25 Jun 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Carb On Carb - Gig Review: Carb On Carb @ Space Academy, Christchurch - 08/06/2024

10 Jun 2024 // A review by Peter K Malthus

Carb On Carb are currently on a tour of Australia and New Zealand, which will see them perform five dates in each country. Touring is right at the heart and soul of their drive as a band, having seen them perform extensively throughout New Zealand, Australia, Asia, and the USA.

Their show in Christchurch was the eighth of the tour, having played in Dunedin the night before. Space Academy are staunch supporters of live music, and seeing a show there is always a treat, and tonight was no exception. The crowd were buzzing with anticipation as local heroes This Dog took to the stage, and they duly delivered by the bucketload. Vocalist Robbie has a superb stage presence and is ably backed by four tasteful and golden-toned players, presenting their unique sound and perspective that sets them apart from many of their contemporaries. I saw many folks around me singing adoringly along with a set including Feel The Same, Sleep For DinnerClockwork, and hit single Bug Eyed. 

Next up were another beloved local act, Model Home. The "sad songs quartet" formed in Christchurch in 2019, and released their debut album ...And Nobody Made A Sound in 2023. Vocalist/Guitarist Rachael has a clear and powerful voice, soaring over the top of the luscious, jangly guitars and super tasty rhythm section, singing with heart and passion. Having been namechecked by this dog in a sweet anecdote, Model Home continued the mutual admiration society between the three bands, the expressions of love and friendship adding to the overall energy and enjoyment of the show. Model home make infectiously good music, thoughtful and soulful songs delivered with high energy, which was received with rapturous applause.

Carb On Carb have an impressively massive sound for a two-piece (which is greatly assisted by the assemblage of pedals on Vocalist/Guitarist Nicole's pedalboard, having enjoyed wandering up for a little nerd-out at the conclusion of their set). Both Nicole and James (Vocals/Drums) are excellent players, and fantastically and tightly in tune with one another, as they took the bewitched audience on a wonderful journey with their short but sweet set of Emo-Punk. It's Been A Rough Yearfrom the new album Take Time (the reason for this particular tour) was first up, and Home Again 7, Here Comes The Best Bit, 2009, and Be My Mirror made an appearance, along with more references to the joyful love and connection between the three bands. Carb On Carb have a magnificent melodic sense, with beautiful vocals. I also feel I need to share that now being in ever-advancing middle-age, I have been to a lot of live shows in my time, a LOT. I've seen bands who have shaped my own musical journey and screamed my fanboy jubilation from the crowd. And it's been exceptionally rare that I have  gone home from a show and thought "man I feel like listening to more of that right now!". However, that's precisely what I did upon getting home after this show, proudly donning my nice new Carb On Carb t-shirt. This was easily one of the best shows I've been privileged to attend in the last couple of years.

You still have an opportunity to catch them on this tour, this coming Friday 14th in Wellington at Welsh Dragon, and Saturday 15th at Snails in Palmerston North, and you can get tickets from undertheradarI can't think of many better ways to treat yourself this weekend.

 

About Carb On Carb

Carb on Carb are James and Nicole from the North Island. They have toured consistently since their inception, around NZ, as well as internationally (Japan, Australia, USA, Singapore, China and Malaysia).




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Carb On Carb

Releases

Take Time
Year: 2024
Type: Album
For Ages
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Carb On Carb
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Ladies Mile
Year: 2013
Type: EP
No Body Perfect
Year: 2012
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Peter K Malthus

Album Review: The Trials And Tribulations Of Miss French Part Two
21 Jun 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Miss French is the performing name of Julie Foai, who spent 20 years touring the world with South Pacific band Te Vaka, and managed them into securing a contract with Walt Disney Pictures. Having released her debut solo album in 2016, The Trials And Tribulations Of Miss French, Pt.
Read More...
Taveets - EP Review: WINT/HER
21 Jun 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Taveets has been steadily releasing singles and EPs since 2019, including 2023's Balcony Nights EP which could almost be considered album length at seven songs. The Wellington-born and raised Samoan/Futuan artist/rapper has just released his latest HipHop/RnB offering, WINT/HER, the five songs looking at love and relationships from different angles, and in different moods.
Read More...
Dónal Gunning - EP Review: Born To Perform
13 Jun 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Dónal Gunning's travels, since leaving his native Ireland, have seen him eventually relocate to Wellington, where he has been regularly gigging as a solo artist, and with backing band The Bucks. The Bucks are comprised of a collective of Wellington session musicians and have also accompanied Dónal on two north Island tours, delivering fun and energetic shows.
Read More...
Big Sima - EP Review: Early In The Peace
06 Jun 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
The Underground King, AKA Big Sima, has just released a new EP in collaboration with Boomtown, a follow-up to 2022's full length album, Stereotypes Of A Polynesian Misunderstood. Big Sima has been relentlessly busy making a name for himself over the last few years, and that work ethic has seen him win support slots for Busta Rhymes, Bone Thugs 'n’ Harmony, Guru (Gangstarr), Mobb Deep and Cypress Hill.
Read More...
The Bravo Uniform Mikes - EP Review: Punching Darts & Breaking Hearts
28 May 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
The Bravo Uniform Mikes AKA The B.U.
Read More...
Gig Review: Saurian @ Darkroom, Christchurch - 18/05/2024
21 May 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Dunedin's Saurian are on a sacred mission: To do anything they can to assist in saving beloved and iconic Dunedin music venue, The Crown. Nearby developments threaten The Crown's ability to host live music, and what better way to spread the word but through song, thought Saurian, and rightly so, too.
Read More...
Devilskin - EP Review: Surfacing
17 May 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
At this point in their career, Devilskin scarcely need any introduction. However, on the freakish, bizzaro-world chance that you're not already familiar, the high-octane, fire-breathing, badass rock & roll juggernaut four-piece formed in Hamilton in 2010 and have been kicking arse and stealing hearts ever since.
Read More...
Living Clipboards - Album Review: All Over Tawa
13 May 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Coming together through the vibrant Wellington indie scene, alternative rock band Living Clipboards' Mark Williams, Denise Roughan, and Jim Abbott are already well known from acts such as The 3Ds, MarineVille, and Ghost Club. The basic guitar, bass, and drum tracks were recorded over one weekend in the band's rehearsal space.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter K Malthus

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem