1 Jun 2023

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Seismic State


Formed in early 2018 by former members of Auckland band Dirty Riot; Sai (guitar) and Liam (bass) were joined by Matthijs (drums) and Nicole (vocals & guitar) to complete the Seismic State line up. In late 2020 Rogina replaced Nicole on lead vocals and rhythm guitar, the band quickly set about writing new material and booking shows. In June 2021 Seismic State supported Auckland rockers and Aotearoa Music Award winners Dead Favours for the Wellington leg of their Riffing & Yelling tour.

Seismic State’s debut EP, State of Things, was released in September 2019. All four tracks off the EP receive airplay on NZ radio and internationally with Genius, the first single, leading the charge by reaching #47 on The Generator FM’s weekly airplay chart for the week ending 31 May 2020. Genius also held down the #58 spot in The Generator FM's 2020 Kiwi 101 chart.

Their style mixes rock with elements of funk, blues, progressive and alternative; combining riff oriented guitar with melodic bass lines and driving drum rhythms to form a foundation for creative vocal melodies and thought-provoking lyrics. The result is an accessible and sonically pleasing brand of music not often found in the rock scene.

Seismic; Adjective, of enormous proportions or effect.
State; Noun, a condition or way of being that exists at a particular time.

“Seismic State are a breath of fresh air for the NZ rock scene. For far too long rock bands have taken themselves far too seriously and it’s so great to hear a kick ass band playing rock music that is not only compelling but also fun! With killer riffs, banging drums, smooth bass lines and incredibly honest and poetic vocals; they are a definite must see for any fans of rock music”
- Toby Lloyd, Tiny Triumph Recordings

“Wellington four-piece band Seismic State have just released their first EP State of Things, and if this is what they sound like, they have a big and bright future ahead of them.”

"State of Things is an outstanding four-track EP"

"All I can say after listening to this EP is I definitely want to hear more - this is a perfect album”

“Wellington is no stranger to the world of rock, and with a slick intro that captivates you from the beginning, Seismic State’s new single Since We Last Spoke is nothing short of exceptional"

"Seismic State wouldn't be out of place supporting some of the larger acts that NZ has on offer."

"I'm definitely looking forward to hearing more from Seismic State”

- Axl Scott, Muzic.net.nz

Band Members:
Matthijs van Dijk (drums)
Liam Wright (bass)
Sai Soe (guitar)
Rogina De Jong (vocals, guitar)


Member Managed Listing





  • Wellington

Image Galleries

Reviews / Interviews

Comments (Newest First)

There are currently no comments for this artist.

Search for Bands/Artists:

NZ Top 10 Singles

    Fifty Fifty
    Morgan Wallen
    David Kushner
    Miley Cyrus
    Rema And Selena Gomez
  • BOY'S A LIAR PT. 2
    PinkPantheress And Ice Spice
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
    Lana Del Rey
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem