29 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Albi & The Wolves - Gig Review: Albi & The Wolves @ The Piano, Christchurch - 24/11/2023

Albi & The Wolves - Gig Review: Albi & The Wolves @ The Piano, Christchurch - 24/11/2023

26 Nov 2023 // A review by Peter K Malthus

This was my first time attending a show at The Piano, a beautifully appointed concert venue in Christchurch's CBD. It was also my first experience of Albi & The Wolves, so I had no real idea of what a treat of a night I was in for. Upon arriving, Chris 'Albi' Dent, standing in the lobby, clocked my 'Muzic.net.nz' t-shirt, called out "You must be Peter!" and warmly shook my hand, chatting with me for a while. That warmth and generosity of spirit pervaded the evening.

The evening began with a performance from the utterly magnificent Good Habits, a Folk Fusion duo from the UK. Bonnie Schwarz (vocals/cello) and Pete Shaw (vocals/accordion) are musical virtuosos and combined the storytelling of their journey as a duo with the songs written along the way, providing cherished milestone memories of their relationship. The first song Pete wrote, about hitch-hiking experiences. The Earth Has Movedinspired by experiences whilst here in New Zealand. The beautiful love song Fridge Photos. Sharing their love of their favourite Japanese restaurant at home, only to pull out chopsticks, and use them to play a duet on the cello...a cover of Fatboy Slim's Praise You Like I Should, no less. Superb.

They returned to the stage, after a brief intermission, as part of the 11-piece band Albi & The Wolves had brought with them, with Pete taking up station at the piano. Drums, cello, viola, violin, trumpet, trombone, and saxophone also joined the three core members of 'Albi' (vocals/guitar), Pascal Roggen (vocals/violin), and Micheal Young (vocals/double bass). I would like to make special mention of Pascal. I honestly don't think I've ever seen a performer quite like him. Extremely lively and animated, a phenomenal violinist, a stunning vocalist, and supremely confident. Just brilliant.

Albi created an atmosphere of intimacy and familiarity, a gifted raconteur who shared the wonderful tales behind the songs. This show was part of a promotional tour for their new album Light After The Darkand we were treated to many of its songs. Clear Blue Eyes celebrating sobriety, All I Am, a rollicking Pogues-like love song, featuring Pascal on lead vocals. Pitter Patter, in remembrance of Albi's late brother, was exceptionally moving, likewise My Old Friend, penned by Albi and Pascal for bandmate Micheal after a health scare. I'd have to say that the barnstorming Scoundrel Dog was my favourite of the evening, although it had tough competition. I bought a copy of Light After The Dark (and a rather nifty coffee mug), and we got to experience most of the track listing.

This was a stellar evening. World-class musicianship, gifted performers with stage presence for days, and glorious harmony vocals. A privilege and a pleasure to witness.


Photo Credit: Joe Photography
Photos from Auckland show - 11 November
View the full gallery here

 

About Albi & The Wolves

This is folk music, but not as you know it. Pulling inspiration from a wide spectrum of genres, from swing to bluegrass, soul, R&B, rock and world music, Albi and The Wolves offer a decadent serving of double bass, banjo, and fiddle accompanied by Albi's smooth vocal stylings. These elements come together to create both a potent foot stomping rhythm and a captivating music and stage presence never experienced before.

With this love and respect of music in all its forms, Albi and The Wolves not only offer vibrant and refreshing original songs which burst open the seams of traditional folk music, but they also inject their signature sound into modern classics from artists as diverse as Micheal Jackson, and Pink Floyd.

Since the band's formation in 2014, they have excelled in New Zealand's live music scene, pulling in large crowds with their unique performance style, making it irresistible to dance.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Albi & The Wolves

Releases

Light After The Dark
Year: 2023
Type: Album
This Is War
Year: 2019
Type: Album
One Eye Open
Year: 2016
Type: Album
I Will Not Be Broken
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Peter K Malthus

Empyrvore - Album Review: Nadir: Empyrean
12 Feb 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Nadir: Empyrean is the latest release from Wellington-based Empyrvore, and their first full length album. It has been a labour of love for its two creators, Jared and Mike, who followed the complete DIY path for recording, mixing, mastering, and releasing...
Read More...
David Edwards - Album Review: Electric (Yang) / Acoustic (Yin) - 2CD Compilation 1998-2023
30 Dec 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
Fiffdimension is the name under which Dave Edwards records and performs, having released the debut album Scratched Surface back in 1998. He's certainly been busy since then; I think I counted around 40 releases listed on his website.
Read More...
King Cruel - EP Review: Creeper
22 Dec 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
Creeper is the debut EP from King Cruel, a 'Psychedelic Stoner Doom Metal' trio from Auckland. According to Encyclopaedia Metallum, the line up consists of Evan Cooper on drums, Josh Hodgson on guitars, and Luke Oram on vocals.
Read More...
Hecates Cult - Album Review: The Path Of Night
14 Dec 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
The Path Of Night by Otautahi Christchurch band Hecate's Cult was recorded, mixed, and mastered by the utter weapons at Audioganic Studios, and it's pretty easy to see why so many local artists are queuing up to have them do the same. Hecate's Cult are a bare-bones three piece, with no backing vocals, backing tracks, samples, or anything other than the sounds produced by drums, a bass, a guitar, and a voice.
Read More...
Gig Review: Zed @ The Church, Christchurch - 8/12/2023
11 Dec 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
Zed are back! 23 years after the release of their triple-platinum, number one debut album Silencer, they have finally returned, after a couple of teaser reunions over the years.
Read More...
The Snake Behaviour - Album Review: Youthanise
27 Nov 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
Christchurch's The Snake Behaviour have been slithering around the local scene long enough to make them well-recognized live veterans. Influenced in equal measures by heavy rock, metal, and punk, TSB have been plugging away tirelessly doing the self-funded thing, and by all accounts having a whale of a time along the way.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mermaidens @ Space Academy, Christchurch - 26/11/2023
27 Nov 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
Space Academy is one of my favourite places and it was the perfect venue for this sold-out show. I was fortunate to arrive early enough to get one of a few seats, as it was quickly full to 120-head capacity.
Read More...
Betsy and The Reckless - Album Review: Salty
26 Nov 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
Salty is the debut album of Taranaki-based quartet Betsy and The Reckless. I've seen their style described as both "a fusion of reggae and soul", and "an RnB twist on Kiwi roots", but even that doesn't completely sum up this glorious musical melting pot.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter K Malthus

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • TRAINING SEASON
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem