28 Mar 2023

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z



From within the depths of the Waitakere Ranges comes Yebiisu - a soulful mix of reggae, funk and ska, powered by the vocals of Jayme Wallace, which ride triumphantly over the musical soundscape from Simon Ross (Bass), James Bristow (Guitar), John Faulding (Keyboards), Scott Wotherspoon (Drums), Ignacio Valencia (Percussion), Jono Tan (Trombone) and Christian Mausia (Trumpet).

The environment Yebiisu’s music is crafted in is what distances it from the traditional New Zealand “Barbeque Reggae” sound. The feeling of windswept West Coast beaches and overpowering rainforests permeates Yebiisu's music, providing a fitting bed for the socially conscious lyrics of songs such as “Money's Gonna Get Ya" (2012) to follow in the reggae tradition of protest songs perhaps fallen by the wayside in recent years in Aotearoa. Yebiisu mixes this with an uplifting blend of party tunes, leaving audiences both stimulated and euphoric.

Formed in 2009, Yebiisu wasted no time making an immediate impression on the live scene in Auckland, exciting reviewers and fans alike. A stream of high profile shows followed, including support slots for internationals such as Groundation and Streetlight Manifesto, as well as performances at Raggamuffin International Reggae Festival, and various other festivals. Releasing their debut Self Titled EP in 2010, and following it up with a national tour, over the course of which the first run of CDs would sell out.

The follow up to that release, the 2012 "Exit City" EP, is a natural evolution, with a heavier sound, polished performance and personal, introspective lyrics. Featuring a guest appearance from Kevin Mark Trail (The Streets) on the fan favorite track “420”, the release promises to be the soundtrack for summer for many.

Yebiisu continues to be a band whose true love is live performance, and it is within this arena that the band truly shines. Members of this 8-piece band are also involved in other prolific Auckland-based outfits including Pavlova and the Jandals, Task One, The Skitz, Macombee & The Absolute Truth, Glasshouse Stoners, Atsushi and The Moisties and Farmer Pimp. With a stage full of musicians who love their craft and dedicate their lives to it, sold out audiences return time after time to catch Yebiisu play live.

Band Members:
Jayme (vocals)
John (keyboards)
Jamo (guitar)
Chris (trombone)
Scotty (drums)
Scott (saxophone)
Sims (bass)
Nacho (percussion)


Member Managed Listing

Music Player

Adobe Flash Version 9 Required to view audio player.




  • Auckland

Media Downloads

Image Galleries

Reviews / Interviews

Comments (Newest First)

There are currently no comments for this artist.

Search for Bands/Artists:

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BOY'S A LIAR PT. 2
    PinkPantheress And Ice Spice
    Miley Cyrus
    Morgan Wallen
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
    Coi Leray
    Rema And Selena Gomez
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem