22 Jun 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Shaun Malloch - Single Review: Been Long

06 Jul 2023 // A review by Tom Langdale-Hunt

Two years after the release of his self-produced debut Take What You Can, Shaun Malloch returns with the cruisy, indie-pop track Been Long. Aptly named, the song presents itself as a laid-back salutation as Shaun re-enters the airwaves; ardour that says “hey, how have you been? I’ve just been chillin’. Wanna hear a new song?” rather than an explosive statement. This warm energy radiates through the track, and it entices all to respond with a similar welcome and an open mind.

Leaning into the alt-country undertones, the piece begins with a literal sliding guitar line that immediately serves to highlight just how unobtrusive this track actually is. In a simple, lo-fi assembly of drums, bass, a couple of guitars, and a mellotron-y synth, Shaun re-emerges and croons the line, “It seems such a long time since I saw your face”, as if to acknowledge any recent distance. I’m drawn into the simplicity of the lyrics and the clean, sparse production, co-helmed by Thomas Isbister.

There are little-to-no effects added, allowing the song to lay bare. The rhythm guitar keeps a percussive line throughout the track, strengthening a chilled-out momentum. Simple, yet engaging solo lines backed with oscillating feedback are about as ‘extravagant’ as it gets. I struggle to imagine a setting where this song would not be welcome to be played. It is soothing in its ease, and while one might be hard-pressed to find any repetition of parts within the song, it still exists in an aura of simplicity and is anything but demanding. Simply put, I could listen intently without disinterest, as well as have it play in the background virtually anywhere.

Lyrics like “You and I, we only get ten minutes of conversation a week” ruminate on just how finite our time is, and seems to reflect on the regret that one might feel when it isn’t spent earnestly; quite relatable for anyone concerned with how we spend our most valuable commodity. This may be unintentional and I may be completely missing the mark, but that’s my take, anyway, and the mellow nature of the song invites me to be reflective.

Been Long marks a satisfying return from the Otautahi musician. It’s a track that makes me hope that the next time we hear from him will not be so distant in the future, but these are manic times, especially for local artists, and the consolation of this single is that time is not so sparse, so make sure to enjoy the efforts when they can be divvied, even if it’s only ten minutes a week.

 

About Shaun Malloch

Otautahi lo-fi crooner, Shaun Malloch, creates music in the world of indie-pop, with alt-country undertones and an eclectic production style.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Shaun Malloch

Releases

There are no releases to display for Shaun Malloch.

Other Reviews By Tom Langdale-Hunt

Gig Review: Devilskin @ The Hunter Lounge, Wellington - 13/06/2024
16 Jun 2024 // by Tom Langdale-Hunt
It’s been a hot minute since my last encounter with the Hunter Lounge. Memories of O-Week, indie-pop and rap shows still linger.
Read More...
Georgia Lines - Album Review: The Rose of Jericho
06 Jun 2024 // by Tom Langdale-Hunt
It would appear that Georgia Lines has waited too long to not take the release of her hotly anticipated debut, a once in a lifetime event, by the horns. The self-titled route will not suffice, especially when the artist is turning her imperishable dedication and vulnerability into an audible mark on both Aotearoa and international music.
Read More...
Gig Review: Voom, Reb Fountain & Vera Ellen @ The Great Hall, Wellington - 1/06/2024
04 Jun 2024 // by Tom Langdale-Hunt
Audiences in Te Whanganui-A-Tara can rejoice to the sound of a new venue, one that is already so ingrained in the identity of our city and the culture within. It’s just so fitting that The Dominion Museum Building at Massey, a structure which has seen generations pass through its doors to take their place, would cradle three mammoth musical groups in its first ever ‘rock n roll show’.
Read More...
DARTZ - Album Review: Dangerous Day To Be A Cold One
14 Mar 2024 // by Tom Langdale-Hunt
From recent years and escapades, it’s fair to say that DARTZ have come a long way from writing about their disdain for scorched almonds and the habitability of a dingey Riddiford Street flat. The Band from Wellington, New Zealand have secured themselves as a shared-household name and champions for the plight of the everyday kiwi with songs like Steal from the Supermarket hammering home nationwide frustration over a duopoly ripping New Zealanders off for basic essentials in exchange for record profits, and perhaps, most memorably, the hilariously justified mockery of a certain South Auckland-based church head drilling his flock for tithings to fund his Tesla S Series in Pray for Prey.
Read More...
Gig Review: Troy Kingi & The Room Service @ San Fran, Wellington - 25/11/2023
29 Nov 2023 // by Tom Langdale-Hunt
With his seventh album unleashed upon the world, and my subsequent review following suit, it's sufficed to say that I have been thinking about Troy Kingi a lot over the past few weeks...even more so than usual.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: Time Wasters: Soundtrack to Current Day Meanderings
16 Nov 2023 // by Tom Langdale-Hunt
Another year, another Troy Kingi album. With no strings attached, we can anticipate the next annual instalment into his episodic run of the 10/10/10 Series – 10 albums in 10 years, in 10 different genres.
Read More...
EP Review: Jeremy Redmore & Levi Patel - Migrations
10 Oct 2023 // by Tom Langdale-Hunt
Jeremy Redmore is one of the most recognizable voices in NZ music of the last decade, in part thanks to his tenure as the singer and main writer of a little local band called Midnight Youth but has since evolved into an extremely distinctive and transposed independent solo artist. Partnering with Levi Patel, one of Aotearoa’s budding composers/producers, they have crafted the Migrations EP to be a short burst of remarkably gentle and captivating exploration that will stand apart to their other works, but still demonstrate their distinctive emotional intensity.
Read More...
Gig Review: Tami Neilson @ St. James Theatre, Wellington - 06/10/2023
09 Oct 2023 // by Tom Langdale-Hunt
It’s one thing to experience an increasingly rare high-attendance Rock n Roll Revue, but it’s another thing entirely to have been successfully transported into a time period decades before your existence. In a freshly renovated St James Theatre, Tami Neilson’s Rock n Roll Revue marks my first time back in the lush venue since my childhood – an experience that somewhat lines me with the rest of the crowd in association to these songs and performance style.
Read More...
View All Articles By Tom Langdale-Hunt

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem