-imposed vacuum, Dean was to go back to including other actual human beings in his creative process. Enter Jerome Buckleigh, [guitar] Matt Burling [bass] and Luke Hale [drums] to record the critically acclaimed Electricity album in 2008.

The band existed as a live entity until late 2010 before going on hiatus - with Dean retreating back to the studio for sporadic writing and demoing over the next 5 years.

With his previous band now placed on indefinite hold, Dean submitted a bludgeoning cover of Darcy Clay's Jesus I was Evil under the moniker Built to the underground NZ Music Compilation Re:Cover - an underground New Zealand music exploration.

With Built now a recording entity, the remit was to take a completely different approach to writing and recording... thus a new sound.

Where previous albums were written, and recorded simultaneously, Dean instead opted for the more traditional model of working from a collection previously recorded demos. By early 2015, 35 songs had been demoed but it wouldn't be until 2016 that all this effort would ultimately begin to bear fruit.

35 songs became 15, became 12. Due to limited studio time, the idea of an album was sidelined. And 12 songs became 5.

Now Here's To Sweet Sabotage has finally taken form. A dark, yet oddly optimistic and adventurous work.

Band Members:
Dean Young


Member Managed Listing



  • Auckland

Comments (Newest First)

There are currently no comments for this artist.

Search for Bands/Artists:

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
    Olivia Rodrigo
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
    Olivia Rodrigo
    Olivia Rodrigo
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem