24 Jul 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Jazmine Mary - Gig Review: Jazmine Mary w/ Vera Ellen @ Wunderbar, Lyttelton - 15/07/2023

Jazmine Mary - Gig Review: Jazmine Mary w/ Vera Ellen @ Wunderbar, Lyttelton - 15/07/2023

17 Jul 2023 // A review by Peter K Malthus

Lyttelton's Wunderbar was a wonderful setting for this show, my friends and I luckily there early enough to get good seats in the intimate, candle-lit warmth. I don't know if it was sold out or not, but it must have been pretty close, there was a decent crowd there to see Jazmine Mary and their band. They have been touring the country promoting their sophomore album Dog, released June 2nd. 

This tour has seen a selection of support acts, and this was one of the occasions to feature the simply magnificent Vera Ellen. One of the reasons I started reviewing was to start listening to music that I wouldn't necessarily be exposed to, and Vera Ellen is one of the many new artists (for me) that have made that decision so worthwhile. I adore NZ artists who proudly sing in their Kiwi accent, and Vera's superb vocal stylings are no exception. Thoughtful and dynamic guitar parts provided a perfect backing for the vocals. Confident in delivery, sometimes soft and plaintive, sometimes snarling with attitude, Vera brought the goods in her short set. New album Ideal Home Noise is currently providing ideal noise in my home.

After a short intermission, the sartorially splendid band of Jazmine Mary took up residence on the stage. A lush layering of keys provided an introduction to the set, building atmosphere before Jazmine strode through the audience, resplendent in a long, white dress. They have a spell-binding stage presence, subdued and thoughtful whilst also strong and commanding. Jazmine has a unique voice, ranging from low rich notes to sweet highs. For me, though, what truly sets them apart as a vocalist is their obviously deep knowledge of their own voice, combined with the boldness to use that voice as an instrument in its own right. Jazmine is an artist who seems to not just sing, but seeks to create. Their voice at times softly singing, at other times more a huge, soulful sound designed to paint a picture.

At around the halfway point of the set, they left their band jamming onstage whilst they disappeared, to return in a black bodysuit and high-heeled boots, a stark contrast to the almost puritan cut of the white dress. Another change at the end of the set saw them delivering the final songs in a loose-fitting suit. I do love a show where the artist has put thought into more than just the music, in this instance perhaps showcasing different aspects of their personality.

We were treated to a number of tracks from Dog, I'm listening to it as I write and I recognize more than half of the songs. Rodeo, on the passing of a dear friend, having a particular poignancy and power for me. Jazmine Mary is an artist of uncommon ability and unique beauty, and they create songs of deep emotion and atmosphere. It was a privilege and a pleasure to see this show.

 

About Jazmine Mary

Their surreal rose-tinted sounds allow listeners to be transported somewhere bold and watery. Debut album The Licking of a Tangerine was recorded in late 2021 at Auckland’s Roundhead Studios with bandmates Courtney Rodgers, Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and Dave Kahn (Marlon Williams, Reb Fountain) The first single Dancer was widely loved. It charted in the NZ Official music charts and was announced number 10 at the Student Radio Network awards for 2021.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jazmine Mary

Releases

Dog
Year: 2023
Type: Album
The Licking of a Tangerine
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Kissing Girls In The Temple
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Peter K Malthus

Menzies - EP Review: Spaghetti Land
18 Jul 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Menzies are a four-piece melting pot of marvellously talented folk from Wellington, comprised of Chris Brown (Friendlies), Miles Sutton (Welcomer, Prizegiving), Doug Kelly (Girl Boss), Nikita Piper (Friendlies, Androgynous Lemon). They have just released their debut EP, Spaghetti Land, to riotous applause, fanfares, parades in their honour, a 21 gun salute, and the keys to the city.
Read More...
Matt Langley - Album Review: As Real As You Want It To Be
18 Jul 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
From Dunedin, but currently residing in Japan, Matt Langley is an artist who has already made an impressive impact on the New Zealand music scene, and with new album As Real As You Want It To Be, he's certainly poised to consolidate that position. Matt is an acclaimed and awarded songwriter, and has a weighty list of artists he has collaborated with, toured with, or supported, including names like Lindon Puffin, The Eastern, Martin Phillipps, Sir Dave Dobbyn, and Head like A Hole.
Read More...
Silk Cut - Album Review: Silk Cut
02 Jul 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Having already released two EPs, and then followed up with full length album Our Place In The Stars, Silk Cut have returned to titillate your earholes with a brand new, self-titled album. The line-up of two guitars, bass, and drums also has shared lead vocals, and delivers a heady blend of 60's psychedelia and 90's guitar-based pop/rock.
Read More...
Cherry Slits - EP Review: Cherry Slits Are Back
01 Jul 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
So, there's a wee bit of a story to go with this one, and it's been a lot of fun to review. Nicola Cheeseman Is Back is a new play by Kathryn Burnett, detailing the story of a 50 year old woman having a midlife crisis, who decides to get her '80s punk band, Cherry Slits, back together.
Read More...
Marsha - Album Review: In Circles
01 Jul 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Marsha hail from my hometown of Christchurch, and I'm a tad ashamed to say I hadn't actually heard them up until now, but I'd heard many good things about them. In Circles is their debut album, containing some previously released singles, and has been in the works since 2021, and all the painstaking care that was put into its creation is evident in every note of every song.
Read More...
Album Review: The Trials And Tribulations Of Miss French Part Two
21 Jun 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Miss French is the performing name of Julie Foai, who spent 20 years touring the world with South Pacific band Te Vaka, and managed them into securing a contract with Walt Disney Pictures. Having released her debut solo album in 2016, The Trials And Tribulations Of Miss French, Pt.
Read More...
Taveets - EP Review: WINT/HER
21 Jun 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Taveets has been steadily releasing singles and EPs since 2019, including 2023's Balcony Nights EP which could almost be considered album length at seven songs. The Wellington-born and raised Samoan/Futuan artist/rapper has just released his latest HipHop/RnB offering, WINT/HER, the five songs looking at love and relationships from different angles, and in different moods.
Read More...
Dónal Gunning - EP Review: Born To Perform
13 Jun 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Dónal Gunning's travels, since leaving his native Ireland, have seen him eventually relocate to Wellington, where he has been regularly gigging as a solo artist, and with backing band The Bucks. The Bucks are comprised of a collective of Wellington session musicians and have also accompanied Dónal on two north Island tours, delivering fun and energetic shows.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter K Malthus

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • GOOD LUCK, BABE!
    Chappell Roan
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem