6 Dec 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Jazmine Mary - Gig Review: Jazmine Mary w/ Vera Ellen @ Wunderbar, Lyttelton - 15/07/2023

Jazmine Mary - Gig Review: Jazmine Mary w/ Vera Ellen @ Wunderbar, Lyttelton - 15/07/2023

17 Jul 2023 // A review by Peter K Malthus

Lyttelton's Wunderbar was a wonderful setting for this show, my friends and I luckily there early enough to get good seats in the intimate, candle-lit warmth. I don't know if it was sold out or not, but it must have been pretty close, there was a decent crowd there to see Jazmine Mary and their band. They have been touring the country promoting their sophomore album Dog, released June 2nd. 

This tour has seen a selection of support acts, and this was one of the occasions to feature the simply magnificent Vera Ellen. One of the reasons I started reviewing was to start listening to music that I wouldn't necessarily be exposed to, and Vera Ellen is one of the many new artists (for me) that have made that decision so worthwhile. I adore NZ artists who proudly sing in their Kiwi accent, and Vera's superb vocal stylings are no exception. Thoughtful and dynamic guitar parts provided a perfect backing for the vocals. Confident in delivery, sometimes soft and plaintive, sometimes snarling with attitude, Vera brought the goods in her short set. New album Ideal Home Noise is currently providing ideal noise in my home.

After a short intermission, the sartorially splendid band of Jazmine Mary took up residence on the stage. A lush layering of keys provided an introduction to the set, building atmosphere before Jazmine strode through the audience, resplendent in a long, white dress. They have a spell-binding stage presence, subdued and thoughtful whilst also strong and commanding. Jazmine has a unique voice, ranging from low rich notes to sweet highs. For me, though, what truly sets them apart as a vocalist is their obviously deep knowledge of their own voice, combined with the boldness to use that voice as an instrument in its own right. Jazmine is an artist who seems to not just sing, but seeks to create. Their voice at times softly singing, at other times more a huge, soulful sound designed to paint a picture.

At around the halfway point of the set, they left their band jamming onstage whilst they disappeared, to return in a black bodysuit and high-heeled boots, a stark contrast to the almost puritan cut of the white dress. Another change at the end of the set saw them delivering the final songs in a loose-fitting suit. I do love a show where the artist has put thought into more than just the music, in this instance perhaps showcasing different aspects of their personality.

We were treated to a number of tracks from Dog, I'm listening to it as I write and I recognize more than half of the songs. Rodeo, on the passing of a dear friend, having a particular poignancy and power for me. Jazmine Mary is an artist of uncommon ability and unique beauty, and they create songs of deep emotion and atmosphere. It was a privilege and a pleasure to see this show.

 

About Jazmine Mary

Captivating Noir Folk artist Jazmine Mary is “rising into our collective consciousness as a star, as an artist to be reckoned with, as a creative force”. They crack open the beauty and ugliness of the world with a voice that critics are calling “truly a wonder”. Recently opened for Kurt Vile, Billy Bragg. Jazmine Mary has just completed a national Tour of their Critically acclaimed sophomore Album Dog. An award-winning gig for melancholy and exultation.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jazmine Mary

Releases

Dog
Year: 2023
Type: Album
The Licking of a Tangerine
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Kissing Girls In The Temple
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Peter K Malthus

The Snake Behaviour - Album Review: Youthanise
27 Nov 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
Christchurch's The Snake Behaviour have been slithering around the local scene long enough to make them well-recognized live veterans. Influenced in equal measures by heavy rock, metal, and punk, TSB have been plugging away tirelessly doing the self-funded thing, and by all accounts having a whale of a time along the way.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mermaidens @ Space Academy, Christchurch - 26/11/2023
27 Nov 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
Space Academy is one of my favourite places and it was the perfect venue for this sold-out show. I was fortunate to arrive early enough to get one of a few seats, as it was quickly full to 120-head capacity.
Read More...
Betsy and The Reckless - Album Review: Salty
26 Nov 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
Salty is the debut album of Taranaki-based quartet Betsy and The Reckless. I've seen their style described as both "a fusion of reggae and soul", and "an RnB twist on Kiwi roots", but even that doesn't completely sum up this glorious musical melting pot.
Read More...
Gig Review: Albi & The Wolves @ The Piano, Christchurch - 24/11/2023
26 Nov 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
This was my first time attending a show at The Piano, a beautifully appointed concert venue in Christchurch's CBD. It was also my first experience of Albi & The Wolves, so I had no real idea of what a treat of a night I was in for.
Read More...
Saurian - EP Review: Octopedal Rock Unit
30 Oct 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
Dunedin's Saurian have just released Octopedal Rock Unit, a five-song collection of rock & roll that's fun and full of melody, but also ballsy and thunderous. Saurian released the entirely self-produced album Brooding in 2020, having formed in 2015.
Read More...
Gig Review: DARTZ @ Darkroom, Christchurch - 27/10/2023
28 Oct 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
I'd been really looking forward to this show already, having heard a few tracks by DARTZ. I have a young bass student who keeps me updated with current Kiwi punk bands, and she'd played me a handful of tracks from The Band from Wellington, New Zealand.
Read More...
CyberManic - Album Review: Cut To The Core
25 Oct 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
Cut To The Core is the debut album from Christchurch's Cybermanic, a two-piece (although currently in the throes of becoming a three-piece, with a new bassist furiously learning the bass lines) Industrial Rock/Metal band. Formed in 2019 by James Williams (vocals/guitar) and Hannes Danielsson (drums), Cybermanic spent most of 2022 preparing for and recording the album and they are about to start travelling the South Island to promote it.
Read More...
Bloody Hell - Album Review: Blood Metal
13 Oct 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
Bloody Hell (I mean, even the name is awesome. I love a really good band name, and 'Bloody Hell' is one of the best Metal band names I've ever heard) are from Christchurch, which as we all know, is a seething hotbed of musical talent.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter K Malthus

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • WATER
    Tyla
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • AGORA HILLS
    Doja Cat
  • PAINT THE TOWN RED
    Doja Cat
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • BLUE EYED M?ORI
    Corrella
  • STRANGERS
    Kenya Grace
  • CONFIDENCE
    Ocean Alley
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem