29 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Tami Neilson - Gig Review: Tami Neilson @ The Civic, Auckland - 13/10/2023

15 Oct 2023 // A review by roger.bowie

It’s Friday night at The Civic and the vibe is rock ‘n’ roll as the immaculately costumed The Up-Doos jive on stage and launch into the Bobettes’ Mr Lee (the one before they shot him). The Up-Doos are a party band paying homage to the girl groups of the 50's and 60's. Esther Stephen, Aria Jones and Liv Tennant are strikingly choreographed in white boots and black diamond dresses and moves we haven’t seen since Shindig.

And this is it, Tami Neilson, the champion of all females in country and rock, the mentor, the big sister, the advocate, is back in town after an extensive tour throughout the US in a motorhome, with her family, re-creating the experience she had growing up on the road with the Neilson family. And in curating this retro review, naturally the focus is on women in rock ‘n’ roll. 

And if there ever was a moment we might be wondering, when The Up-Doos mention Lesley Gore we are left in no doubt, this is our party and we will cry, even if we don’t want to, we will cry, tears of joy and nostalgia.

The Hot Rockin’ Band of Rhythm for this tour includes Brett Adams (always), who plays anything all the time, along with the genius of Finn Scholes on keys and sax and even a giant tuba on his knees, looking like a man-eating plant. And the rhythm section ain’t half bad either, with Tom Broome on drums and Chip Matthews on bass.

Be My Baby by The Ronettes, the Phil Spector studio band back in the day he was merely salacious. Nancy Sinatra’s boots are pervasive on stage, and they are made for walking and rocking. The Exciters first did Doo Wah Diddy before Manfred Mann stole it in white supremacy, and even though the Exciters comprised three ladies and a man, we hardly notice the exception to the rule. Chiffons, Ella, Nina, Eydie, they all said we could have him, and Merry Clayton exemplified the times when extolling young debutantes to look for the man in his kiss.

It's a short Up-Doos set, but they aren’t going away, because here comes the miracle, something we never dreamt of before the show was announced a few months ago, and how typical of Tami to bring back Dinah Lee, the Blue Beat girl from the 60’s and New Zealand’s first female rebel. I remember her, I was there, 10 years old when this gorgeous creature in short skirt and bob hair caroused on the black and white TV set, and got the tut tut tut from my parents which meant, surely, I was going to fall in love, if only a little bit, and whatever that meant. But here she is, still moving, back home, back singing and we just fly Higher and Higher even though it was Jackie Wilson song. Don’t You Know Yockomo was a big hit here and then she was whisked away to Australia with her fellow Christchurch mods Max Merritt and Ray Columbus. A heartfelt tribute to Max, who slipped away from us just a couple of years ago. Tami comes on and joins in. Two divas divine.

Dinah Lee, she must be nearly 80…..she is 80!!!, and proud of it. Gracefully disgraceful. But what a voice, the only sign of age being a delightful little occasional rasp which just adds an edge. And when she introduces Reet Petite, she rolls that R in a way which would have her welcomed into every Southland home, even the tut tutting ones of yesteryear. Of course, she does the Blue Beat, one rebel to another (Millie Small) and even though I was sick of this song as the Beatles and the Stones took over my life, tonight it moistens my eyes. 

The sellout crowd stands in ovation and homage, and in grateful disbelief that the show isn’t over yet. 

And then here she is again, the Hot Rockin’ Band now minus Finn, (but the Up-Doos still jiving), and the Big Boss Mama is in total control, playing harp to introduce the funky Ain’t My Job from last year’s Kingmaker. A story about seeing Dinah on a Facebook page with Kaylee Bell and how that inspired her to include her in the show, and a tribute to her legacy and the trailblazing nature of her 60’s rebellion, with all the prejudice and pain. Come Over and Walk from her breakthrough album Dynamite, but squeezed in between, because it’s 9.30pm and little people are yawning, special guests creep on and take their places to sing along to Queenie. Tami’s two boys, 3 little Up-Doos (and one on the way) and Isla Williams (Simone’s granddaughter) are having fun and getting the feel of life on stage. They do not drop the ball. 

And now a little sequence in tribute of early female rock ‘n rollers, ignored by the record barons and white contemporaries (with a few exceptions). Sister Rosetta Tharpe was playing electric distortion in the 30’s, and wowed Keef and Eric when she toured England in 1964 with Muddy Waters. Her song tonight is Didn’t It Rain, an old spiritual about Noah’s ark, to which the Sister gave the rock ‘n’ roll treatment. And then comes Wanda Jackson who refused to play the Grand Ol’ Opry because Porter Wagoner told her to cover her shoulders. Wanda once dated Elvis, who told her she should shift from gospel to this dirty little secret called rock, and she became the Hard Headed Woman who’s a thorn in the side of a man. Big Mama Thornton did Hound Dog before Elvis made it famous, and Tami recounts the recent verbal atrocity from Jann Wenner which resulted in him leaving the Board of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, which he founded but which is hardly relevant any longer apart from being a bastion of prejudice since inception.

Brett joins Tami to sing Woo Hoo from Dynamite and then follows a bevy of songs from Chickaboom! and Kingmaker before we are reminded not to be afraid with Holy Moses.

It’s over, wink wink, because it’s not, and we skip the formalities and back comes Dinah to join Tami in celebrating who she was back in the day when she was our first female Mod.

What a great show. Tami Neilson is an iconic force of nature who makes us proud that she’s a Kiwi. We are blessed.

(Did you know She’s a Mod was first released by a group from Birmingham called The Senators who featured a young John Bonham on drums? I didn’t. Thanks Rev!!)

The Up-Doos Setlist

1. Mr Lee
2. 
It’s My Party
3. 
Be My Baby
4. 
These Boots Are Made For Walking
5. 
Doo Wah Diddy
6. 
One Fine Day
7. 
You Can Have Him
8. It’s In His Kiss

Dinah Lee Set List

9. Higher & Higher
10. 
Don’t You Know Yockomo
11. 
Slippin’ Away
12. 
Midnight Hour
13. 
Blue Beat
14. 
Reet Petite

Tami Neilson Set List

15. Big Boss Mama
16. 
Ain’t My Job
17. 
Come Over
18. 
Queenie
19. 
Walk
20. 
Didn’t It Rain
21. 
Hard Headed Woman
22. 
Hound Dog
23. 
Woo Hoo
24. 
Call Your Mama
25. 
Careless Woman
26. 
Mama’s Talkin’
27. 
Kitty Cat
28. 
Holy Moses
29. 
She’s a Mod


Photo Credit: Taiga Semori
The Up-Doos Gallery
Tami Neilson Gallery

Dinah Lee Gallery

 

About Tami Neilson

With a soulful voice straight from the golden age of country and rockabilly music, Tami Neilson has been described as "A red-hot honky-tonker, somewhere between Patsy Cline and Wanda Jackson with perhaps just a little bit of Peggy Lee sophistication.” - Nick Bollinger, NZ National Radio

Winner of the New Zealand Music Awards Best Country Album 2009, 2010 and 2012

Tami Neilson was raised in Canada, by parents with a closet full of sequined stage costumes and platform shoes.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Tami Neilson

Releases

Dynamite
Year: ????
Type: Album
Red Dirt Angel
Year: ????
Type: Album
Kingmaker
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Chickaboom!
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Sassafrass!
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Don't Be Afraid
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
The Kitchen Table Sessions
Year: 2010
Type: Album

Other Reviews By roger.bowie

Album Review: Subset BC
16 Dec 2023 // by roger.bowie
Here’s an interesting little thing from Gisborne. A funky little band with three bass players.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Best of Come Together @ The Civic Theatre, Auckland - 9/12/2023
12 Dec 2023 // by roger.bowie
Get your heads around this line-up:  The singers: Jon Toogood, (lead and backing vocals), Julia Deans (lead and backing vocals), Dianne Swann (lead and backing vocals and occasional guitar), Samuel Flynn Scott (vocals and guitar), James Milne (lead and backing vocals), Milan Borich (Mick vocals) The players: Jol Mulholland (guitars and vocals), Brett Adams (lead guitar and vocals), Mike Hall (bass), Matthias Jordan (keyboards), Alastair Deverick (drums), Finn Scholes (trumpet, clarinet and percussion), Nick Atkinson (sax and percussion).  Stopped spinning?
Read More...
A Crude Mechanical - Album Review: Discourse
08 Dec 2023 // by roger.bowie
Shane Warbrooke doesn’t believe in lyrics, because of the risk of lyrics being hi-jacked and meanings bent to suit ideologies which he doesn’t like. Well, such ideologies which most of us don’t like, truth be known, but then again, Beethoven didn’t write lyrics, so the freedom of speech counter argument only goes so far.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Phoenix Foundation @ Hollywood Avondale, Auckland - 24/11/2023
26 Nov 2023 // by roger.bowie
This is a first of many things. I’m not sure I’ve ever seen The Phoenix Foundation play live.
Read More...
Velvet Arrow - Album Review: Songs of Solitude
17 Nov 2023 // by roger.bowie
A Song Of Hope & Fear would normally be a contradiction in terms unless darkness prevails and light shines through, which is an appropriate metaphor for the debut album from Whangarei’s Velvet Arrow and the opening song, with Dan Stenhouse’s husky voice helping us through the night against a ghostly horror wail from Hannah Jane. After all it’s just a song to help you through the night, just the words that speak, it’s not real.
Read More...
Gig Review: Atomic: Women of Rock @ The Civic, Auckland - 11/11/2023
13 Nov 2023 // by roger.bowie
What a feast of nostalgia we’ve had from Liberty Stage (Simone Williams) these past few years, as New Zealand’s finest have Come Together to cover the classic albums which made the soundtracks of our youth. In addition to this, there have also been special tributes like Tami Neilson’s rock ‘n roll party with Dinah Lee, just last month.
Read More...
Dimmer - Album Review: Live At The Hollywood
09 Nov 2023 // by roger.bowie
Wow, not very often that we see alive album these days, an unusual beast, but that’s we have, a 14-track monster from Dimmer, recorded from last year’s sold-out trilogy at the Hollywood Avondale. Which, if you didn’t get to go last year, you can still see on December 2nd at the Powerstation, unless, like me, you are going instead to The War on Drugs.
Read More...
Killergrams - EP Review: Lonely Nights In A Little Town
27 Oct 2023 // by roger.bowie
Someone walked out, and Tom Maxwell has lost his mind, in a gentle, acoustic way. Then his mind explodes in a cacophony of chaos, which might just be what it feels like, losing something that important.
Read More...
View All Articles By roger.bowie

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • TRAINING SEASON
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem