30 Jul 2021

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

This Theory Of Static


Electricity: (from the Greek word elektron, meaning amber, and finally from New Latin electricus, "amber-like") is a general term that encompasses a variety of phenomena resulting from the presence and flow of electric charge.

Electricity: The title of the new album from This Theory Of Static. The band that has not-so-quietly made it's presence felt on live stages across New Zealand since March 2008. And the band that is about to blow the fuses of the NZ rock scene with this, it's 3rd album.

It may be only their 3rd full length effort in 10 years, but it feels more like their first according to singer/guitarist and founding member Dean Young who up until June 2007, was the band's sole member.

"The input, time, energy and enthusiasm of Luke, [Hale - drums] Jerome, [Buckleigh - Guitar] Matt, [Burling - Bass] and Adam, [Vink, who provided synth tracks to the record] for the project as a whole has been amazing. so it truely has been a real band effort."

Electricity is an expansive and at times epic listen. Each track makes it's mark with a production sound that belies it's relatively humble project studio roots, with Young recording the lot at his studio in West Auckland. "It was important to me to do justice to these huge songs with an equally big production."

From the spacey electronica-infused intro of “Set The Controls” to the epic “Seven is Exploding” the dark plundering stomp of “Resurrection Song” and the somber yet powerful first single “In Absentia” the album explores themes of self awareness, deceit and conspiracy and relationships.

So why “Electricity”?

“At a deeper level we are at our core, energy systems interacting with each other and our environment.” It is how we interact with, and react to each other that I find fascinating.”

This Theory of Static - Electricity. 2008

Band Members:
Dean Young (guitar, vocals)
Matt Burling (bass, vocals)
Jerome Buckleigh (guitar)
Luke Hale (drums)

Member Managed Listing





  • Auckland

Comments (Newest First)

There are currently no comments for this artist.

Search for Bands/Artists:

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
    Ed Sheeran
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
    Glass Animals
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • AIN'T S**T
    Doja Cat
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem